We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.
43

Multiclass Barbarian Any character who is not proficient in medium armor (and has 13 Strength or more) can multiclass (if using that optional rule) into Barbarian to gain proficiency in martial weapons without gaining proficiency in any new armors. Multiclassing Proficiencies \begin{array}{|l|lr|} \hline \text{Class} & \text{Proficiencies Gained}...


38

The omission of passive perception is a mistake - nothing else is wrong here. The Wizard gets proficiency in Perception from being an elf. All elves get the following: Keen Senses. You have proficiency in the Perception skill. SRD p. 4 All characters should have a Passive Perception, whether it's good or bad, so the fact that it's ...


35

I don't think there is a formula that will give us that +0. The bat is a very weak creature, with a CR 0. Most likely, the D&D designers just didn't want him to have a negative attack modifier, so they set it at 0, despite having -4 STR and +2 DEX. If the attack was strength-based, the bat would need a +4 Proficiency (a bit high for a CR0 creature). ...


32

This is not how the rule is intended Instead of adding a proficiency bonus to an ability check, an attack roll, or saving throw, the character's player rolls a die. Going by the text in the DMG, quoted above, proficiency dice are used only when making a roll. It does not completely replace a character's proficiency bonus. Using dice to replace ...


31

Your interpretation is correct You already quote all the necessary rules. Using Thieves' Tools usually involves an ability check Proficiency in Thieves' Tools lets you add your proficiency bonus to the check Reliable Talent works on any check where you add proficiency Therefore, Reliable Talent will work on a check that uses Thieves' Tools if you are ...


29

No, Resilient grants proficiency in Saving Throws only The PHB (pp 168) says the Resilient feat gives you (my emphasis): ...proficiency in saving throws using the chosen ability. Skills and ability checks are separate mechanics that require proficiency of their own from a source (background, race, class etc.) Related Skills could be improved, but you'...


28

Aboleths do have [something which is mechanically equivalent to] Expertise in those skills The Monster Manual uses the word 'expertise' when describing how certain creatures might have higher-than-expected bonuses to certain skills: The Skills entry is reserved for monsters that are proficient in one or more skills. For example, a monster that is very ...


27

What you've missed is that if you take a Fighter level first, it gives you heavy armour. Likewise, one of the main reasons people recommend Fighter dips is that if you take it at first level, you get the enormously useful Constitution saving throw proficiency. So when a guide recommends a Fighter dip, it's generally recommending starting with a level of ...


26

The Good If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (PHB 125). That would imply that you could pick the proficiency as artificer, swap out the racial copy to something else, and thus get Tinker's Tools as a 'class proficiency'. The Bad ...


25

I can't provide evidence to confirm a negative, but in my experience (thousands of hours of DMing and playing), such a scenario does not exist. If a character is casting a spell personally rather than via an item, they will use their proficiency bonus. Some items - scrolls and wands are the most common - have a fixed DC; the character activating the item has ...


24

There is no way for a wizard to get Heavy Armor proficiency without multiclassing (or burning many ASIs on feats) As far as I am aware, there is no way for a PC who does not already have at least Medium Armor Proficiency (which is the prerequisite for the Heavily Armored feat) to gain access to Heavy Armor proficiency without multiclassing (unless you ...


22

He can use the Weapon Master Feat The greataxe is a martial weapon as listed on page 149 of the Player's Handbook. It also has the heavy and two-handed properties, but these are irrelevant for obtaining proficiency. Alternately, if your DM allows multiclassing (PHB p. 163), taking one level of Barbarian, Cleric1, Fighter, Paladin, or Ranger you get ...


22

The key to this answer is in the rule about treating improvised weapons as normal weapons: At the GM’s option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a similar object as if it were that weapon and use his or her proficiency bonus. If a character proficient with a weapon can do something and you aren't proficient with a weapon, you can't do that ...


20

"Type" is a "kind", not a "group" From the Tools section of the Equipment chapter of the PHB (p.154): Several of the most common types of musical instruments are shown on the table as examples. Table: Bagpipes Drum Dulcimer Flute Lyre [..] Each type of musical instrument requires a separate proficiency. From this it is clear that the PHB ...


18

You could take the UA Wonder Maker feat Since you are already using Unearthed Arcana content, you could try taking the Wonder Maker rock gnome racial feat from Unearthed Arcana: Feats for Races. Among other benefits, this feat includes: When you make a check using your proficiency with tinker’s tools, you add double your proficiency bonus to the check. ...


18

It applies to all dragons Since the feature doesn't specify that it is limited to the dragon you choose, it applies to all dragons. The only aspect of the feature that is influenced by the dragon you choose is the damage type that is later associated with different features: ... you choose one type of dragon as your ancestor. The damage type associated ...


17

Yes: those proficiency choices are supported by RAW From the Basic Rules, and the same section in the PHB: Proficiencies If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (Basic Rules, p. 38) Thus you can pick the other background ...


16

Only if you are ruled as using an improvised version of a proficient weapon The relevant piece of information, PHB p. 147: Improvised Weapons In many cases, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a club. At the DM’s option, a character proficient with a weapon can use a ...


16

The Drow race does not confer any skill proficiency I looked up my PHB on page 24, and the only proficiencies gained by Drow are rapiers, shortswords, and hand crossbows, in addition to Perception given by being an Elf (of any kind). Most races do not confer skill proficiencies, and no option of selecting among them Some races give proficiency in certain ...


16

D&D doesn't have "Formal Ontology". This is a book about how to play make-believe, not a geometry textbook. None of the terminology has rigorous definitions. If "expertise" has a "Formal Ontology" then it should be defined somewhere, and it's not. The mechanic commonly referred to as "expertise" was introduced like this: Occasionally, your ...


15

Lightfoot Halflings do not get any skill bonuses They have the Lucky trait: When you roll a 1 on the d20 for an attack roll, ability check, or saving throw, you can reroll the die and must use the new roll. They have Brave: You have advantage on saving throws against being frightened. They have Halfling Nimbleness: You can move through the space ...


14

You don't recalculate anything You simply read the numbers for the bonuses off the beast and PC "character" sheets for skills you and the beast are proficient in and take the higher number. The relevant rule for your question is: Your game statistics are replaced by the statistics of the beast, but you retain your alignment, personality, and ...


14

You are not missing something. Multiclassing into fighter only gives light and medium armor proficiency (as well as shields and simple and martial weapons). You would have to also take the Heavily Armored feat to get heavy armor proficiency. Somewhat oddly, while multiclassing into cleric only gives light and medium armor plus shields, it also gives you ...


14

Yes, they would still benefit from Expertise in Wild Shape As stated in the part of the description of the druid's Wild Shape feature you quote: You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining those of the creature. If the creature has the same proficiency as you and the bonus in its stat block is higher than ...


13

Your proficiency bonus can only be added or multiplied once by any ability or combination of abilities From the Basic Rules / PHB p. 173: Your proficiency bonus can’t be added to a single die roll or other number more than once. For example, if two different rules say you can add your proficiency bonus to a Wisdom saving throw, you nevertheless add the ...


13

It does not. Jeremy Crawford has addressed this a few times in different places, and the general idea he's always pushed is that 5e doesn't have very many specific game terms. Words generally just mean what the word normally means unless it's one of those few game terms, and specific game terms are defined in places like the Combat chapter of the PHB or the ...


13

The requirements are separate The table lists requirements separately for each kind of horn and nothing in the wording indicates a cumulative requirement. If you need further confirmation, note that the wording used for requirements is always singular (emphasis mine): The horn's type determines how many berserkers answer its summons, as well as the ...


13

Multiclassing and Feats for Heavy Armor Unfortunately, because you're already at level 5 you can't respec your character. An option at an earlier point may have been to choose a Dwarf for light/medium armor proficiency. But that ship has sailed. That leaves the options of dipping into another class with Heavy Armor proficiency, but it's unclear what ...


13

No skill proficiencies gained from multiclass into Artificer The 2019 UA Artificer includes, at the very end, a sidebar on how multiclassing into artificer works if you're using the optional multiclassing rules: Optional Rule: Multiclassing If your group uses the optional rule on multiclassing in the Player’s Handbook (p. 163), here’s what you need ...


13

It's limited by the need to actually eat the food. Because Xanathar's was written entirely inside a Magic Circle Against Editing, the writers didn't think to say "You and up to five other creatures can eat the meal to regain 1 extra Hit Point, etc." But that's clearly what's happening. What you're describing is each member of the party eating three ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible