New answers tagged

2

In a nutshell... The enemy gets to make their attack(s) before the Scout can use Skirmisher and move away. In D&D 5e there are generally 5 steps when it comes to combat and are the following: 1) Determine Surprise 2) Establish positions 3) Roll Initiative 4) Take turns 5) Repeat step 4 until the fighting stops. We will be focusing on ...


1

The enemy must actually fully end its turn there The Scout Rogue's Skirmisher feature states: You can move up to half your speed as a reaction when an enemy ends its turn within 5 feet of you. This movement doesn't provoke opportunity attacks. The section on "The Order of Combat" states: 4. Take turns. Each participant in the battle takes a turn in ...


0

There are some basic rules for PCs learning new proficiencies and languages on page 134 of Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, you might look at this when determining HOW to teach these NPCs, perhaps increasing the time required to learn since sneak attack is a useful combat skill, rather than a proficiency. Additionally, if you need to determine wether a PC ...


15

The Unearthed Arcana Sidekicks rules allow an NPC to become like a Rogue As Theik points out in their answer, the rules don't really offer any way to do this in the published books which treat NPC/monster stat blocks as immutable after they are created because they aren't really designed to be relevant for long. However, in UA Sidekicks it provides a ...


10

No, there are no official rules for this You are entirely in homebrew territory now. There are rules in the DM manual for making monsters and calculating their CR, but that's as far as the rules go. You're trying to allow players to turn monsters (NPCs) into other monsters (upgraded NPCs), which is not something the rules support. If you want a Bandit with ...


22

Yes, Fancy Footwork applies in these instances Your reading is correct. To trigger Fancy Footwork all you need to do is: make a melee attack against a creature The cantrips Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade use identical wording when they say: you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature So both Booming Blade and Green-Flame ...


3

Thieves' Cant is not mechanically equivalent to anything that can be swapped out, however... True polymorph or Shapechange The following monsters have Thieves' Cant listed for them: Assassin (MM) Deep Scion (Volo's) Master Thief (Volo's) If you True polymorph or Shapechange into these creatures, you should be able to use Thieves' Cant. Ring of Mind ...


28

It's a "secret language" The rules divide languages into three groups: Standard, Exotic, and Secret. In the section on Languages about what you can pick as a language, the rules say: Choose your languages from the Standard Languages table, or choose one that is common in your campaign. With your DM’s permission, you can instead choose a language from the ...


31

A few, but they all explicitly require DM's permission As it is a method of communication, can it be taken as a language? Not as a part of standart character generation. You will require an explicit DM's permission: With your DM's permission, you can instead choose a language from the Exotic Languages table or a secret language, such as thieves’ cant ...


6

An incorporeal creature would be immune to the Sneak Attack dice. The Incorporeal Subtype includes immunity to Precision damage except, specifically, when delivered with a Ghost Touch weapon; Sneak Attack is precision damage regardless of the type of damage it's amplifying. You may be able to get around this with a ghost touch amulet of mighty fists; ask ...


-1

Jeremy Crawford unofficially addressed this question on Twitter: When it's invisible, does an Arcane Trickster's Mage Hand Ledgermain make small objects it's holding also invisible? No.


1

The text in Cunning Action as written applies to both the turns a 17th level Rogue with Thief's Reflexes gets during the first round. If it said "once per round" rather than "on each of your turns", it would be unavailable on a Thief's second turn.


32

Any carried object will be visible Starting at 3rd level, when you cast Mage Hand, you can make the spectral hand invisible "You can make the spectral hand invisible" does not mean "you can cast the Invisibility spell on it". It does what it says — you make the hand invisible, and only the hand, not the item it is carrying. However, D&D 5th edition ...


11

Yes, rogues can evade AoE spells and other such effects The term "attack" here isn't actually being used in any kind of special sense, and the ability should probably have been written to refer to "effects" instead of "attacks". Nonetheless, the intention is that if the rogue would be subject to any damaging effect which allows targets to make a reflex save ...


Top 50 recent answers are included