New answers tagged

6

The second interpretation is the correct one You can sneak attack if ((you have advantage) or (an enemy of the target is within 5ft, etc)) and the attack is made using a finesse or ranged weapon. But why? D&D 5e rules work on the principle of Specific Beats General: If a specific rules contradicts a general rule, the specific rules wins (PHB > How ...


8

Sneak attack always requires an appropriate weapon. Your rephrasings to use OR and AND are not valid rephrasings of the rule. You can use that sort of rewording to make the rules easier to remember or jot them down as notes, but the rules do not include a bunch of ORs; you're making that up yourself and introducing ambiguity that wasn't originally there. ...


9

The Sneak Attack rules, as you quoted them, say: Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe’s distraction. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon. You don’t need advantage on the attack roll ...


14

The right interpretation is your second one. By RAW, a Sneak Attack can be done if a condition is met and the attacker wields a finesse or a ranged weapon. There are two conditions that can be met: the attacker has advantage on the attack roll there is an ally within 5 feet of the target, it is not incapacitated and the attacker does not have a disadvantage ...


0

I would rule no. The give and take of Thief and Assassin is that Assassins get the very powerful Assassinate at 3rd level, but their 9th level ability is inferior. It's a trade-off, and I think it works best that way. Synergy is not a valid reason to change the rules, and in fact I say that it's a good reason not to, because it eliminates the drawback of not ...


3

The Sword of Zariel is a possible candidate. It is unclear if the wording of Use Magic Device changes how destroying the Sword of Zariel works, so it will be up to the DM, but it is still worth mentioning in response to this question. From Baldur's Gate: Descent into Avernus, concerning the destruction of the Sword of Zariel: Again, it is unclear of Use ...


4

You would have only 3 first level spell slots. Your interpretation of playing an Arcane Trickster 3/Wizard 1 multiclass is correct; you are effectively a 2nd level spellcaster with 3 first level spell slots, as per the rules on multiclassing (PHB p.164). You would know 3 first level spells from the wizard spell list because of your Arcane Trickster levels, 2 ...


0

The wording of Cunning Action is You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action. The interpretation you are suggesting would be more consistent with the following wording The Dash, Disengage and Hide actions are a bonus action for you, instead of an action.


35

Dash is normally an action. The Cunning Action rogue class feature says (in part): You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action. Cunning Action specifically lets you use a bonus action to Dash. In general, a bonus action couldn't be used this way, but Cunning Action ...


17

You can Dash twice on your turn with Cunning Action You say: It is specified in Cunning Action that the Dash can only be used with a bonus action. It doesn't say that. What it does say is that the Cunning Action allows you to take a bonus action on your turn. That bonus action can only be to Dash, Hide or Disengage. therefore you can use an Action to Dash ...


17

Anyone can Dash as an action. This is the general rule. Rogues can also use Cunning Action to Dash as a bonus action. Nothing says they lose the ability to Dash as a normal action. You said: It is specified in Cunning Action that the Dash can only be used with a bonus action. No. It is specified that the Cunning Action feature grants a bonus action, which ...


Top 50 recent answers are included