New answers tagged

1

Changelings are considered "shapechangers", so they're unaffected by polymorph The description of the polymorph spell says (emphasis mine): The spell has no effect on a shapechanger or a creature with 0 hit points. As you note, the changeling race has a trait that allows them to change their appearance, but it has gone through a few iterations before ...


17

No Change Shape: ... In a new form, the deva retains its game Statistics and ability to speak, but its [things that are not hp] are replaced by those of the new form, ... Hit points are retained.


9

Yes, it doesn't work on them, but not because of that ability. Polymorph doesn't work on Shapechangers, and that doesn't refer to any creature with a shape changing ability, but to creatures with the Shapechanger subtype specifically - for instance, it will work on elf druids, because they're Humanoid (elf) rather than Humanoid (elf, shapechanger), even ...


5

The spell has “no effect” on them The Changeling is a Shapechanger and Polymorph has no effect on Shapechangers. No effect means no effect. It doesn’t affect them at all willing or unwilling and doesn’t trigger a save.


5

Such a PC cannot shapeshift at will Some individuals see little point in fighting the curse and accept what they are. With time and experience, they learn to master their shapechanging ability and can assume beast form or hybrid form at will. To shapeshift at will requires mastery, which in turn requires time and experience. By resisting the curse, a ...


3

With a literal interpretation you cannot change to a new shapechange form while shapechanged. You stay in the new form until you use an action to revert to your true form or until you die. Things do what they say they do and nothing more so since it does not say that you have the ability to go from one form to another unless it is from a shapechanged ...


4

You can change directly from one form to another You stay in the new form until you use an action to revert to your true form or until you die. "Stay" means "to remain in the same state". This means there is no duration, and unless you revert or die you will remain in the new form. You can still shapechange to another form as an action.


2

In the Official Published Version, Yes As per the "Shapechanger" racial trait description on page 18 of Eberron: Rising from the Last War: You can make yourself appear as a member of another race, though none of your game statistics change. You can't duplicate the appearance of a creature you've never seen, and you must adopt the same basic arrangement ...


9

You would not gain the Spellcasting trait The Ancient Gold Dragon's Change Shape ability has an additional clause (emphasis mine): Its statistics and capabilities are otherwise replaced by those of the new form, except any class features or legendary actions of that form. This means that you would not gain the Spellcasting trait since the "Introduction" ...


5

You will lose concentration when casting the second True Polymorph The rules for Concentration state: You lose concentration on a spell if you cast another spell that requires concentration. As soon as you begin casting the second spell, the first breaks and its effects, including your new form, end. You turn back into a lvl 17+ Wizard. You can however ...


Top 50 recent answers are included