38 votes

Is it possible to achieve 9th level spells in 3 different progressions?

OK, so we can do this by leveraging five prestige classes:1 Arcane hierophant—dual advance arcane and divine spellcasting, 10/10 levels (Races of the Wild) Blighter—9th-level divine spells in 9 ...
user avatar
  • 323k
34 votes
Accepted

How much does a large monstrous spider weigh?

There's a factor you missed out on: the square-cube law. As Wikipedia describes it: When an object undergoes a proportional increase in size, its new surface area is proportional to the square of ...
user avatar
31 votes
Accepted

Do you lose your prestige class features when you no longer meet its requirements?

No Unless the prestige class is from Book of Exalted Deeds, Complete Warrior, or Complete Arcane, which specify that those prestige classes do. The blurbs written in Complete Warrior and Complete ...
user avatar
  • 323k
30 votes
Accepted

Does anything prevent a paladin from taking levels in a prestige class?

Prestige Classes are just like any other Classes, except where specific rule says something else. From OGL content*: Prestige classes offer a new form of multiclassing. Unlike the basic classes, ...
user avatar
  • 20.6k
27 votes
Accepted

Is the Cancer Mage overpowered?

Cancer Mage is one of the most notoriously-overpowered classes in the game Only the illithid savant and beholder mage immediately come to mind as more powerful. The ability to ignore the negative ...
user avatar
  • 323k
22 votes
Accepted

Can I use the Living Rune feature from the UA Rune Scribe prestige class to take a feat?

That UA Scribe prestige class feature does not mention feats Granted, this is UA/playtest rather than a finished class or feature, but it's still best to approach the text under the basic assumption ...
user avatar
21 votes

Apostle of Peace committed murder willingly. Now what?

Vow of Non-Violence and Vow of Peace have both been violated and should both be removed. According to Dungeon Master’s Guide, prestige class requirements must be met only to take the 1st level of a ...
user avatar
  • 323k
20 votes

What are the ramifications of waiving the Evil requirement for the assassin class?

The Dungeon Master’s Guide sheds some light on why all assassins, as written, are Evil In the Dungeon Master’s Guide, the assassin prestige class isn’t just for someone who kills for hire, but rather ...
user avatar
  • 323k
19 votes
Accepted

Is Precocious Apprentice enough for Mystic Theurge?

This argument comes up from time to time, but it doesn’t really stand up to scrutiny. For example, a 4th-level sorcerer only knows one 2nd-level spell; do they therefore fail to qualify for mystic ...
user avatar
  • 323k
17 votes
Accepted

Optimising a Mammoth Rider

Mammoth Riding Okay, i've gone over this a bunch, and there is a way to do what you want. It's a bit counterintuitive, but it makes sense. This class seems designed for either a multiclass druid or ...
user avatar
  • 24k
16 votes
Accepted

When do skills count as class skills when you have multiple (prestige) classes?

Skill Point Cost: Only current class’s class skills From Skills Summary Each skill point you spend on a cross-class skill gets your character ½ rank in that skill. Cross-class skills are skills not ...
user avatar
  • 323k
16 votes

How to get early entry into mystic theurge?

You can enter the class as early as 2nd-level, but doing so is pointless as you have no second class to advance. (Arguably, this could advance one class at double-speed, but that’s a terrible idea ...
user avatar
  • 323k
16 votes

When I level up as a prestige class, do I gain the bonus of both my core class and my prestige class?

Any time you multiclass, you gain nothing but the features of your new class. Your previous classes don't increase. This is the same regardless of which new class you enter. Instead of gaining the ...
user avatar
16 votes
Accepted

Can the Living Rune feature increase your ability scores over 20?

No, it can't increase your ability scores over 20. The normal ability score limit of 20 is reiterated in a few different places in the 5e rules. First, in Chapter 1 of the PHB/basic rules, under the &...
user avatar
  • 48k
15 votes
Accepted

What happens if a Rainbow Servant takes levels in Mystic Theurge?

RAW: Ambiguous The rules are not clear on what, exactly, constitutes an “arcane spellcasting class” or a “divine spellcasting class,” probably because initially it was obvious. By default, assassins, ...
user avatar
  • 323k
15 votes
Accepted

Can you use Arrow Eruption to duplicate Arrow of Death?

No. Funnily enough, it comes down to this line. and the archer can only have one such arrow in existence at a time. This makes the arrow a limited-use magical effects that you used to enhance ...
user avatar
  • 24k
15 votes
Accepted

How are caster levels determined in concert with the feat Master Spellthief?

Caster Level Looping I'm going to open this answer by saying - there is no definitive rules text on how to treat, or in what order, stacking caster levels from classes or prestige classes. There is ...
user avatar
  • 24k
15 votes
Accepted

Is there a way to increase Base Attack Bonus?

By RAW, only leveling. Base Attack Bonus is a class feature, and it changes when you gain a level in some class. Though there are prestige classes that advance spellcasting AND base attack bonus ...
user avatar
  • 9,430
15 votes
Accepted

Is it possible to take a prestige class level 1?

No. You can't take the feats granted by your new level until you choose a class, and you need those to qualify for the class. More generally, the level you're taking can't satisfy the requirements for ...
user avatar
14 votes
Accepted

Does taking levels in a UA prestige class count against the level limit of 20?

Your question boils down to two ingredients: Do prestige classes work like normal multiclassing, and does D&D 5e still have a level limit of 20? Do prestige classes work like normal multiclassing?...
user avatar
13 votes
Accepted

Is there a prestige class called "Chosen Of Mystra"?

It is from the Forgotten Realms campaign setting. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mystra_%28Forgotten_Realms%29 http://forgottenrealms.wikia.com/wiki/Chosen_of_Mystra It is not a prestige class. It is ...
user avatar
  • 10.9k
13 votes

Once you take a Prestige Class, can you advance your base class later?

It's totally legit for a fighter 3/rogue 4/shadowblade 2 to take that next level as fighter, rogue, or shadowblade Generally, after taking one or more levels in any class—base or prestige—, a ...
user avatar
13 votes

Can I use the Living Rune feature from the UA Rune Scribe prestige class to take a feat?

No, you cannot take a feat instead p. 165 PHB describe the circumstances that allow you to take a feat instead of increasing your ability scores: At certain levels, your class gives you the Ability ...
user avatar
  • 4,254
13 votes
Accepted

Is it possible to prohibit all prohibitable schools of magic with a single character?

Wizard It turns out that topquark’s fine answer finds a couple more options: changeling wizards from Races of Eberron are another wizard variant with 3 prohibited schools (but probably isn’t strictly ...
user avatar
  • 323k
12 votes

Arcane Hierophant Variant: Archivist prestige class creation

This class is fairly powerful; it’s definitely an attempt to make a theurge actually keep up with the power of the (very powerful) expected entry classes. In particular, Perfect Inscription is quite ...
user avatar
  • 323k
12 votes

How does a ranger take shades as his favored enemy?

A 3.5e ranger can't, but a 3.0 ranger can. The trouble is that Races of Faerûn is a transitional product, having started development when the game was still D&D 3rd edition, and published the same ...
user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

To become a Hellknight, does a character have to slay the devil by themselves?

Yes, you do. But you can receive buffs! The test is not simply slay any devil whose HD is higher than your own, you participate in a ritual battle against a summoned devil. You can recieve no external ...
user avatar
  • 60.9k
12 votes
Accepted

Which version of the red wizard’s circle magic is correct, the text or the example?

The example is incorrect. In general, an example never has any rules weight in D&D 3.5, but sometimes might be a clue to the author's intent. Here, however, that's not the case; we can easily ...
user avatar
11 votes
Accepted

How viable is a Wizard with 10 levels in Rainbow Servant as a melee combatant?

You can cast polymorph, polymorph any object, shapechange, and divine power. You are not likely to have any trouble whatsoever in the melee department; you’re definitely going to do it better ...
user avatar
  • 323k
11 votes
Accepted

Arcane Archer "within range"

All ranged weapons have a maximum range; beyond this, targets are out of range, and within, they are in range. That is what the arcane archer is referring to. And yes, it is the same in 3.5 and ...
user avatar
  • 323k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible