Hot answers tagged

60

The limit is 142 times Each ritual adds 10 minutes and most spells take 6 seconds1, there are 60 minutes in an hour, 24 hours in a day so 144 lots of 10 minutes, lose just under 15 minutes for the normal casting time so 142 is the maximum. This is likely to be “as many times as the wizard wants” unless his wants are excessive. Kidding aside; your ...


49

Ritual spells can't be cast at higher levels unless you spend a spell slot The rules for rituals state that: The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn't expend a spell slot, which means the ritual version of a spell can't be cast at a higher level This means that when casting as a ritual the spell must be ...


37

No, your assumption that rituals do not have to be prepared is wrong. You can cast a cleric spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell prepared. You might be thinking of wizards, who don't have to prepare rituals, but that's because their ritual spellcasting explicitly says so: ...


36

No, per the Wizard's Ritual Casting feature (PHB, pg. 114): Ritual Casting You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don’t need to have the spell prepared.


36

Yes, you should be able to cast a ritual spell while traveling, depending on how your DM (and indeed your table) chooses to flesh out the details for how ritual casting works in the campaign.1 The constraints of ritual casting(p. 201-202 PHB): increased casting time having the "ritual" tag in the spell description the caster class can cast spells as ...


32

It makes time pressure more important Unless the party has a Warlock who can cast Detect Magic at will, the party will have to make a choice. Do we use a ritual and take 10 minutes, or do we use a spell slot to know the answer right away? I've had players who are absolutely paranoid and will try to keep Detect Magic active at all times, just in case some ...


31

Storing a spell in the ring requires the use of a slot From the description of the Ring of Spell Storing, this is not immediately obvious but it does state that: The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses. Fortunately, Jeremy Crawford has clarified this in a series of tweets: Armando Doval‏ @armando_doval @...


30

They can't, generally Warlocks don't learn spells from spellbooks, they learn them by leveling and they are granted by your patron. You could multiclass into wizard to learn spells from spellbooks, but that's not a very good option in terms of power. However, you might still be able to gain something out of the spellbook if they are rituals. If you've picked ...


28

The ritual caster feat can even be taken by characters that have no class able to cast a spell. Thus the level of spells they can copy into their book and consequently cast as a ritual scales with their (overall) character level: The spell must be on the spell list for the class you chose, the spell's level can be no higher than half your level (rounded ...


28

Yes, but there's usually not much benefit Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn't expend a spell slot, which means the ritual version of a spell can't be ...


26

The ritual tag identifies spells that can be cast as rituals, not spells that must be cast as rituals. Your Paladin can cast Speak With Animals as a regular Paladin spell using the normal rules. From the SRD: Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ...


25

It returns with all inscribed rituals: Luke Anderson‏ @SaunaNotSawna · 23 Apr 2016 @JeremyECrawford When I replace my Pact of the Tome Tome, does it come back with all of my rituals/cantrips still in it? Jeremy Crawford‏ @JeremyECrawford · 26 Apr 2016 @SaunaNotSawna Yes. Qzotia‏ @SorcererQzot · 24 Apr 2016 ...


24

Yes. PHB 114: When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add it to your spellbook if it is of a level for which you have spell slots and if you can spare the time to decipher and copy it. No mention that it has to be in a wizard book, just that it is a wizard spell. Similar text exists for the Ritual Caster feat. The Warlock's Book of ...


24

You can't use Spell Slots from your class to cast spells you know from Ritual Caster From the description of the Ritual Caster feat: You have learned a number of spells that you can cast as rituals. Aside from that, nowhere does it say that you can cast them as usual spells using spell slots from your class. To be clear, remember that casting a spell as a ...


22

Yes, casting ritual transmutation spells will allow you to change the stone's effect The quote you've provided does not mention spending spell slots, it simply says that you must cast the spell. Using ritual casting to cast a spell is still casting a spell, so this would allow you to change the transmuter's stone's effect immediately after you finish casting ...


22

Any spell in your Book of Ancient Secrets can be cast as a ritual. A spell in your Book of Ancient Secrets can only be cast using a spell slot if you also currently know the spell The Book of Ancient Secrets states: [...] You can’t cast the spells except as rituals, unless you’ve learned them by some other means. [...] What this means is that a spell ...


21

No Weapon Bond is not a spell. The features you mention require you to learn a spell with the ritual tag (one example below). Not just any ritual. Ritual Caster ...ritual book holding two 1st-level spells of your choice [from a chosen class list]... the spells you choose must have the ritual tag


21

As a Warlock, you learn your spells through your Pact Magic which is granted to you by your Otherworldly Patron. Learning spells from spellbooks is a wizard's class feature (PHB 114). As a Warlock, you learn your spells through your Pact Magic (PHB 107) which is granted to you by your Otherworldly Patron (PHB 107). You learn new spells by advancing your ...


20

In 5th Edition D&D, a Ritual spell means the spell may be cast as a ritual, not that it must be cast as a Ritual. From the Player's Handbook, regarding Ritual Spellcasting: Rituals Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual ...


20

RAW, paladins cannot cast ritual spells as ritual In the Spellcasting chapter in the PHB, under Rituals: To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have a feature that grants the ability to do so. The cleric and the druid, for example, have such a feature. The caster must also have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the ...


19

Since the spells appear and are not written by you, they would be gifts from your Patron and would reappear when you renewed your grimore. The key wording for this interpretation is the word "appear" in the description from Book of Ancient Secrets. I would definitely rule that any spells you wrote in the book would be gone if the book was recreated (thus ...


18

The last paragraph of the Ritual Caster feat contains the sentence (emphasis added): The spell must be on the spell list for the class you chose, the spell's level can be no higher than half your level (rounded up), and it must have the ritual tag. So a fourth-level sorcerer can add 1st- and 2nd-level rituals to their book.


16

Looks like any written source (via Twitter): Matt Harrah: "...For Book of Shadows warlock: what constitutes "finding" a ritual spell? A book/scroll? Observation of cast?" Jeremy Crawford: "...Finding one written down." A wizard's spell book, another warlocks Book of Shadows, or a scroll all qualify. I could see a DM making one carved on a wall of ...


16

For a bard, yes. The feat can be taken by other classes though In order to cast a spell as a ritual a feature must allow you to do so. Bards have Ritual Casting as part of their Spellcasting feature: You can cast any bard spell you know as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag. ... but not every spellcaster has this. Some examples include Eldritch ...


16

No. Nothing in either Rituals section, Ritual Caster feat or in Ritual Casting from the classes says anything about being able to guide someone else. Also, note the emphasized part below - it states explictly that the spellcaster must have a feature that allows him to do it. Rogues don't. Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast ...


16

Technically, they do not As per D&D 5e's paradigm of rules interpretation, the rules say what they say and no more. While the warlock with Book of Ancient Secrets specifically requires their Book of Shadows in hand to cast rituals, and the Ritual Caster feat requires the user to have their ritual book in hand, no actual rule in the Player's Handbook ...


16

Absolutely! As you've quoted, the Ritual Caster feat (PHB, p. 169) is independent of your actual class. You can be a warlock and take the feat for Sorcerer rituals. The only prerequisite is: Intelligence or Wisdom of 13 or higher As long as you've got either a WIS of 13 or an INT of 13, then you can select from any of the available classes.


16

Your Firbolg Druid cannot cast their racial Detect Magic as a ritual The rules for ritual casting are given in the Spellcasting chapter of the basic rules: Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes ...


14

Transforming yourself is entirely possible and there are no especial restrictions on it compared to performing it on someone else, and yes, it makes sense (both fictionally and mechanically) for it to be slightly easier—though it's not nearly as much easier as you might hope. It's actually remarkably straightforward to work up a generic template for these ...


14

No need for preparation The feat can be taken by classes that do not prepare spells and its text does not mention preparation. Thus the two mechanics are disjunct. Preparation of spells is not a general rule, but a specific one, stated by the feature that gives you spellcasting abilities. It also does not modify such features. If you are a cleric, you still ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible