New answers tagged

0

I believe it can be reasonably inferred that hellfire blast is an eldritch essence invocation. Eldritch essences change names from "eldritch blast" to "something blast" while shape invocations change blast names from "eldritch blast" to "eldritch something." Also, blast shape invocations do not, without any exception, change the damage dice or type -- that ...


0

It is not strictly unambiguous, but “this damage” most likely—almost certainly, really—refers to the bonus damage added by hellfire blast, and not to the total damage of the eldritch blast it modifies. Despite modifying eldritch blast in a manner very similar to eldritch essences, Fiendish Codex II fails to actually call it one. This is probably an oversight,...


2

No. Complete Arcane gives characters the opportunity to meet some spellcasting prerequisites with spell-like abilities, but This explicitly does not cover “ability to cast Xth-level spells” as found in unseen seer’s in requirements. The qualification on those spells requiring some to be divinations doesn’t change that. This also doesn’t cover supernatural ...


1

It is a discrepancy and was not corrected. Per the most recent errata (dated 2/16/2006) the probable typo has not been corrected. Per the general priority guidelines of the errata: When the text within a product contradicts itself, our general policy is that the primary source (actual rules text) is correct and any secondary reference (such as in a ...


4

No. Counterintuitive as it may seem, Archmage is not a spellcasting class. Instead, it advances another class’s spellcasting. So when practiced spellcaster says “pick a spellcasting class,” Archmage is not a valid choice. You can see this discussed often online when someone thinks of applying Archmage or similar prestige class’s spellcasting advancements ...


2

Archmage doesn't have spellcasting but rather extends the base class' spellcasting, as described in +1 level of existing arcane spellcasting class. Therefore you can't take Practiced Spellcaster for Archmage or any other class that doesn't have its own spellcasting progression.


3

As written, you get a skeletal war pony if you are Small, and a skeletal heavy warhorse otherwise (including if you are smaller than Small). The feature grants you access to a “skeletal steed,” and then defines it as precisely those two things and nothing else. This is, yes, pretty useless; the paladin special mount is a pretty good feature, and the skeletal ...


Top 50 recent answers are included