Skip to main content
80 votes

Why do Crawford's tweets seem to be treated on par with the actual rules?

According to Wizards of the Coast at the time, the tweets were "official"2 I think it is important to note that the twitter account is "official." It can be argued whether or not a tweet is an ...
Ἄρτεμις's user avatar
64 votes
Accepted

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

No, official rulings now come only from the published Sage Advice Compendium Previously, the Sage Advice Compendium has said this concerning the sources of official rulings: Official rulings on how ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 95.1k
58 votes
Accepted

Why do Crawford's tweets seem to be treated on par with the actual rules?

Some people (incorrectly) conflate Jeremy Crawford's rulings with the rules because he is empowered to make official rulings Who is Jeremy Crawford? Jeremy Crawford is, according to his Twitter bio: ...
Rubiksmoose's user avatar
  • 95.1k
40 votes
Accepted

Is the Sage Advice Compendium considered a 1st-party resource?

As the "Official Rulings" section at the start of the Sage Advice Compendium states: Official rulings on how to interpret rules are made here in the Sage Advice Compendium. The public ...
V2Blast's user avatar
  • 50.1k
23 votes
Accepted

What does the Sage Advice Compendium mean in this example about casting multiple spells in a turn using Action Surge?

Action Surge allows you to cast more than 1 Action Spell in a turn. However, it only works if you are casting two Action cost spells. In order to cast a Bonus Action spell, the general spellcasting ...
NotArch's user avatar
  • 126k
17 votes

Is the update history of the Sage Advice Compendium listed anywhere?

Link to part 2 I don’t especially care about the SAC's formatting, title, or the opening blurbs on rules, errata, and rulings; as such, this list does not point out the many changes to those sections. ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.6k
15 votes
Accepted

Is the update history of the Sage Advice Compendium listed anywhere?

The Sage Advice articles page at dnd.wizards.com catalogues past iterations of the Sage Advice Compendium. Past Sage Advice articles, which contained download links to the SAC can be found here: ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
14 votes
Accepted

Is there any way for the Draconic Bloodline Sorcerer’s Elemental Affinity to improve Eldritch Blast, or is the Sage Advice Compendium just wrong?

This sounds like a mix of example of multi-hit spells and some potential future proofing because subclasses like the Loremaster Wizard from UA may eventually exist officially which allow you to change ...
Axoren's user avatar
  • 11.5k
14 votes

Is the update history of the Sage Advice Compendium listed anywhere?

Link to part 1 I don’t especially care about the SAC's formatting, title, or the opening blurbs on rules, errata, and rulings; as such, this list does not point out the many changes to those sections. ...
Exempt-Medic's user avatar
  • 76.6k
9 votes

Do creatures attempt a saving throw immediately when a Whirlwind is moved onto them on a turn subsequent to the initial casting?

Whirlwind has effects beyond those covered by SAC The Sage Advice Compendium is attempting to explain a certain kind of spell - the kind that affects a creature when that creature enters an area of ...
Kirt's user avatar
  • 54.4k
7 votes

With the 2019 Sage Advice Compendium release, are Jeremy Crawford's tweets considered to be "official rulings"?

They should not be, based on Crawford's own words In January of 2016, Jeremy Crawford pointed out that sometimes when he makes a response via a tweet, he doesn't get it quite right. {Bolding mine, ...
KorvinStarmast's user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

Do the Sage Advice columns count as official rulings?

Unambiguously no Official rulings on how to interpret rules are made here in the Sage Advice Compendium. There is no confusion here: it's official if it's in the Sage Advice Compendium. If it's ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 213k
6 votes

What does the Sage Advice Compendium mean in this example about casting multiple spells in a turn using Action Surge?

If you don't cast a spell as a bonus action, you are not limited in what spells you can cast (including using Action Surge). The segment you quoted deals with the number of spells a character can ...
GreySage's user avatar
  • 21.7k
4 votes

Do creatures attempt a saving throw immediately when a Whirlwind is moved onto them on a turn subsequent to the initial casting?

You attempt the save immediately The key part in the spell description is this: A creature must make a Dexterity saving throw the first time on a turn that it enters the whirlwind or that the ...
AnnaAG's user avatar
  • 11.3k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible