We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.

Hot answers tagged

53

You are correct. Tunnel Fighter lets you make opportunity attacks for free, and Polearm Master lets you do so at a distance. An intelligent or reasonably aware force would have a good chance to figure this out after you skewer the first few. As for "too good," it's powerful but not unrealistic. Choke points are good strategy in the real world, too; see ...


42

Yes, reach also determines Opportunity attack range. Equipment Reach (p. 147). This property also determines your reach for opportunity attacks with a reach weapon. — PHB Errata Supplemental Evidence Most creatures have a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet of them when making a melee attack. Certain creatures (...


35

From the section on opportunity attacks: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your reaction to make one melee attack against the provoking creature. The attack interrupts the provoking creature’s movement, occurring right before the creature ...


29

This is one of those times where's it's more helpful to think in squares than feet. Lets start by converting to squares and then work backwards to feet. To start, you and the scarecrow are within 5' of one another (in close melee range or whatever). In 5' square terms, you are adjacent. When you move 35', you are moving 7 5' squares. When the scarecrow ...


26

As you also quote: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. None of the creatures have moved if your reach changes, therefore they do not provoke Opportunity Attacks. This reading is also supported by the rest of the OA rules that state that forced movement does not provoke. The target has to ...


25

They were in melee range (on a grid) Think of this as a 10' hallway. If you were standing in a 10' grid of a hallway and you were on one side the spawn was on the other, then your squares are adjacent to each other. A medium creature controls a 5x5 space. Both you and the spawn are medium. If playing on a grid, your spaces are adjacent and cover the full ...


24

When they move over 5ft and 10ft away from you You can use your one reaction to execute an opportunity attack to attack with the dagger if the opponent steps out of 5 foot reach. Or the Whip if the opponent steps out of 10 feet reach. This is supported by the descriptions of the reach property (post-PHB-errata) which says: This weapon adds 5 feet to ...


23

Yes, your reach with the bonus attack is the same as your reach with the regular attack. The Reach weapon property states that: This weapon adds 5 feet to your reach when you attack with it, as well as when determining your reach for opportunity attacks with it (see chapter 9). So whenever you make an attack with a Reach weapon, your reach is 5 feet ...


23

You are reading the combination correctly. A Tunnel Fighter with Polearm Master can produce a formidable blockage. The opportunity attacks you're allowed to make against those entering your reach are not limited by the action-economy. It is really good, in a very specific situation. You need to be able to avoid their ranged attacks and any areas of effect, ...


23

There is some confliction in your question but I'll assume you want to make Melee Weapon Attacks at reach. The highest reach would be 25 feet with a Bugbear Battlemaster Fighter/Way of the Four Elements Monk's unarmed strike. It costs 1 Superiority Die and 1 Ki point. Base reach is 5 feet Bugbear gives +5 feet Lunging Strike (Fighter: Battlemaster) gives +...


22

So this question sort of ultimately comes down to "does shove use my weapon?" - the answer to which is unfortunately clouded and probably up to your DM more than it is governed by the rules. I think in my games, I'd probably not allow it, as "shove" seems more like a body to body effect (or shield if you're using one) rather than a weapon push, but I'd be ...


22

No. Aiming a ranged attack is more difficult when a foe is next to you. When you make a ranged attack with a weapon, a spell, or some other means, you have disadvantage on the attack roll if you are within 5 feet of a hostile creature who can see you and who isn’t incapacitated. (BD&D p73) This is explicitly 5' not melee range. If you're 10'...


22

Here's an alternative answer that's a little less square. The flaw in your reasoning is that you treat your initial distance as zero feet away from the scarecrow. This is unlikely to be correct... It would mean that either you were in exactly the same place as the scarecrow, or at the very least giving it a very close hug. So, suppose that you are very, ...


22

Half cover is not ignored: Cover rules say: A target can benefit from cover only when an attack or other effect originates on the opposite side of the cover. Specifically for half-cover (emphasis mine): A target with half cover has a +2 bonus to AC and Dexterity saving throws. A target has half cover if an obstacle blocks at least half of its body. ...


21

You can only cast Booming Blade on adjacent targets In D&D 5e, typically "5 ft away" is considered adjacent to you. Note that your two definitions of the range are actually synonymous: "within 5 feet" and "maximum distance away" can both be mathematically represented as Distance < 5 ft. Anything more than 5 ft away is no longer within non-reach melee ...


20

Reach is measured from the rider RAW Nothing in the rules says that mounting another creature changes your size. So, according to the most basic reading of the rules, your size simply does not change. There are no secret rules and this is both the simplest and most RAW answer. So that would make the answer to your second question a definitive "no". While ...


20

An Attack of Opportunity occurs when a target moves out of your reach (unless otherwise specified by a feat). PHB pg. 195, Opportunity Attacks You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. The key word there is moves. Unless the monster's attack involves it actually moving out of your reach, it ...


19

I am unable to find a specific answer to your question by RAW (maybe somebody else can help), but having a look at a relevant rule may help: PHB 198: If the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you're on it, the attacker can target you or the mount. The way I read that is that if your mount's movement of space (its occupied area) provokes an ...


19

Space Controlled The size is not about physical boundaries the creature occupies, but to area the creature effectively controls. The Size Categories table shows how much space a creature of a particular size controls in combat. Which means, you and the horse are somewhere inside that area. And have control over it. Moreover, it also means that unlike ...


19

The answer can be found on page 195 of the PHB: Most creatures have a 5-foot reach and can thus attack targets within 5 feet of them when making a melee attack. Certain creatures (typically those larger than Medium) have melee attacks with a greater reach than 5 feet, as noted in their descriptions. Aside from that, certain weapons also increase your ...


19

No, it doesn't The feat explicitly says "within 5 feet", rather than "in your reach" or "in melee".


19

The target must be within 5' of YOU and visible The distance between enemies has no bearing on this ability. The 6th level Tipsy Sway feature of the Drunken Master states (emphasis mine): When a creature misses you with a melee attack roll, you can spend 1 ki point as a reaction to cause that attack to hit one creature of your choice, other than the ...


19

The grappled ally will be moved, breaking the grapple if that takes them out of the grappler's reach As written, the manoeuvre doesn't require the ally to be willing, personally able to move or even conscious in order to be the target of the Bait and Switch technique; they merely have to exist and be adjacent to the fighter. Being grappled reduces their ...


18

Firstly, there is no concept of "threatening" in D&D 5e; you can make opportunity attacks when a hostile creature moves out of your reach. As for reach weapons, the errata for the PHB clears this issue up once and for all: This property also determines your reach for opportunity attacks with a reach weapon. So yes, a reach weapon allows you to ...


18

Yes, you can cast a spell instead of an Opportunity Attack at either 5' or 10' Let's look at the sequence of action and of the logic here: Enemy is at in your current reach - They are currently in your active reach if you are wielding a whip because it has the Reach property which extends your reach when using it by 10' and they are also in range of your ...


18

No, the Opportunity Attack is still triggered The PHB (195) is clear on this: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. There are no additional caveats regarding remaining within your own reach and the only requirement is moving out of someone else's reach.


16

The glaive-armed skeleton (if typical) shouldn't've been able to make an attack of opportunity against you The Player's Handbook on Cover and Attacks of Opportunity says, "You can't execute an attack of opportunity against an opponent with cover relative to you" (151). In this case, you have cover from the glaive-armed skeleton because of the skeleton ...


16

This has been addressed by Jeremy Crawford, and the answer is, indeed, no: The final benefit of the Sentinel feat is unaffected by a weapon's range. The benefit is limited to 5 feet.


15

During a cavalry charge, the mounted combatant will strike its target and keep on riding. This works in D&D too. The controlled mount can dash for generally > 100' of movement (depending on the mount), and the rider can attack with the lance any time during that movement. Reach allows the rider to do so without provoking an attack of opportunity from ...


15

The Bugbear race presented in Volo's Guide to Monsters has a permanent reach enhancement. As long as your new race is not more powerful than the Bugbear (in terms of stat bonuses and other effects) it's probably okay. For reference, the Bugbear's Long-Limbed feature is as follows: Long-Limbed: When you make a melee attack on your turn, your reach for it ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible