New answers tagged

9

Ignoring arcane armor failure Spells [...] might fail if you’re wearing armor while casting a spell with somatic components. (Emphasis mine.) The first and foremost reason to remove somatic components from spellcasting, which videogames got right, is that arcane spell failure is caused by your armor limiting your movements and getting in the way of ...


11

Case #1: You are already holding two swords. The rules for Two Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ability modifier to the damage of the ...


12

Wasted indicates a loss of resources. Searching Merriam Webster for the applicable definition of “waste”, I found these two that seem most relevant: a : to spend or use carelessly : SQUANDER waste valuable resources b : to allow to be used inefficiently or become dissipated If the spell slot was not lost, it wouldn’t make sense to say the spell was “...


1

No, it does not add material components to the spells it grants, but it must be held in the hand for the character to have access to these spells. There are no hidden rules. The star chart gives you the following benefits: you can use it as an arcane focus while holding it you can cast additional spells Notably it does not say it is a material component. D&...


0

It must be held in hand, but it is unclear if it counts as a material component. The feature description is clear that you must be holding the star chart: While holding this map: But, this does not necessarily make it a material component. The Artificer's spellcasting feature explicitly tells us that all Artificer spells have a material component: You ...


Top 50 recent answers are included