Hot answers tagged

110

Yes, Snakes can be prone Conditions Prone is a condition (PHB, 290). And the only way to avoid that condition is to have some form of immunity or something else mechanically that prevents a creature from getting the condition. For creatures, the statblock lists Condition immunities (if there are any). Spells, items, etc. will also state if there are any ...


56

There are no specific rules for what happens if knocked prone while swimming, therefore, from a purely mechanical standpoint, we must assume that the general rule applies. From PHB 292... A prone creature's only movement option is to crawl, unless it stands up and thereby ends the condition. (Note: Crawling costs 2 feet of movement per foot moved. ...


44

If you succeed on a Death Saving Throws 3 times, you don't recover any hitpoints. Instead, you become stable: A stable creature doesn’t make death saving throws, even though it has 0 hit points, but it does remain unconscious. The creature stops being stable, and must start making death saving throws again, if it takes any damage. A stable ...


37

A Prone Creature can Dodge Nothing in the rules specifies that a creature cannot take the Dodge action while under the effects of the Prone condition. The Prone condition (PHB, p. 292) states: A prone creature's only movement is to crawl, unless it stands up and thereby ends the condition. The creature has disadvantage on attack rolls. An attack roll ...


36

The rules that you've quoted are pretty clear. You gain advantage when attacking unconscious creatures, and you gain disadvantage when attacking prone creatures from further than 5 feet away. If you have both advantage and disadvantage — you're attacking an unconscious creature from further than 5 feet away — you get neither, instead.


35

Your intuition is correct. The Dash action simply increases your movement, but doesn't actually increase your Speed. If your speed were 30 ft. and you decided to Dash, you'd still only spend 15 ft. (of the gross 60 ft. of movement) to stand up from Prone. If you had an item, effect, or class feature that increased your Speed (e.g. the Boots of Speed, which ...


34

Yes you can PHB Chapter 9: Combat, page 193, emphasis mine: Your character can do things not covered by the actions in this chapter, such as breaking down doors, intimidating enemies, sensing weaknesses in magical defenses, or calling for a parley with a foe. The only limits to the actions you can attempt are your imagination and your character's ...


33

Prone isn't as strong as it was in 4e, but it can still be a solid tactical choice. You just have to weigh if it's something your party can take advantage of. The biggest and best advantages of proning are as follows: reduction in movement speed (halved) Advantage on close (5' range) attacks (includes ranged, so it negates the disadv imposed there) Impose ...


33

There are two different things happening here: your movement speed being halved, and spending half your movement speed. These work differently, and the order matters. The end result is that the grappler can't move-drag after standing up from prone. Here's how it works: You start with your full movement speed. Let's use 60′ for the sake of example. Standing ...


33

Arguably, the rogue may stand up The character is not literally "granted a resource" that is called movement but that is in fact the way the rules of movement talk about how it is used: However you're moving, you deduct the distance of each part of your move from your speed until it is used up or until you are done moving. In practice, movement ...


33

No You do not land prone when you reduce the damage to zero. You've basically answered your own question with this PHB quote (page 183, "Falling"): The creature lands prone, unless it avoids taking damage from the fall. You did not take falling damage, so you do not land prone.


30

Yes, it's halved Mobile: [...] Your speed increases by 10 feet. And Prone: [..] Standing up [from prone] takes more effort; doing so costs an amount of movement equal to half your speed. For example, if your speed is 30 feet, you must spend 15 feet of movement to stand up. So mobile increases your speed, and prone costs you half your speed. If you have ...


30

No, a surprised character can't drop prone As you posted, Surprise says: If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action... This "can't move" terminology is actually used a lot in the rules. A few other examples: Petrified: The creature is incapacitated (see the condition), can't move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings. Stunned: ...


28

A creature with a speed of zero cannot stand up. The rules for being prone say: You can't stand up if you don't have enough movement left or if your speed is 0. To move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation. A creature with a speed of zero cannot stand up. What if the monster can teleport? This question establishes that teleporting ...


27

The same thing as any other prone creature Official ruling Jeremy Crawford has confirmed the answer that follows as a correct interpretation: If you're knocked prone underwater, you're subjected to the effects of the prone condition as normal. One way to visualize it is that you're floundering. There are no conditions/rules/restriction in the game about ...


27

Crawling Prone Yes, you can absolutely Dash while prone. If you don't want to spend half your speed to stand up, you can still crawl (from PHB, 191) To move while prone, you must crawl or use magic such as teleportation. Every foot of movement while crawling costs 1 extra foot. To stand up, you use half your speed (PHB, 190) Standing up takes more effort; ...


27

As mentioned in other answers, the Monster Manual generally states when a creature is immune to a certain condition, such as prone. Therefore, since this is not the case for the snake, it isn't considered to be immune to the prone condition. Also, to address the first part of your question - no, a snake is not considered prone all the time, otherwise this ...


25

Yes, you can attack while prone. As it describes in the PHB's definition of the prone condition on page 292: The creature has disadvantage on attack rolls. So you may attack while prone, but with disadvantage.


24

RAW: The flier can escape the surface. Depending on our flier's normal and flying speeds and the condition of the water (normal or difficult terrain), she'll be able to escape just fine, it's only a question of how long it takes to get out of being prone. If she's lucky, she'll fall, land, and not be prone because she took no damage from the fall, whether by ...


23

No, standing from prone doesn't trigger booming blade's damage. I don't see any specific rules definitions for "movement." Based on definitions in other editions, my opinion is that a character "moves" when they walk or use some other "special type of movement" such as jumping, flight, swimming, etc: when they move from their ...


23

If I were to cast levitate on a prone orc and float him 20 feet into the air - would he still be prone? - Yes Jeremy Crawford has clarified: You can almost always be knocked prone. About the only time it's physically impossible for you to be knocked prone is when you're affixed to something that keeps you upright. and further: Being underwater doesn't ...


22

No According to the implications of the Jeremy Crawford ruling below, standing up from prone does not trigger booming blade. This is because the trigger requires the target creature to move, but even though standing up costs the target movement it does not actually move the target anywhere. Question: For Booming Blade, did you intend for standing up from ...


22

Incapacitated will prevent opportunity attacks Your player is correct. The opportunity attack requires a Reaction. And Tasha's Hideous Laughter's description states (PHB, p. 280, bold added): The target must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or fall prone, becoming incapacitated and unable to stand up for the duration. And the "incapacitated" status ...


22

Neither the description of shoving enemies nor of the prone condition have any mention that a prone enemy can't be shoved. So going by the letter of the rules, it is indeed possible to shove a prone creature. (Though given circumstances of what is supposed to happen in the action of the adventure, GMs are entirely in their right to overrule such an outcome ...


22

Speed is a game noun The basic rules define speed as: Every character and monster has a speed, which is the distance in feet that the character or monster can walk in 1 round. On your character sheet this is probably listed as "speed: 30ft" or something similar. Anywhere the game says "speed", it is talking about this speed. You use it for standing up, ...


22

It's up to the DM. Both booming blade and this issue are going to come down to a DM call as it is not made explicit or clear in the rules. To me, "a stunned creature ... can't move" seems pretty clear. The difference between this use of "move" and its use in booming blade1 seems clear to me, but it is admittedly not explicit, and may be ...


21

Yes, if the creature is trained in Acrobatics. It's because of this Acrobatics ability: REDUCE FALLING DAMAGE (Trained only) If a creature that has training in Acrobatics falls, it can make an Acrobatics check to reduce the amount of falling damage it takes. The creature can make this check whether or not the fall is intentional. Action: Free action. The ...


21

From the Player's Basic Rules (v0.2), page 71: If a flying creature is knocked prone, has its speed reduced to 0, or is otherwise deprived of the ability to move, the creature falls, unless it has the ability to hover or it is being held aloft by magic, such as the fly spell. So a flying creature that is knocked prone will fall, unless it has the ability ...


21

Yes Disclaimer: All instances of real/reality used in this answer are with respect to the target thinking they're being affected. Phantasmal Force does not have the capability of actually creating something tangible, only to appear to be tangible to the afflicted target. I've emphasized the important bit in the spell. While a target is affected by the ...


21

Once a creature stands up they no longer suffer any effects from being knocked prone Your reading is correct. A creature can get up from prone on their turn by spending half their movement, and once they're standing up again they don't suffer any further consequences from having been knocked prone. As you've observed, with an unhelpful initiative order, an ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible