Skip to main content
27 votes
Accepted

Can you hold Plane Shift on an unwilling creature until they touch you to skip the melee spell attack?

No. The fact that Plane Shift requires a saving throw from the target is irrelevant here, as it is an additional drawback specific to this spell. You could Ready any melee spell attack in a similar ...
Honey Battery's user avatar
26 votes

5e Combat economy and darkness

This works The trigger of your Readied Action finishes before the action, so Bobby will get of his shot When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
16 votes
Accepted

Can you make an attack with a crossbow and then prepare a reaction attack using action surge without the crossbow expert feat?

Yes There is no such thing as "reaction attack", so I'm going to assume you are talking about the "Ready" action, which allows you to "hold" an attack until a certain ...
Matthieu's user avatar
  • 9,590
16 votes
Accepted

What happens if a Storm Sorcerer is knocked unconscious before casting the spell from Tempestuous Magic?

The sorcerer falls unconscious, without casting the spell and without spending the slot. The feature says that the sorcerer can fly up 10 feet before casting the spell: this means that the casting has ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 29.9k
9 votes

Can you hold Plane Shift on an unwilling creature until they touch you to skip the melee spell attack?

The attack is mandatory The spell is worded very precisely in order of operations: Choose a creature within range. Roll a melee spell attack. On Hit: roll a charisma save. On Fail: banish to another ...
Trish's user avatar
  • 44.3k
9 votes

Can you make an attack with a crossbow and then prepare a reaction attack using action surge without the crossbow expert feat?

Yes You don't need to attack to use Action Surge. This is different than features like crossbow expert which necessitate the Attack action: When you use the Attack action and attack with a one handed ...
David Coffron's user avatar
8 votes

Can you hold Plane Shift on an unwilling creature until they touch you to skip the melee spell attack?

Mechanically, Plane Shift isn't a mere touch You have to hit the target's AC. 24 constitution Barbarian with 8 dex has 16 AC, and next to none of it is because they are good at dodging. Just like a ...
Yakk's user avatar
  • 15.4k
8 votes

5e Combat economy and darkness

This is a loophole in the rules Whether this works, depends on what is acceptable at your table. Many DMs explicitly forbid exploiting technical loopholes, regardless of the fact it should work rules ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 69.1k
6 votes

Can I ready actions to evade an opponent?

No, but no need In a combat round a character can take: a full-round action; or a standard action and a move action; or two move actions (since a character can always take a move action in place of a ...
KerrAvon2055's user avatar
  • 4,206
5 votes

5e Combat economy and darkness

This sounds like Help with extra steps (almost) It's true that this feels a little cheesy and relying too much on RAW - possibly bending a little the idea that characters act simultaneously (and ...
falsedot's user avatar
  • 2,666
4 votes

What happens if a Storm Sorcerer is knocked unconscious before casting the spell from Tempestuous Magic?

You can't cast spells while unconscious. If a readied action knocks you out, it doesn't matter what else you planned to do. Unconscious An unconscious creature is incapacitated (see the condition), ...
order's user avatar
  • 4,049
3 votes

Can you hold Plane Shift on an unwilling creature until they touch you to skip the melee spell attack?

As others have said. No it would not let them bypass a melee spell attack. Because that's part of the spell. Holding their action would require the caster to concentrate on the spell and to have it ...
AK DoomKnighted's user avatar
3 votes

Ready Action and Bonus Action

Both because you are unsure of the rules and timing, and because your description is a bit vague, it is not always clear whether the sequence you described followed the rules or not. I have made an ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.2k
3 votes

Ready Action and Bonus Action

You seem to misunderstand what bonus actions and readied actions are. The action economy at first can be fairly confusing, but once you understand it it makes things move much smoother. One thing to ...
TheLittlePeace's user avatar
2 votes

What happens if a Storm Sorcerer is knocked unconscious before casting the spell from Tempestuous Magic?

Simultaneous events require a DM decision 'Anytime After', 'Right After', and 'Immediately After' Sometimes a feature triggers an event that comes after it, but may occur any time later during the ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 52.2k
2 votes

Can you make an attack with a crossbow and then prepare a reaction attack using action surge without the crossbow expert feat?

You can Attack and Ready an attack this way But you might not need to. Based on the fact that you mentioned the Crossbow Expert feat, and the "counted as you attacking on your turn" bit, I ...
Kamil Drakari's user avatar
1 vote

Ready Action and Bonus Action

If you're in initiative order, you can only use an action and a bonus action during your turn. Once it's somebody else's turn, you usually can't do anything. Now, Ready is a special rule. As an action ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
1 vote

Ready Action and Bonus Action

You can take one of each type of action per round It is pretty simple: Barring special features like Action Surge, each character (or NPC) has one action, one bonus action, and one Reaction per round, ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
1 vote

Can you ready a bonus action?

You cannot Ready a bonus action. As noted in the question, the rules of Bonus Actions state (emphases mine): Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 29.9k
1 vote

Does getting hit interrupt a movement (specifically in regards to the Booming Blade cantrip)?

No, there is nothing in the rules that supports this claim. The rules for Opportunity Attacks does not contain any specification in stopping a creature after being hit by an OA, except when there is a ...
Eddymage's user avatar
  • 29.9k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible