61

This is not something the rules allow for This should not be allowed because it is imbalancing If this were allowed, ranged attacks (likely including spells) would become a great deal stronger while melee attacks would remain the same (except perhaps for Reach weapons). This change is a bad idea because there is no reason not to use it. If you can have twice ...


55

Choose Cleric and use the War Domain. The War Domain supports ranged weapons just as well as a front-line approach. It gives proficiency with martial weapons (such as the longbow) and has a number of features that enhance your weapon attacks. At no point does it say "melee weapon" - you can make bonus action bow attacks with the War Priest feature, and ...


52

YES, a mundane arrow fired from a magical bow overcomes the resistance In the D&D 5e Errata, this issue is addressed: Magic Weapons (p. 140). The section ends with a new paragraph: “If a magic weapon has the ammunition property, ammunition fired from it is considered magical for the purpose of overcoming resistance and immunity to nonmagical attacks ...


50

Depending on what you're asking, there may be no upper limit The Pact of the Chain Warlock gets the following feature: [...] Additionally, when you take the Attack action, you can forgo one of your own attacks to allow your familiar to make one attack with its reaction [...] Note that there is no range restriction and so this could be done from any ...


47

Yes, rogues can sneak attack at range pretty effectively. You're reading the rules right, and all a ranged rogue needs for sneak attack is an ally's adjacency. (Actually, an enemy-of-my-enemy's adjacency, not necessarily an ally.) Shooting in to melee... may, at your GMs discretion, call cover into question. Review PHB p. 196: intervening combatants might ...


45

No, you can't take the -5/+10 while throwing a dagger. Thrown: If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. Throwing a dagger is a ranged weapon attack, so the first two benefits of the Sharpshooter feat will apply. However, the third benefit doesn't require a ranged weapon attack: Before you make an attack ...


43

All I could find that might work was one specific weapon from Waterdeep There is a weapon in the Waterdeep: Dragon Heist module (p. 201) whose description includes (Spoiler Alert!): Presumably this unique longbow would have its remaining stats be the same as other longbows: heavy, and two-handed, and has the ammunition property. Whether this longbow lets ...


41

The action you described is not really a readied action. It's more like a "colorful" Dodge Action. Either dodge or a readied action will cost one action - they are equivalent in game mechanics. If the player wants this to be a readied action, there's no reason to correct them on the term. Disguising the Dodge action as a readied action You can indulge ...


40

Infinite A bag of caltrops costs 1 gp. It can, if properly used, deal 1 piercing damage to any number of creatures at any number of later times regardless of the distance between caltrop-deployer and caltrop-steppers-on. You don't need to be on the same plane, you don't need to be in the same timeline, you don't need to be alive, etc. Even better, the spell ...


38

Net attacks RAW are made perpetually with disadvantage. They act as a normal ranged attack, so you are either always throwing them at long range (10-15 feet) and incurring disadvantage, or you are throwing them at short range and as a result are in close combat and throwing them at disadvantage. The description of the net in the PHB gives it no special rules ...


38

According to the description of reactions (PHB 190): When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. Both use your reaction. As you only have 1 reaction per round, you must choose which of the two you would like to activate.


37

Yes, that is the rules-as-written. It's worth noting, additionally, that there's actually no need for the archer to step out of the fog cloud in most circumstances: despite being effectively blinded, per the rules of the game, a creature would still know the location of another creature they cannot see, so long as that creature does not take the Hide action ...


35

No. There are no downsides at all (again provided the enemy doesn't have Mage Slayer or some other specific feature) to casting in melee if the spell does not have an attack roll. For all intents and purposes it's not an attack. There are several other rules that govern attacks that don't work with spells that don't have attack rolls. For instance, you ...


34

As a general rule...spells do exactly what they say they do, and no more. In regards to ranged attacks, anything on the other side (or inside) of a Web Spell will be Lightly Obscured. Lightly Obscured (PHB 183) In a lightly obscured area, such as dim light, patchy fog, or moderate foliage, creatures have disadvantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks that ...


33

Your reasoning is correct Indeed, Pack Tactics only requires that you have an ally within 5 feet of the target so this would work with any attack, including ranged spell or weapon attacks. If the feature only worked for melee attacks it would say so, but it doesn't, so any attack works.


32

The +7 that D&D Beyond shows next to your Longbow attack is what you should add to your attack roll. D&D Beyond adds the +3 Dexterity modifier that you circled, the +2 Proficiency Bonus that you circled, and an additional +2 (probably from Archery fighting style) to come up with the total +7.


31

Let's get one thing out of the way first: Playing on a grid is a variant to the normal rules. These variant rules can be found in the green insert/sidebar on page 192 of the Player's Handbook. To calculate range using these rules you count squares as though you were moving: To determine the range on a grid between two things—whether creatures or objects—...


31

While the other answers correctly identify this as being imbalanced, I also need to bring up the third, and missing, option. Option 3: You actually hit the target but in a way that did not do damage. When people think "miss", they picture that the target somehow got out of the way. But that is not always the case. "Miss" just means you did not overcome the ...


30

You load as part of any attack with a crossbow. You can draw the ammunition as part of the attack, so loading it is implied to be part of the attack as well. "Loaded" in this case means only that you have ammunition available for the attack. Per the official errata, "loading a one-handed weapon requires a free hand." This means that, post-errata, using ...


30

There is an optional rule in the DMG about hitting other creatures that are providing cover for something, on page 272. It says that if your attack misses due to the cover provided and the attack roll was high enough to beat the AC of the creature providing the cover, you hit the covering creature instead. There is indeed nothing in the PHB, as there is ...


30

My Experience with Ranged Smiting I have created a magic item for my players that allows for ranged smiting. They are magical arrows that cost gold (I give my PCs the ability to craft magic items), and they deal smite damage on hit. In exchange for ranged smiting, however, the paladin must declare the smite and expend the spell slot for the smite before ...


30

How about a Rogue? Since Sneak Attack damage only applies to one hit per turn, there's only limited benefit to getting additional attacks (namely getting a second chance to hit), but rogues get lots of useful ways to use their bonus action outside of Two Weapon Fighting. Since the feature is built around getting a single strong attack each round, the damage ...


30

"Hit" is the general term used for "You made an attack roll and equalled or beat the target's AC". So this would work just fine. If an ability was restricted to being used only with Melee weapons (or ranged ones) then the text would mention this directly by saying something like: "When you hit a creature with a melee weapon attack" or "When you hit a ...


30

Yes, with Gloves of Missile Snaring Just find a pair of Gloves of Missile Snaring and you are set: These gloves seem to almost meld into your hands when you don them. When a ranged weapon attack hits you while you're wearing them, you can use your reaction to reduce the damage by 1d10 + your Dexterity modifier, provided that you have a free hand. If you ...


29

For ranged attacks and a holy feel, Celestial Warlock fits well Eldritch Blast has a variety of invocations that makes it useful in a lot of situations. The 90' range makes it applicable in a lot of tactical situations. Sacred Flame does radiant damage. The two additional cantrips with this patron (Light, sacred flame) are a nice fit with the theme of ...


28

No, not by default. But see below! The simulation provided by D&D 5e (and previous editions) isn't that detailed. Fast-moving targets are the same as slow-moving targets. (Immobilised targets are easier to hit, but that's a different situation entirely.) However, D&D 5e in particular is designed so that intuitions like yours are trivially ...


28

RAW: No. The Blowgun lists Ammunition as a property which gives several choices in the PHB. While we understand the PHB is not an exhaustive list, we generally accept that variations on it are thematic and functional and not mechanical in nature. A dart by any other name... Would definitely not be a Goodberry. The Goodberry does not have the same type of ...


28

You don't actually need a free hand to load a light or heavy crossbow. You only need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon, not a two-handed weapon. This is clarified in newer printings of the Player's Handbook. Both light and heavy crossbows have the Ammunition, Loading and Two-Handed properties: Two-handed means the weapon "requires two hands when you ...


28

Spoiler: It's always eldritch blast. Shooting twice per turn is always going to be superior to firing once per turn, unless the one shot is vastly better. Like, not "add a stat bonus"-better, but like "this is literally a siege weapon"-better. First off, comparing an Invocation-enhanced crossbow against an unmodified eldritch blast is ...


28

The first number is the weapons' normal range I think you've misunderstood slightly how ranged weapons work. Quoting from the Basic Rules (freely available online; the above table extract is on p. 48): Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible