84

You don't If you don't use immune foes when you were planning on doing so then you are invalidating this players choice, and taking away the agency they showed during character creation. You will also impact other players who might wonder why you aren't skirting around their weaknesses - or worse, why they bothered to create rounded characters instead of ...


77

Yes, there is a table. This is the rule causing all the headache: Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the sorcerer spells you know and replace it with another spell from the sorcerer spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots. In the first table, we simply tabulate all the opportunities ...


70

Yeah, you would end up with a spell you can't cast. Fortunately, at level 17, you are not stuck with it forever, because: Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the sorcerer spells you know and replace it with another spell from the sorcerer spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots. So at ...


67

Multiple Roles You indicated that the player has an interest in picking utility spells when a suitable lightning based spell is not available. I recommend steering the players towards spells whose utility can make a big difference in a fight - there are many useful spells in this category. Also, steer them towards metamagics that can increase their ...


60

Frozen This is a great combination! The rules for casting two spells with a bonus action and action simply state (PHB, 202): A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, ...


53

Do they stack? RAW, no. Occasionally, your proficiency bonus might be multiplied or divided (doubled or halved, for example) before you apply it. For example, the rogue's Expertise feature doubles the proficiency bonus for certain ability checks. If a circumstance suggests that your proficiency bonus applies more than once to the same same roll, you ...


45

It comes down to DM ruling Even the designers leave the timing of reactions up to the DM (Sage Advice). So that leaves both events as instantaneous. (Reactions are said to be that on PHB 170, for disintegrate it is inferred from the spell text.) Why not both? Turning to ashes and then rising in flames is pretty much a phoenix's thing. Also, another ...


43

Put him in armor he's not proficient in. In 5e you cannot cast spells while wearing armor you're not proficient in. So unless the sorcerer has dipped Fighter and is therefore proficient in all armor (one of the quirks of 5e), wearing armor he's not proficient in renders him unable to cast spells. Plus, the armor makes it more difficult for him to escape ...


42

Sorcerers don't prepare spells The premise of the question isn't correct. A Sorcerer does not prepare spells after a long rest. Starting from the 1st level, a Sorcerer knows two spells. You choose them in the process of the character creation. See the Spellcasting paragraph of the Sorcerer class, PH page 101: You know two 1st-level spells of your choice ...


41

No, you can only learn spells of a level that you have spell slots for. From the Sorcerer's Spells Known feature: The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more sorcerer spells of your choice. Each of these spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots. ...


40

Yes. The sorcerer's Flexible Casting class feature allows the sorcerer to expend 6 points to create a level 4 spell slot and the sorcerer can use that slot to cast a lower-level spell that he knows. There is no restriction on creating or using spell slots of a higher level -- the only restriction is that you don't get those slots back on a long rest. On ...


40

The big issue with this seems to rely on being able to stockpile spell slots through short rests during downtime. Unfortunately, in the Resting rules (page 67 of the basic rules), it states: Adventurers can take short rests in the midst of an adventuring day and a long rest to end the day. This leads me to believe that RAW, characters cannot take short ...


39

Your spell slots recover based on the class feature that allows your spellcasting. The language in the multiclassing section only mentions how you cast spells, not how you recover them. Note that recovery isn't mentioned at all in that paragraph. The spell slots are interchangeable when you're casting, but they recover based on their own mechanics. ...


39

No, metamagic only takes effect when you cast the spell All the sorcerer's metamagic abilities have wording like: When you cast a spell that... If you failed to cast the spell, you don't get to invoke the metamagic ability in the first place, so spending sorcery points is contingent on successfully casting the spell in the first place. Scrolls ...


37

Mike Mearls stated on Twitter: for sorcerer, we avoid more complex spells. Sorcerer magic is simpler, more direct See: http://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/08/22/sorcerer-vs-wizard-spell-list/ The spells you mentioned are more "utility" spells - they have an effect that is not immediate or that can be used in ways that might not seem apparent. Sorcerers have ...


36

Knowing, Preparing, and Casting are not the same thing... While the spell slots progression is same1 for each type of Spellcaster2 (full, half, third), what spells they know and prepare vary by class. Druids, Clerics, and Paladins know every spell on their class list, and prepare a subset of them each day. Some paths have a number of spells (potentially ...


35

Yes, because False Life does not require concentration. The false life spell has a duration of 1 hour, and doesn't require concentration. Because it requires no concentration, if you cast it before raging and your rage occurs within its one-hour duration, the spell will still be in effect.


34

You're on homebrew territory Multiclassing a character to maximum level in multiple classes is not possible under the base rules. The maximum character level is 20, so the total levels you have in Sorcerer and Bard can't sum up to over 20 either. In accordance with that, the multiclass spellcaster table (5e PHB, page 165) only goes to level 20 as well, so ...


33

The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. This says nothing about metamagic, so that aspect of the spell casting should be "treated as if you cast the spell." In effect, the ring doesn't store anything other than the spell's name, slot,...


33

No, it does not affect ability scores - 5e removed the influence of a characters age to their ability points There are no rules for adjusting ability scores based on the age of the adventurer. Your young Tiefling would have the same scores and proficiencies as he always had. In 5e age is just a fluff stat with no mechanical influence. While there are some ...


33

You should read the section Variant: Spell Points, starting on page 288 of the DMG. The easiest would be to just use the variant, as the half of all spell points is well defined. As the character is already a sorcerer (with Flexible Casting from level 2), changing completely to the variant will only simplify things. If for some reason you wish to use spell ...


32

Quickened Spell only affects the initial casting of the spell; it has no effect on actions granted by the spell The Quickened Spell Metamagic, as you quoted, does exactly what it says: it changes the casting time of the spell from an Action to a Bonus Action. It does not do anything else. The effect of Witch Bolt, which includes the ability to continue to ...


31

Not necessarily a violation, but a concern, which I noticed thanks to Weaveworker89’s comment, that may affect this character’s ability to maintain this approach: Adventurers can take [...] a long rest to end the day. Long rests are what end an adventuring day. Without them, an adventuring day never ends, and thus a new day (including, e.g., a downtime ...


31

You cannot keep them as sorcery points, because: You can never have more sorcery points than shown on the table for your level. (PHB 101) But you can make spell slots out of them, as The created spell slots vanish at the end of a long rest. (PHB errata v1.0) So yes, you can "stack up".


31

Wild Magic, as written, increases DM overhead I've played a few sessions where a player was playing a wild magic sorcerer. After reminding the DM about the wild magic ability, the DM said that he was aware of it. Do you want to guess how many times we rolled for wild magic? It was zero. Basically, there are so many moving parts to being a DM that it's ...


31

No Converting a Spell Slot to Sorcery Points. As a Bonus Action on your turn, you can expend one spell slot and gain a number of sorcery points equal to the slot's level. Casting the spell from the ring of spell storing or simply converting that spell is not expending one spell slot, it's casting a spell (or using the ring). More specifically, the Ring ...


31

Scrap It Completely This ability is ridiculously complex - it involves four die rolls of five dice, multiplication, and division... and all of this before the DM even rolls any saving throws. This is going to be a nightmare to adjudicate at the table, and no DM I've ever encountered will have decided on enough positioning detail at the kinds of range you'd ...


30

It'll work, just not the way you described. Why your plan won't work In your plan, you are trying to cast two bonus action spells. One is a standard cast of a Bonus Action (Healing Word) and the other is a spell converted from Action to Bonus Action via Quicken (Eldritch Blast.) Unfortunately, you only get one bonus action per turn. You can take only ...


30

Yes. From scrolls: If the spell is on your class’s spell list, you can read the scroll and cast its spell without providing any material Components. Casting the spell by reading the scroll requires the spell’s normal Casting Time. If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check ...


30

Yes it does, because cantrips are spells Specifically, cantrips are 0th level spells. From the PHB: Every spell has a level from 0 to 9. A spell's level is a general indicator of how powerful it is, with the lowly (but still impressive) magic missile at 1st level and the earth-shaking wish at 9th. Cantrips - simple but powerful spells that ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible