15

No. You have to have both the feat and the cantrip to get the extended range. The Telekininesis feat says, emphasis added: You learn the mage hand cantrip. You can cast it without verbal or somatic components, and you can make the spectral hand invisible. If you already know this spell, its range increases by 30 feet when you cast it. The plain English ...


15

D&D is not based on the real world. There aren't viruses or bacteria, just diseases, curses, and poisons. Atoms may not even exist. It's much more "four elements of creation" and less "here's the periodic table." For example, polymorph any object doesn't concern itself with molecular weights, etc. It just turns something into ...


8

A typical soulknife could form a mind blade that looks like a whip, but that mind blade wouldn't function like a whip… By default the weapon that a soulknife forms is generic, possessing only the statistics and qualities the supernatural ability form mind blade and other soulknife class features describe the mind blade as possessing. So a soulknife that uses ...


6

Psychic Blades is magic, so it is suppressed completely. The Sage Advice Compendium tells us how to determine if something is magical: Determining whether a game feature is magical is straightforward. Ask yourself these questions about the feature: Is it a magic item? Is it a spell? Or does it let you create the effects of a spell that’s mentioned in its ...


5

No, but also yes Mind Blade Finesse states: Mind Blade Finesse: The benefits of the Weapon Finesse feat apply to the mind blade even when it is in forms that cannot normally be the subject of Weapon Finesse (including two-handed forms). Compare this to Flurry of Fists: Flurry of Fists: When making unarmed attacks and making a full attack, the soulknife ...


4

The normal rules for water combat would apply, however you can have the weapon deal piercing damage which will allow you to do normal damage if you have a swim speed, firm footing or freedom of movement as per the water combat rules. When shaping her weapon and assigning abilities to it, the soulknife chooses whether it will deal bludgeoning, piercing, or ...


3

Assume likeness says “while incorporeal […]” and ghostly trap says you aren’t incorporeal anymore. You lose any and all benefits of assume likeness, just as you would if your use of shed body had run out (prior to gaining the uncarnate ability at 10th). You just aren’t using assume likeness anymore. Ghostly Grasp has zero real interaction with assume ...


3

I freelanced for Dreamscarred Press for a while—I am absolutely certain that no one on that team intended to change how psi-like abilities are augmented relative to 3.5e. In fact, I could swear it’s in there somewhere, though a quick search doesn’t find it so perhaps I am mistaken there. Fact remains that this definitely was not an intentional omission; just ...


3

You probably want to be an Uttercold Assault Necromancer. From K's Revised Necromancer Handbook - The ultimate goal is to cast spells with the Cold Subtype that do half negative energy damage, while you and all your undead minions are immune to cold and healed by negative energy damage. Basically, this is done with Energy Substitution[cold] (a prereq for ...


3

A few more options, mostly similar to the ones in the question: Smoking weapon enhancement (Lords of Darkness, p. 180): +1 cost equivalent. Makes a tiny Stinking Cloud effect in your space. Nauseated is a very good condition to apply (prevents taking most actions, including escaping a grapple), and you're already investing in save debuffs. Usefulness ...


3

You can take Improved Critical Mind Blade (or rapier) From Form Mind Blade, She can also choose her mind blade for feats requiring a specific weapon choice, such as Weapon Focus and Improved Critical. And Emulate Melee Weapon, The soulknife is proficient with her mind blade in this form and it functions in all ways as the chosen weapon. The emulated ...


2

Kensai and soulbow are both rather weak classes. The interaction is, officially, rather dubious (kensai has you choose a specific, individual weapon, not a kind of weapon, and each mind arrow is described as separate, freshly-manifested weapon, separate from any prior), but that isn’t a good enough reason, in my opinion, to rule against this player. Their PC ...


2

There might be outlier cases, but for the most part, the powers used by a vessel should affect the psionicist. Empowered objects are explained to be intelligent weapons. From the Empower description: "The weapon has its own personality, however, and like all intelligent weapons, it will try to assert its independence at every opportunity." As such, ...


2

Psychic strike adds +Xd8 to your damage. Powerful strikes adds +1 to X. Dual imbue adds +(X−1)d8 damage to each of your mind blades. So in combination you get to add +[(X+1)−1]d8, or, equivalently, +[(X−1)+1]d8, to each of your mind blades. Both orders result in +Xd8 being added to your mind blades. In effect, dual imbue and powerful strikes cancel one ...


2

Not really Aegis Climb does not reference Spider Climb and therefore does not 'function like' it. But mostly yes Spider Climb does very little that a Climb Speed does not. +8 to Climb checks (both) Can Take 10 on Climb checks (both) Retain Dex to AC while Climbing (both) Cannot use the Run Action (both) Requires the use of both hands (both) Can Climb across ...


2

Mind Blade Enhancements are the equivalent of bonuses to a magic weapon, and they are part of your mind blade. When you Reshape your mind blade, you can reassign them, but they're always applicable whenever you have mind blade in hand. Blade Skills are your equivalent of talents/exploits/discoveries/etc. They are part of you, and indicate particular skill ...


2

A soulknife normally takes a move action to form one or two mind blades, and a mind blade can be thrown. However, "[w]hether or not the attack hits, a thrown mind blade then dissipates." At level 5 the soulknife gets Quick Draw that says that she "may manifest her mind blade as a free action, though she may still only attempt to do so once per ...


1

The simplest way to do this is psionic contingency, a 6th level psion/wilder power. Renewing steelsteal once per day is trivially easy: you manifest psionic contingency and steelsteal with a condition like, "manifest steelsteal when my only steelsteal is about to expire." Renewing it twice per day is somewhat trickier. Psionic contingency features ...


1

Manyshot doesn’t “split” your arrow; it shoots multiple arrows in a single standard action: As a standard action, you may fire two arrows at a single opponent within 30 feet. (Manyshot feat description) For example, if you only have one arrow in your quiver (that is, using a regular bow and arrow, not psionically-created ones), you can’t use Manyshot. ...


1

The Rules I'm going to assume the character in question is a Soulbow, because a Soulknife can't use Manyshot with a mind blade. This effect deals an extra 1d8 points of damage to the next living, nonmindless target he successfully hits with a melee attack (or ranged attack, if he is using the throw mind blade ability). It's also worth pointing out that the ...


1

Figure out your power points from each class, and then add them together.¹ For the “high ability score” table, you use your manifester level for each class—not your total character level. So since a 6th-level aegis has 9 + 3×Int power points,¹ and a 1st-level vitalist has 2 + ½×Wis power points,¹ a 6th-level aegis/1st-level vitalist has 9 + 3×Int + 2 + ½×Wis ...


1

I'm going to answer this out of order: Can you use an empowered object that was given powers as a receptacle? The book says "Any vessel can serve as a receptacle for psionic energy if it is empowered first. The psionicist must perform the initial preparation and final sealing described earlier under "empower." He does not do anything further;...


1

Merely holding a reservoir of psionic power points in mind gives psionic characters a special energy. Psionic characters can put that energy to work without actually paying a power point cost — they can become psionically focused as a special use of the Concentration skill. While the quoted line doesn't directly answer your question, to me, it is enough to ...


1

Schism power- Each part functions in complete autonomy, like two characters in one body. Your new “second mind” does not control your body physically but is free to take one standard action in each round. This being said, why would physical effects effect Schism at all? If I am nauseated, my second mind should be fine.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible