41

I would simply accept that I am not playing a changeling with this DM. “Fair” or not doesn’t come into it; it’s not worth the argument. But being able to change their appearance at will is literally the sole reason to play a changeling. That is what they do, what they are there for. Getting to do so only once per day is a ludicrously tight restriction in the ...


31

You do not apply advantage separately to the effects of a single saving throw, but you do not get advantage in this case Most spells require only a single saving throw. This is explicit from the way the save is described, as in dissonant whispers, which says: The target must make a Wisdom saving throw. This is singular - there’s only one save, even though ...


29

It seems excessive. Changelings are not particularly powerful, and you may need to discus this with your DM. keep in mind the ability can be replicated by low levels spells like Alter Self (2) of Disguise Self (1), fairly low level class abilities like Mask of Many Faces, or even a disguise kit. Many of these actually preform better in many ways. As a ...


25

Minotaur player characters are barrel-chested humanoids. It says it in the introduction to the playable race, and on page 18 of Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica and page 22 of Mythic Odysseys of Theros: Minotaurs are barrel-chested humanoids. So a minotaur is affected by hold person. As you have observed, the two playable races that are not humanoids are ...


24

No, holding your breath won't save you The language of the ancient green dragon's Poison Breath is (MM, p. 284; emphasis mine): The dragon exhales poisonous gas in a 90­-foot cone. Each creature in that area must make a DC 22 Constitution saving throw, [...] All it says is that there is a poisonous gas, and anyone in its cone is affected. If holding your ...


22

Light vs Medium is mostly just a build choice; Heavy armor is somewhat more powerful. Medium and Light armor both max out at the same point, AC 17. In Medium armor, that's achieved by the relatively simple means of having a +2 Dex bonus and wearing Half Plate armor (expensive but not ridiculous); in Light that's achieved by wearing studded leather and ...


20

The Ability is Continuous Grovel, Cower, and Beg takes an Action to activate. The effect is checked every time an ally makes an attack. If the foe is a) within 10' of the kobold and b) can see the kobold (not blocked by cover, darkness, blindness, invisibility, etc.) and c) the duration for GCB hasn't expired then the attack has Advantage. If your ...


20

Getting up from prone uses movement, but is not the same as moving. The Tabaxi's Feline Agility trait states (VGtM, p. 115): Once you use this trait, you can’t use it again until you move 0 feet on one of your turns. While standing up from prone uses some of your movement, it is never described as "moving": You can drop prone without using any ...


19

The specific beats general concept does not seem to help here. We have two specific rules that override the general rule: A warforged takes an hour to integrate or remove armor, and Cast-Off Armor can be doffed as an action. As in many cases of conflicting special rules, the fallback position is simply to ask the DM how it's going to work at your table. ...


19

This is strong, but generally balanced Similarities to Aarakocra I think the most similar race would be Aarakocra, which is generally seen as a strong race, but is officialy published so certainly not ridiculous. The language, alignment, speed and size seem fine. Size and speed are even the same as the Aarakocra. Generally race descriptions also have some ...


19

No, having natural armor is not wearing armor. The quotes you give provide ample support for this: you are ill-suited to wearing armor. [...] You gain no benefit from wearing armor your speed increases by 10 feet while you are not wearing armor It seems pretty clear that the tortle's shell is not "wearing armor" and thus wouldn't impede the Monk ...


19

The cloak won't help you while you are in your shell While you are hiding in their shell you have a speed of 0 so you are unable to move. While you are like that the cloak won't work. You mention the fact that you can use a bonus action to come back out of your shell. But that is only possible on your turn and it is only relevant when you are actually do it. ...


17

Boots of Striding and Springing triple your unmodified jump distance. I would make the argument that when Boots of Striding and Springing says you can jump three times the normal distance, this is referring to your unmodified (normal) jump distance, to which you may then add modifiers. I believe if the Boots multiplied the modifiers as well, it would read ...


17

Yes, it does allow exactly that! From the Sage Advice Compendium (emphasis mine): Do the lightfoot halfling and wood elf hiding racial traits allow them to hide while observed? The lightfoot halfling and wood elf traits — Naturally Stealthy and Mask of the Wild — do allow members of those subraces to try to hide in their special circumstances even when ...


17

You do not get advantage on the save at all Dissonant Whispers does damage and causes you to use your reaction to move away from the caster. It does not create the Frightened condition so it doesn’t trigger Brave.


17

Congratulations! You have discovered some valuable feedback for this play test material! You should share it via the Unearthed Arcana feedback system. Text The text supports your interpretation of adding two ability score modifiers to attacks with the vampiric bite. Which is unprecedented, over powering, and makes dhampir barbarians really appealing. Intent ...


16

You gain no benefit from wearing armor. This seems pretty unambiguous. There are no secret rules. Gaining the benefits of magic armor requires wearing it: Unless an armor’s description says otherwise, armor must be worn for its magic to function. But the Tortle’s Natural Armor feature says you gain no benefit from wearing armor. So usually, the magic of ...


15

Cosmetics is by definition not relevant for balance By definition, cosmetic appearance is not relevant for balance. Mechanics-wise this will change absolutely nothing, if you take the original races. Confusion and strangeness Giving many options to new players might confuse or overwhelm new players. However, if you make them choose a race like normal and ...


13

Sunlight Sensitivity will still apply. There's no mechanical connection between the Drow Superior Darkvision trait and the Sunlight Sensitivity trait, so getting improved darkvision from another source has no effect on Sunlight Sensitivity. Neither Devil Sight nor Eyes of the Dark say anything about changing how your vision works in sunlight; none of these ...


13

Both are correct at the moment, depending on which sourcebook you're taking the stats from. As RallozarX has already mentioned, the Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden adventure includes Goliaths as a playable race and they have added cold resistance. D&D Beyond has obviously updated the Goliath page to include the addition from Icewind Dale: Rime of ...


13

You can't willingly end your move in another creature's space While there are ways to unwillingly do this, there is no method within the rules to willingly end your turn in another creature's space. From the "Moving Around Other Creatures" section of the rules (PH p. 191 / Basic Rules p. 74): Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t ...


13

You cannot end the move closer if you are already as close as you can get. The second sentence of Aggressive says: You must end this move closer to the enemy than you started. If you are grappling the creature, you are most likely already as close as you can get to the creature in terms of how the rules measure distance between positions. Since you are as ...


13

No, but... The Custom Lineage sidebar in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything states (p. 8; italics for emphasis mine): Instead of choosing one of the game’s races for your character at 1st level, you can use the following traits to represent your character’s lineage, giving you full control over how your character’s origin shaped them: Creature Type. You are a ...


12

The simplest solution is to use a Custom Lineage If your table uses, or has access to, Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, you can apply the Custom Lineage option (p. 8) to any mix that the books do not cover (and your combo is not covered in any of the books). Make sure to work with your DM: not all DMs like all of the supplements. Creature Type. You are a ...


12

Ask your DM. Using options from Tasha’s in the first place is going to be up to the DM, so the outcome of a spell that wasn’t written to work with Tasha’s racial options is going to be up to the DM. RAW, reincarnate obviously references the “non-customized origin” version of those races, since it is a Player’s Handbook spell.


12

Your armor can only be removed if you are dead. Integrated Protection states: While you live, the armor incorporated into your body can’t be removed against your will. This is not ambiguous. The armor cannot be removed against your will, unless you are dead. D&D 5e has a specific beats general rule: This compendium contains rules that govern how the ...


11

I realize that I'm a bit late to this discussion, but in Volo's Guide under the "Aasimar Names" header, it states: "Most Aasimar are born from human parents..." Putting emphasis on "most", that leaves room for interpretation, in my opinion. This wouldn't change any of the actual gameplay mechanics, but for purely RP reasons, I ...


11

A tortle's alternate AC calculation (AC 17) is no different from a Warforged's +1 AC bonus -- that is to say, neither of them are armor, and neither of them have any effect on Unarmored Movement. Furthermore: You gain no benefit from wearing armor Implies that your natural tortle shell does not, by itself, count as wearing armor.


10

They cannot use a focus The feature that allows a character to use a focus is usually Spellcasting, and it has a wording like: SPELLCASTING FOCUS You can use a holy symbol (found in chapter 5) as a spellcasting focus for your cleric spells. (PHB 58) This indicates that you can only use those focuses for [class] spells. A spell is a [class] spell if you ...


10

Unfortunately, Hammering Horns can't knock the target prone Firstly let's observe the Minotaur's Hammering Horns trait from the Guildmasters' Guide to Ravnica (p. 19; emphasis mine): Immediately after you hit a creature with a melee attack as part of the Attack action on your turn, you can use a bonus action to attempt to shove that target with your horns. ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible