We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.
77

They probably don't stretch The name of the feature: "long-limbed" seems to merely be referring to the length of the arms themselves. If stretchiness was an aspect of bugbear physiology, that is something that would probably be mentioned in the description of bugbears either in the Monster Manual or Volo's Guide to Monsters. Why only on the bugbear's turn ...


54

You will not receive any benefits of a long rest This includes Hit Die refresh, Hit Point recovery, spell slots, abilities that refresh on a long rest, etc. Basically, while you won't suffer the negative effects of skipping a long rest, you also don't enjoy any of the benefits of having taken one.


51

RAW - Yes, catnap can affect elves Catnap is a bit deceptively named because, despite the name and the fact that one of its effects mimics a short rest, Catnap does not actually technically put creatures to sleep. And this is not the only example of a spell/ability confusingly named.1 The important thing to realize about this is that the names of spells/...


51

It is not possible to have multiple "first turns in combat" in a single combat, but you could certainly hit with an attack multiple times during your first turn with the Extra Attack feature or similar. The "once per combat" clause ensures that the extra damage is only applied to the first successful attack.


46

Rules as written, an enemy is anything your DM allows you to consider an enemy. What is an Enemy? Enemy is not clearly defined, so there is no clear definition of what is and is not an enemy. It is up to your DM to decide. If you want to give justice to the intent of the rules, then I would say an enemy can only be a creature. Throughout the PHB "enemy"...


45

It's up to the GM A wish like this falls under this section: You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the DM as precisely as possible. The DM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance, the greater the wish, the greater the likelihood that something goes wrong. The question is ...


40

From logic, one would arrive at: "Climbing for a thief no longer costs the thief extra movement," "Climbing for a centaur costs 4 extra feet," "4 extra feet is extra movement," (implied from "instead of the normal 1 extra foot") (2&3) "Climbing for a centaur costs extra movement" C. (1&4) "Climbing for a centaur thief would not cost any extra ...


39

Your ruling is unlikely to break anything. However, the rules on their own (and the underlying fictional significance of the rules) appear to answer this with a No. The surface rules difficulty is that a there's no object duplication involved — you start with a spell scroll and end with a page in a spellbook. These aren't identical objects, as the ability ...


38

Probably yes. in D&D 3.5 this would definitely not be the case. There were no retroactive calculation of skill points, even if you spent an attribute increase on Int. But for pathfinder it is different. here is a forum post from James Jacobs: All bonuses are retroactive when an ability score increases, be they bonuses to damage, to skill ranks, to ...


38

As of the 2018 Errata, the Athlete feat has been changed Athlete (p. 165). The third benefit should instead say climbing doesn't cost you extra movement. —Errata: Player's Handbook, 2018 Because of this change, the Athlete feat would allow a Centaur to ignore all extra costs associated with climbing. The technicality of ignoring "halved" movement ...


37

Neither. The ability states that you magically become invisible. You do not have to cast the Invisibility spell to do so.


37

The Direct Answer The direct answer is yes, the DM can override racial traits and absolutely anything else they want to override. Your Specific Situation This would be an odd thing to override. First, most campaigns don't make a big issue out of food and water. They are often assumed to be adequately available so that it doesn't become much of a ...


35

Death Ward will trigger the first time you drop to 0 hit points, and Relentless Endurance won't. Then next time you drop to 0, Relentless Endurance will be ready to go. Death Ward, emphasis mine: The first time the target would drop to 0 hit points as a result of taking damage, the target instead drops to 1 hit point, and the spell ends. As soon as you ...


34

While it may not be "game breaking", it is unbalancing enough that it is disallowed for Adventurers League play (same as the Aarakocra PC race, which also grants flight): All sidebars and optional rules in the Sword Coast Adventurer’s Guide are legal for D&D Adventurers League play with the exceptions noted below. The following rules options are ...


34

The lizard-monk's armour class would be: 10 + Dexterity mod + Wisdom mod or 13 + Dexterity mod, not 13 + Dexterity mod + Wisdom mod. Page 14 of the PHB says: Some spells and class features give you a different way to calculate your AC. If you have multiple features that give you different ways to calculate your AC, you choose which one to use. Both ...


34

Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes introduces tiefling subraces which have a special link to one of the Lords of the Nine Hells, one of which is Zariel. Below the Subrace Traits heading (MToF, p. 21), it states: The traits of the chosen subrace replace the tiefling's Ability Score Increase and Infernal Legacy traits given in the Player's Handbook. (emphasis ...


34

Don't nerf the players, buff the challenges If the entire party consists of kobolds, there is no reason to decrease their power level. Simply adjust the encounters to be a suitable challenge for the group. You can find guidance for adjusting the power level of encounters in many places, but in my experience, every group will need tinkering individually to ...


34

The way to reconcile these, IMHO, is to realise that the Thief ability is written assuming that the character is an ordinary humanoid biped. They would pay one extra foot of movement for each foot of climbing, and the ability removes that penalty. So you could plausibly claim that a centaur Thief with Second-Story Work pays three extra feet of movement for ...


33

Your reasoning is correct Indeed, Pack Tactics only requires that you have an ally within 5 feet of the target so this would work with any attack, including ranged spell or weapon attacks. If the feature only worked for melee attacks it would say so, but it doesn't, so any attack works.


30

If you can fit it through the opening, you can put it in there. This would effectively make your Bag of Holding a wonderful trap/container for your Genasi. As for opening it from the inside, rules do not state you can or can not. Lots of people have asked this before, but I personally do not feel that you can open the bag from an extra planar space because ...


29

Yes, as long as the mount is within 5 feet An ally is not clearly defined in 5e, so we can use the English definition: a person, group, or nation that is associated with another or others for some common cause or purpose Ally in the case of D&D 5e is almost certainly meant to include animals since wolves get the Pack Tactics trait too so we just ...


28

Since the drow racial abilities synergize well with being a Charisma-based caster, sunlight sensitivity is not such a harsh penalty as it might seem initially. You can get around the penalty by playing a caster with cantrips and spells that do not require an attack roll, but use a saving throw instead, and use those when under the penalty. As an example, a ...


28

Charmed is a specific game condition. From Appendix A of the PHB (page 290): Charmed A charmed creature can’t attack the charmer or target the charmer with harmful abilities or magical effects. The charmer has advantage on any ability check to interact socially with the creature. So Fey Ancestry gives advantage on any saving throw to avoid ...


28

Yes, Aasimar can use this ability in an antimagic field Only magic and magical effects are affected by an anti-magic field as indicated in the description of the spell: Spells and other magical effects, except those created by an artifact or deity, are suppressed in the sphere and can't protrude into it. Sage Advice gives us tests for determining if ...


28

Many small consequences, some with class features, others with spells. Mechanically speaking, yes, the only consequence of them having the Fey trait is that they cannot be affected by spells and effects that target humanoids, and can be affected by spells and traits that target fey. Humanoid-targeting features are a lot to list (some that come to mind are ...


27

The easiest way to avoid the penalty of the Drow on prime material plane campaigns, is to only play Drow in campaigns which take place indoors, underground, or mostly at night. The second easiest way is to gain advantage. A Drow at 3rd level gains the spell "Faerie Fire" which grants advantage to anyone attacking the victim of the spell. If you are ...


27

You would have four cantrips. The general rule is that features from your race, class, archetype, or whatever, are additional to one another. Features do not stack only when explicitly noted by the rules.


27

Here is what flight does: it makes the player character immune to certain types of monsters. For example if the party gets attacked by bears, or wolves, or lions, or tyrannosaurs, your tiefling variant can fly into the air and now the monsters can't hurt him. Usually this is not a huge problem, because the monsters can still hurt the rest of the party, so ...


27

You add your Strength bonus to any melee damage you do unless a rule specifically states otherwise. As per the description of the Strength ability score on page 176 of the PHB: You add your Strength modifier to your attack roll and your damage roll when attacking with a melee weapon... This general rule is always in effect unless it is explicitly ...


27

They can cast each spell once per day, so two spells in total. The trick is in the wording: Once you cast either spell, you can't cast it again with this trait until you finish a short or long rest. Since "either" means "The one or the other" and "it" means "the one previously mentioned" the ability essentially reads: Once you cast one of these spells,...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible