54

Yes! The verbiage 1/turn definitely allows for the use of Sneak Attack out of turn for the rogue if they somehow get a reaction attack (either granted by an ally or by an opportunity attack). Note that this basically limits them to 2x per round since you only get one reaction. But yes absolutely. Note that all of the normal restrictions on SA apply, they ...


47

The Finesse property allows you to choose between using strength or dexterity when making an attack. As such, so long as you're making a melee weapon attack and choose to use strength for the attack roll than yes, Sneak Attack can be used in conjunction with Reckless Attack.


47

You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll (emphasis mine) This is an understandable misreading. "that enemy" refers to an enemy of the creature being targeted with the attack. In other words, to trigger sneak attack, ...


42

Removing balanced player options is unfair (and unfun). The reason that sneak attack requires finesse (or ranged) weapons is less to do with the Ability (Strength or Dexterity) and more to do with the qualities of a weapon; primarily wieldability (made up word). Waiting for and/or finding an opening or weak spot is much easier to do with a shortbow or a ...


40

Strictly by Rules as Written and Intended, no. By RAW no what you ruled doesn't work. Let's look at the important passages from the skills involved. Martial Arts: You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of your unarmed strikes and monk weapons. Sneak Attack: The Attack must use a Finesse or a ranged weapon. Note ...


40

Yes, rogues can sneak attack at range pretty effectively. You're reading the rules right, and all a ranged rogue needs for sneak attack is an ally's adjacency. (Actually, an enemy-of-my-enemy's adjacency, not necessarily an ally.) Shooting in to melee... may, at your GMs discretion, call cover into question. Review PHB p. 196: intervening combatants might ...


39

Magic Missile cannot be 'targeted' The Rogue's sneak attack... If a rogue can catch an opponent when he is unable to defend himself effectively from her attack, she can strike a vital spot for extra damage. ...must be aimed at a 'vital' part of the creature. Magic Missile... The missile strikes unerringly, even if the target is in melee combat, so ...


38

While it doesn't seem to be explicitly spelled out anywhere, the Sneak Attack entry says: Beginning at 1st level, you know how to strike subtly and exploit a foe’s distraction. Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack if you have advantage on the attack roll. The attack must use a finesse or a ranged ...


38

Sneak Attack does not work with melee weapons that have the thrown property, but lack the finesse property The Rogue's Sneak Attack feature states: The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon. A melee weapon cannot simultaneously be a ranged weapon, because as the Weapons section (PHB, p146) states: Every weapon is classified as either melee or ...


37

Inspiration grants Advantage, and Advantage enables Sneak Attack. There are no requirements or specifications in Sneak Attack for how the advantage is gained, so yes... by RAW, Inspiration enables Sneak Attack. You're the DM, so you're the ultimate arbiter on what is "allowed". You control the distribution of Inspiration, so it's all in your hands anyway. ...


36

No, this doesn't work in melee. At least not the important second half. Yes, they can duck behind the corner and hide. All they need to do to be allowed to hide is break line of sight. No, they can't just pop back out and sneak attack. To sneak attack, they need advantage, and to get that from being unseen they have to still be unseen when they attack (PHB,...


33

I've read the rules quite extensively and will try to compile an answer to my own question. No, they can't be used for those skills. Siege Equipment are objects, not weapons. They are classified as Large Objects, not weapons. Despite being occasionally referred to as "weapons", they don't fall under the category of Weapons, in the sense they can be ...


32

By RAW, the rogue can sneak attack as long as the target has an enemy within 5 ft of it From the Rogue's Sneak attack: You don’t need advantage on the attack roll if another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll. and from the Basic Rules(Emphasis Mine) If ...


30

Please note that you seem to be referencing the Swashbuckler Rogue Archetype from Unearthed Arcana. (Direct link to PDF) The Unearthed Arcana rules are specifically pre-release rules meant to gather community feedback. If there's an argument about these, it is definitely up to the DM to decide on them. That stated, they have now officially printed the ...


30

The "incapacitated" doesn't refer to the target. It refers to the other combatant who helps you to gain an advantage-free sneak attack. Here is an illustrated example. A Fighter (F) and a Rogue (R) fight a Goblin (G). The situation looks like this: .... .GF. .R.. .... Rogue can use sneak attack without advantage here, because another enemy of Goblin (the ...


29

You can sneak attack whenever you are eligible to. d20SRD's opinion on the topic: The rogue’s attack deals extra damage any time her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target. There are some additional restrictions (immunity to critical hits or ...


27

Yes, this is possible Sneak attack's requirements state that: The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon. While the Martial Arts monk features changes the dice of the weapon or unarmed strike used: You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. Furthermore, note that the Martial Arts feature does not ...


27

You cannot defer the decision. You must decide whether or not to apply Sneak Attack immediately after making a successful Attack Roll. Official Ruling Jeremy Crawford, voice of Sage Advice and the official voice of rulings by Wizards of the Coast has this to say: You decide whether to use Sneak Attack when a qualifying attack hits. source On further ...


26

In short: No, they do not. And an explanation of why: I think you are reading Shadow Strike incorrectly. I'll go through each of the effects that are interacting here, and how they build together. Shadow Strike (Combat) You can deal precision damage, such as sneak attack damage, against targets with concealment... (emphasis my own) This means that you ...


26

You are correct. You deal 8d6 + ability mod damage if both attacks hit Let's go through how we get there: On a crit, you double all of the dice you would have rolled, including sneak attack, then add the relevant modifier This is clearly defined in the basic rules (page 75), and in the PHB under the section for critical hits (emphasis mine): For ...


25

Your friend is wrong The Swashbuckler feature "Rakish Audacity" says: You also gain an additional way to use your Sneak Attack; you don’t need advantage on the attack roll to use your Sneak Attack against a creature if you are within 5 feet of it, no other creatures are within 5 feet of you, and you don’t have disadvantage on the attack roll. All the ...


25

It is up to the DM to determine under which circumstances a character may hide. It is up to you as the DM to determine if the circumstances are such that the rogue can hide or sneak attack at all. My inclination as DM is to allow the rogue to attempt to hide and add advantage/disadvantage as I have outlined below because even if the enemy thinks he knows ...


25

No, it would not The Weapon's damage dice is different from the total damage dice. Savage Attacker works with allowing reroll on the weapon's damage dice. Sneak attack and it's associated dice are a different mechanic and represent extra damage on top of the Weapon dice: it is not part of the weapon dice. This makes sense from a rules perspective, but ...


24

So as long as you qualify for Sneak Attack, it applies. In your example, the melee attack would trigger Sneak Attack. You can even get sneak attack on an opportunity attack later in the round because it's only limited to once per turn. Sneak attack is not an attack action, it's a triggered event based on its prerequisites. The official Sage Advice ...


24

To answer your question directly: No, making this change would not be game breaking. This would impact the damage done by certain character builds - that is true. It very well may make certain character build less fun (like a strength based rogue). Game breaking is a strong phrase. I don't believe that making this change (or not) would have that big of ...


24

Resistance/Immunity would apply (because the rule used in the question is defunct) It's debatable whether or not sneak attack's damage is from the weapon: but one thing I can be sure of is that sneak attack damage is from the attack. This can be seen in the PHB (p. 196, bold added), where it states: When you score a critical hit, you get to roll extra ...


23

Deathstrike Bracers Also in the Magic Item Compendium, on page 93, you will find the deathstrike bracers, which have the effect that: When activated, deathstrike bracers allow you to use melee weapons to deal extra damage from critical hits and sneak attacks to constructs, elementals, oozes, plants, and undead as if they were not immune to such extra ...


23

Technically, five. Our Thief Rogue 17 (Ace) has three Battlemaster friends (Bart, Carol, and Dave). They roll initiative. Bart is first followed by Ace, then Carol, then Ace again, then Dave. Bart uses Commander's Strike to allow Ace to sneak attack (1) with his Reaction. Ace starts his turn, so his Reaction is ready again. Ace sneak attacks with an Attack ...


21

Your Rogue can Sneak Attack on an Opportunity Attack. Sneak Attack. ...Once per turn, you can deal an extra 1d6 damage to one creature you hit with an attack... [some restrictions may apply]. (PHB p.96, "Sneak Attack") There are two important phrases in that description I've highlighted. Once per turn. The writers could have said "on your turn." They ...


21

No, this isn't possible. To attack with Two Weapon Fighting, you need to take the Attack action, not the Ready action. When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. The fact that you'...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible