Questions tagged [proficiency]

For questions about a character's proficiencies. Broadly, proficiency refers to the ability to use a specific skill or piece of gear without taking penalties for not knowing what you're doing.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
14
votes
5answers
2k views

Is there any means to improve vehicle use other than the artificer's 6th-level Tool Expertise feature?

I'm going to be starting a new campaign in the new year, in which the party are crewmembers of an airship. I'm planning to have my character be the helmsman, and as such I have a tool proficiency in ...
5
votes
2answers
769 views

Can you get the benefits from tool proficiency to make ability checks, even if you don't have/own the tool?

I'm sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, but all the related questions I found asked the opposite scenario (using the tool you own without having proficiency), and the PHB is pretty poor in ...
-7
votes
2answers
283 views

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in?

Is the Artificer Armorer's Extra Attack feature limited to the Arcane Armor's simple weapons or any weapon the Armorer is proficient in? Extra Attack: Starting at 5th level, you can attack twice, ...
13
votes
2answers
2k views

Does the monk's Diamond Soul feature apply to death saving throws?

The description of the monk's class feature Diamond Soul says the following: Beginning at 14th level, your mastery of ki grants you proficiency in all saving throws. Additionally, whenever you make a ...
5
votes
2answers
1k views

What rules apply when Saving Throw proficiencies overlap?

I'm a playing in a custom setting. The DM says all races are allowed, including the Human (Keldon) variant, from the Plane Shift: Dominaria handbook. One of the traits of the race is this: Keldon ...
7
votes
2answers
517 views

What proficiencies do you need to craft Serpent Scale Armor?

What proficiencies do you need to craft Serpent Scale Armor? My DM said I need both Smith's Tools and Leatherworker's Tools because there's both metal and serpent scales needed to craft it. If it's ...
3
votes
1answer
166 views

Can the weapon master feat give proficiency with firearms?

The feat gives proficiency with 4 simple or martial weapons of your choice. From what I understand the renaissance firearm weapons in the DMG are classified as ranged martial weapons. So, could this ...
4
votes
1answer
206 views

When you are granted a tool proficiency, which type of tools can you choose?

At various places in the books it is mentioned that you gain proficiency in: a type of tool (eg. Skilled feat; p.170 PHB) and a type of artisan's tool (eg. Folk Hero background; p.131 PHB) Which ...
12
votes
1answer
1k views

Can a 6th level rogue select Investigation for their Expertise feature even if their Intelligence modifier is +0?

So I started playing d&d a while ago, but when I was building my first character ever I didn’t completely know what I was doing so I assigned my rolls to abilities I didn’t totally need to have ...
4
votes
1answer
121 views

Does multi-classing provides weapon proficiency of the guest class?

As a Wizard, multi-classing into Fighter (through Multi-class Feat), would the Fighter multi-class provide the weapon proficiencies that the Fighter otherwise gains from its class? I found no evidence ...
5
votes
1answer
129 views

Are you able to apply your tool proficiency bonus when there is an overlap with a skill but you are not proficient in that skill?

So for DnD 5e, XGtE expanded/clarified the use of Tool Proficiencies and very specifically talks about when skill and tool proficiencies overlap and what to do in those situations (advantage or added ...
0
votes
3answers
913 views

Effects of wearing armor without proficiency

The PHB (p. 144) says: If you wear armor that you lack proficiency with, you have disadvantage on any ability check, saving throw, or attack roll that involves Strength or Dexterity, and you can’t ...
12
votes
1answer
740 views

How does armor and weapon proficiencies work with sidekicks?

A noble wears a breastplate and wields a rapier, but the "Bonus Proficiencies" section of the spellcaster sidekick class reads in part: The sidekick gains proficiency with light armor, and ...
8
votes
3answers
262 views

Is a Blade Pact Warlock proficient when wielding their pact weapon in an improvised fashion?

The Pact of the Blade Warlock is proficient with their pact weapon while they wield it. Suppose that a Blade Pact warlock is wielding a longsword as their pact weapon (either because they created a ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Does the "Changing a Skill" optional rule from Tasha's allow me to change a skill proficiency from the background for one offered by the class?

Does the "Changing a Skill" optional rule from Tasha's Cauldron of Everything (p. 8) allow me to replace a skill proficiency from my background with a skill proficiency offered by my class? ...
3
votes
2answers
241 views

Is there any precedent for doubling the proficiency bonus only if the character has a given skill proficiency?

A number of character classes features that allow them to double their proficiency bonus when using selected skill proficiencies. An example is the Bard's: [C]hoose two of your skill proficiencies. ...
5
votes
2answers
914 views

Is there any way to get proficiency (or expertise/doubled proficiency) in Constitution checks?

I was looking for any official way - class feature, magic item, anything - for a character to add their proficiency to any form of Constitution check, but I couldn't find anything. Is it possible to ...
4
votes
3answers
1k views

Can I stabilize a character if I don't have proficiency in the Medicine skill or any healing equipment or abilities?

Can I stabilize someone by simply rolling a DC 10 Wisdom check if I don't have the Medicine Skill or any other healing-related equipment or abilities?
25
votes
3answers
5k views

Why do we assume that PHB rules apply to monsters?

The party is deep into my 5e-updated classic Greyhawk Giants series. They are returning the body of a stone giant killed in the siege of Headwater to the stone giant's clan. The Thane of the Stone ...
4
votes
2answers
894 views

If I'm proficient with a bastard sword, does that qualify as being proficient with a martial weapon?

My character is a Kensai, which means he is only proficient with simple weapons, and one martial or exotic weapon of his choice. He has chosen proficiency with the bastard sword. A bastard sword is ...
5
votes
3answers
330 views

Does unarmed proficiency get downgraded in Pathfinder 2e polymorph spells (animal form etc.)?

Every polymorph spell that grants you special attacks in your battle form notes that you are trained with these attacks. They are also always unarmed attacks. Does your proficiency bonus for these ...
4
votes
5answers
1k views

Can you choose not to add your proficiency bonus to an attack roll?

I'm building a very gimmicky multiclass crit-confirmation paladin, and as a part of my build I have a feature that lets me reroll a failed attack roll as a reaction. The idea is that I want to fail at ...
4
votes
1answer
388 views

Does proficiency work on natural armor?

If I have a PC that has natural armor giving 13+Dex if he wears no armor, will proficiency have any effect on that (or does no proficiency exist for natural armor)?.
13
votes
2answers
1k views

What is the comparative value of armor proficiencies?

Is medium or heavy armor proficiency as racial feature more powerful (in general) than light armor, or is it just favoring different kinds of builds? The intent is that I want to playtest some racial ...
4
votes
1answer
368 views

Does Natural Explorer's double proficiency apply to perception checks while keeping watch?

The Natural Explorer class feature is sort of vague about what skill checks count When you make an Intelligence or Wisdom check related to your favored terrain, your proficiency bonus is doubled if ...
14
votes
3answers
2k views

Overlapping Proficiencies From Leveling?

In my game I'm a Rogue with the Entertainer background. Leveled up enough to pick a subclass and decided on Mastermind for the teamwork possibilities. The subclass gives Disguise Kit proficiency, ...
6
votes
1answer
561 views

Utility of Proficiency Bonus in Statblock for Summoned Creatures without Proficiencies?

Looking into Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, I was reviewing the stat block of the Fey summoned by the Summon Fey spell. Amongst the statistics provided is the Proficiency Bonus of the spirit, defined ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Is there a limit on the number of Proficiency Swaps as part of Customizing Your Origin in Tasha's?

Tasha's has a section on replacing proficiencies granted by race in the section on customizing your origin and provides the example of swapping elven proficiency with a longbow for a tool proficiency. ...
6
votes
1answer
181 views

Why does the rogue's Greater Weapon Specialization specify legendary proficiency?

The rogue's level 15 class feature specifies: Your damage from weapon specialization increases to 4 with weapons and unarmed attacks in which you’re an expert, 6 if you’re a master, and 8 if you’re ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Improvised weapons and proficiency

I would like to know if I utilize “use an object” on an acid vial or alchemist’s fire and they are treated as improvised weapons with the respective range attack up to 20 feet, can I add my ...
7
votes
1answer
335 views

Does an Orc fighter have any use for Orc Weapon Expertise?

Gragnar the Mightily Tusked is a fighter. At first level, he took Orc Weapon Familiarity. This makes advanced orc weapons martial orc weapons for Gragnar. I assume this means that, as his proficiency ...
7
votes
2answers
1k views

What happens when you wear armor you're not proficient in?

What penalties or restrictions does a creature have when they don armor they're non proficient in? For example, picture a newly adventurous (level 1) Dwarf Barbarian (18 Strength, 10 Dexterity) who ...
2
votes
0answers
42 views

How does multiclassing affect the damage scaling of Hexblade's curse? [duplicate]

So,I am playing a multiclass character with level 14 in fighter and level 1 in Warlock. Now Hexblade's curse damage depends on player's proficiency bonus.My level 15 character's proficiency bonus is +...
6
votes
2answers
2k views

What skill proficiencies can a Variant Human choose from at character creation?

When creating a variant human you get an extra skill to be proficient in. Does that skill have to be from your class skill list, or can it be any skill available to any class? For instance, if I'm ...
6
votes
2answers
661 views

Should a dragonborn Draconic Bloodline sorceror have only 4 starting skill proficiencies?

One of my party rolled up a dragonborn (race) Draconic Bloodline sorcerer in a session and after going through the race, class, and background (outlander), she ended up with just 4 skill proficiencies:...
2
votes
1answer
83 views

Are Shadow Assassins proficient with Sawtooth Sabre?

Are Shadow Assassins proficient with Sawtooth Sabre? In RAW, how proficient is the shadow assassin with the sawtooth sabre? Weapon and Armor Proficiency A shadow assassin is proficient in all simple ...
6
votes
1answer
2k views

What are the dots in the skills section of the standard character sheet for? [closed]

I'm filling out a pdf character sheet for my character who is a high elf wizard and I'm not sure how the skill box works. I've got all my saving throws done but I'm really just confused with the dots ...
-5
votes
3answers
562 views

Does the Great Weapon Master feat grant wizards proficiency with heavy weapons?

Does the feat Great Weapon Master (PHB, p. 167) grant wizards proficiency with heavy weapons? The feat says: Before you make a melee attack with a heavy weapon that you are proficient with, [...] ...
10
votes
1answer
660 views

Double proficiency from blessing of knowledge

A player in my new game chose the Knowledge domain, gaining the feature Blessing of Knowledge: At 1st level, you learn two languages of your choice. You also become proficient in your choice of two ...
18
votes
1answer
2k views

If a feature gives proficiency in a skill you are proficient with, can you always choose any skill to replace that proficiency?

Page 125 of the PHB in the rules for backgrounds we have this statement: If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of ...
5
votes
2answers
873 views

Where has my History proficiency come from?

I'm new to DnD. I was typing up my character sheet (I've decided to do this every now and then as my annotations become more messy), and in the process I didn't spot any reason for me to have the ...
1
vote
1answer
136 views

What are the missing proficiencies per level for the Oriental Adventures monk and yakuza?

Oriental Adventures on the class monk says [T]he monk starts with proficiency in one style of unarmed combat and two of that style's special maneuvers. The monk also has five other proficiency ...
0
votes
1answer
313 views

If I use a quarterstaff as my Arcane Focus, can I add my Proficiency Bonus, the way a Bard does when using an instrument as their arcane focus?

A Bard can add their Proficiency Bonus to checks they make with a Musical Instrument they're proficient with. It says on p.154 under Musical Instruments in the Player's Handbook: If you have ...
5
votes
1answer
2k views

Can I use a spiked shield in my primary hand as a weapon? If so, does it count as a simple or martial weapon?

Can any humanoid PC use a Spiked Shield in their 'primary hand' as a Weapon? and Is it a Simple or Martial Weapon? The Lizardfolk entry in the MM (p. 204) has a statblock that includes the ...
5
votes
2answers
125 views

Does hurling a thrown weapon change the weapon's category for determining proficiency?

On Weapon Categories says, "A melee weapon with the heavy thrown or the light thrown property counts as a ranged weapon when thrown" (Player's Handbook 215). (Similar text is absent from the Rules ...
14
votes
1answer
1k views

Do you add your proficiency bonus when attacking with the Sun Blade if you're proficient with shortswords only?

The Sun Blade mentions proficiency twice in its description on D&D Beyond. The first one is about being proficient with shortswords or longswords: If you are proficient with shortswords or ...
9
votes
1answer
527 views

If a Pact of the Blade warlock transforms an existing magic weapon into their pact weapon, are they proficient with it?

The Pact of the Blade feature of the Warlock reads (emphasis mine): You can use your action to create a pact weapon in your empty hand. [...] You are proficient with it while you wield it. [...] ...
6
votes
3answers
2k views

Do characters ever gain new skills/proficiencies?

Do player characters ever freely learn new skills/proficiencies? From what I can see, most classes get two or four proficiency skills to start, and backgrounds provide two more. Some class ...
7
votes
3answers
3k views

Understanding the Proficiency bump on Level Up for untrained skills

I'm experienced with DnD3.0, DnD3.5, and PF1e, but I am just starting to delve into Pathfinder 2e and I have a question on Proficiency for Skills. It says when you Level Up your character, you "...
11
votes
1answer
1k views

What does the "combination" part of the Skilled feat mean?

The Skilled feat says (Player's Handbook, p. 170; emphasis mine): You gain proficiency in any combination of three skills or tools of your choice. Does it mean I have to choose either three skills ...

1
2 3 4 5