Hot answers tagged

54

Class names and in-universe terms don't need to be the same What, really, is a 'bard'? It's somebody who earns their living by entertaining people with music and song. This doesn't require any form of magic, a peasant with a lute and a good singing voice could still make a living as a bard, even though they have no levels in the bard class as a player would ...


41

The next paragraph reads When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you learn how to land a strike and then slip away without reprisal. During your turn, if you make a melee attack against a creature, that creature can't make opportunity attacks against you for the rest of your turn. -SCAG pg. 135 It further goes on to clarify in a blurb on the ...


40

From logic, one would arrive at: "Climbing for a thief no longer costs the thief extra movement," "Climbing for a centaur costs 4 extra feet," "4 extra feet is extra movement," (implied from "instead of the normal 1 extra foot") (2&3) "Climbing for a centaur costs extra movement" C. (1&4) "Climbing for a centaur thief would not cost any extra ...


39

Sneak Attack does not work with melee weapons that have the thrown property, but lack the finesse property The Rogue's Sneak Attack feature states: The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon. A melee weapon cannot simultaneously be a ranged weapon, because as the Weapons section (PHB, p146) states: Every weapon is classified as either melee or ...


37

Yes, and they don't need to ready an action to do it Say their movement is 30ft. They expend their movement for 30ft, use their action to Dash for an extra 30ft, then Bonus action to Dash again with an additional 30ft. 90ft in total - triple their base movement Here's a question that covers Dashing twice on the same round: Can you dash twice on the same ...


36

You cannot activate magic items with Fast Hands The section on activating magic items specifically calls out this case: If an item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Item action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item. (DMG 141)


34

The way to reconcile these, IMHO, is to realise that the Thief ability is written assuming that the character is an ordinary humanoid biped. They would pay one extra foot of movement for each foot of climbing, and the ability removes that penalty. So you could plausibly claim that a centaur Thief with Second-Story Work pays three extra feet of movement for ...


33

Arguably, the rogue may stand up The character is not literally "granted a resource" that is called movement but that is in fact the way the rules of movement talk about how it is used: However you're moving, you deduct the distance of each part of your move from your speed until it is used up or until you are done moving. In practice, movement is a ...


33

If possible, run the side session on another time or day with just those participating We've actually done this a number of times in a campaign I'm playing in. The players or DM occasionally come up with side quests relevant to a select few players, who we then find a time to play through an another day of the week. This prevents it from disrupting the ...


32

By RAW, the rogue can sneak attack as long as the target has an enemy within 5 ft of it From the Rogue's Sneak attack: You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll. and from the Basic Rules(Emphasis Mine) If ...


32

Any carried object will be visible Starting at 3rd level, when you cast Mage Hand, you can make the spectral hand invisible "You can make the spectral hand invisible" does not mean "you can cast the Invisibility spell on it". It does what it says — you make the hand invisible, and only the hand, not the item it is carrying. However, D&D 5th edition ...


31

Your interpretation is correct You already quote all the necessary rules. Using Thieves' Tools usually involves an ability check Proficiency in Thieves' Tools lets you add your proficiency bonus to the check Reliable Talent works on any check where you add proficiency Therefore, Reliable Talent will work on a check that uses Thieves' Tools if you are ...


31

A few, but they all explicitly require DM's permission As it is a method of communication, can it be taken as a language? Not as a part of standart character generation. You will require an explicit DM's permission: With your DM's permission, you can instead choose a language from the Exotic Languages table or a secret language, such as thieves’ cant ...


28

This seems to be a houserule created by your DM. By the rules, you don't have Disadvantage on attacks with your off-hand weapon, you just don't add your ability modifier to the damage it deals. And, unless you have a feat or ability saying otherwise, both weapons you're using must be Light weapons, limiting the size of weapons you can use with it. You might ...


28

Sneak attack damage is magical if the weapon used is magical. The Sneak Attack feature says that the rogue adds extra damage to the weapon attack. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon. This implies that the extra ...


26

Resistance/Immunity would apply (because the rule used in the question is defunct) It's debatable whether or not sneak attack's damage is from the weapon: but one thing I can be sure of is that sneak attack damage is from the attack. This can be seen in the PHB (p. 196, bold added), where it states: When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra ...


26

Insightful fighting is a good option to have Yes, attacking with advantage, as well as sneak attack, when hidden is great, but there are at least two reasons that Insightful Fighting could sometimes situationally be the better choice for your bonus action. Hiding isn't always possible Just because your Rogue has Cunning Action and can hide as a bonus ...


23

Yes, Fancy Footwork applies in these instances Your reading is correct. To trigger Fancy Footwork all you need to do is: make a melee attack against a creature The cantrips Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade use identical wording when they say: you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature So both Booming Blade and Green-Flame ...


22

Not unless you have an ability that allows Sneak Attack with an improvised weapon At present, there isn’t such an ability. The criteria for sneak attacks are clear. “The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon” - that is, it must have the “finesse” tag or be listed in the martial or simple ranged weapons table. Improvised weapons are neither. Making ...


22

Yes, you can multiclass and take one Rogue level You can multi-class just to gain 1 level of Rogue since you meet the requirements. As noted in the basic Multiclassing rules, you need a Dexterity of 13 and Charisma of 13 in order to multi-class from Warlock into a Rogue. Alternative Have you looked at backgrounds? This is normally something done at ...


22

A weapon is only a ranged weapon if it is listed as a simple/martial ranged weapon. Every such weapon also happens to have the Range property Note that fifth edition defaults to Standard English when something is not defined in the rules; however, what a ranged weapon is, is defined. The section on "Weapon Properties" includes the following: Every weapon ...


21

Yes As you mentioned, to stand up: [you spend] an amount of movement equal to half your speed. The rules for prone movement (including standing up) are listed under Movement and Position in the Player's Handbook, right between moving through Difficult Terrain and Moving Around Other Creatures. In my interpretation, I see no reason to disqualify ...


20

Most of your sneak attacks will be triggered by an ally in melee with the target You are reading the rules correctly: by far the most reliable way to trigger sneak attack is to attack an enemy engaged with an ally in melee. There's no need to hide or gain advantage: you can simply fight alongside an ally, or fight at range, shooting at the enemy your ally ...


20

The Balance Implications would probably be minimal In my experience as a DM for several different settings, the range of creatures that typically have resistance or immunity to Fire Damage is not meaningfully more or less powerful than the (comparably few) creatures that typically have resistance or immunity to Psychic damage, nor are they especially more ...


19

Convoliution's answer nails the big picture. I recommend reading it first. I'll get into the specifics of "Okay, but what do I actually say to get the barbarian to stop asking questions?" It sounds like what the barbarian is asking is "How are you useful to us?" There are multiple ways for a rogue to answer this. I've played a few different kinds of rogues ...


19

You can hold a longsword and a dagger and choose which one you want to use* *However, you can not attack with both your longsword and dagger in the same turn as an action/bonus action. But you can use them each as part of an Attack action with the Extra Attack feature. The rules around Two-Weapon Fighting require both weapons to have the light property: ...


19

One third of the levels of each In the multiclass spellcasting rules in the Player's Handbook (page 164), the Arcane Trickster and Eldritch Knight are mentioned as counting one third of their levels in Rogue and Fighter, rounded down. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and ...


18

Yes, you can write it You have learned thieves’ cant, a secret mix of dialect, jargon, and code that allows you to hide messages in seemingly normal conversation. It takes four times longer to convey such a message than it does to speak the same idea plainly. In addition, you understand a set of secret signs and symbols used to convey short, simple ...


17

Yes: those proficiency choices are supported by RAW From the Basic Rules, and the same section in the PHB: Proficiencies If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (Basic Rules, p. 38) Thus you can pick the other background ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible