The book is correct. For the reason why level 6-9 spells exist for the warlock when their Pact Magic slots cap at 5, check the Mystic Arcanum class feature on PHB p.108.
At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum.
You can cast your ...
There are some other benefits that aren't as obvious.
First of all, you gain access to many spells that are either not known/prepared or appear on other class spell lists.
Possibly more potent, however, is the removal of expensive material components and long casting times. Some spell like resurrection, simulacrum, or temple of the gods have much more ...
The spell is a 4th level spell. (PHB, p.201)
Casting a Spell at a Higher Level
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a
higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher
level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic
missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic
missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell ...
Spell slots represent the caster's mental limits
D&D 5th edition's Player's Handbook, p. 201, under Spell Slots, describes them thusly:
Regardless of how many spells a caster knows or prepares, he or she can cast only a limited number of spells before resting. Manipulating the fabric of magic and channeling its energy into even a simple spell is ...
There is a big difference between 'Spells Prepared for the Day' and 'Spell Slots.'
The spells you prepare is the library of options you have to pick
from when you go to cast a spell.
A Spell Slot is the 'fuel' that makes a spell work.
So, when you want to cast a spell, you pick any spell you want from your prepared 'library', pair it up with an ...
Only if one of your classes matches the feat
For example, if you are a Cleric then you can use a spell slot to cast the 1st level spell learnt from the Magic Initiate (Cleric) feat.
If you are not a Cleric then you can't.
From the Sage Advice Compendium:
If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate ...
As you noted, according to the PHB:
Regardless of how many spells a caster knows or prepares, he or she can cast only a limited number of spells before resting. Manipulating the fabric of magic and channeling its energy into even a simple spell is physically and mentally taxing....
So therefore, spell slots are an abstraction of arcane potential: how ...
While not a RAW answer, I would consider how the pearl of power works and has been errata'd over time in this scenario.
The original text of the item read:
You can use an action to speak this pearl's command word and regain one expended spell slot of up to 3rd level.
Over time, Crawford suggested that warlocks should be allowed to regain slots with a pearl ...
From 3.5 SRD: The Basics – Abilities and Spellcasters:
Abilities And Spellcasters
The ability that governs bonus spells depends on what type of spellcaster your character is: Intelligence for wizards; Wisdom for clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers; or Charisma for sorcerers and bards. In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be ...
Your spell slots recover based on the class feature that allows your spellcasting.
The language in the multiclassing section only mentions how you cast spells, not how you recover them. Note that recovery isn't mentioned at all in that paragraph. The spell slots are interchangeable when you're casting, but they recover based on their own mechanics. Unlike ...
The spell effect would be unchanged.
In DnD 5e spells only do what they say that they do or to put it another way - 'there are no secret rules'.
Any spell can be cast using a higher level spell slot than necessary - so you could cast Find Familiar using a ninth level slot. But the Find Familiar spell doesn't tell you that there would be any additional ...
The sorcerer's Flexible Casting class feature allows the sorcerer to expend 6 points to create a level 4 spell slot and the sorcerer can use that slot to cast a lower-level spell that he knows.
There is no restriction on creating or using spell slots of a higher level -- the only restriction is that you don't get those slots back on a long rest. On ...
Yes, you can cast any spell of 1st level or higher using a higher-level spell slot.
The Spellcasting feature for every class that has it, such as the cleric or the wizard, includes the following sentence:
To cast [one of your class’s spells of 1st level or higher], you must expend a slot of the spell’s level or higher.
This is expanded upon in the ...
No, you cannot. Slots can only be used on Level 1+ spells.
like most spells can a known cantrip be cast at a higher spell slot lvl. Aka sacred flame lvl 1 for 2d8 radiant dmg
No, since cantrips don't use spell slots.
— Jeremy Crawford, Lead Rules Designer D&D
PHB Support: "The ...
Yes, warlock spell slots return on a short rest
In fact, warlock spell slots return on a short or long rest, not just short rests, as detailed on PHB page 107 under the Spell Slots section of the Warlock's Pact Magic feature:
[...] You regain all expended slots when you finish a short or long
This is a matter of perspective.
This is mostly my play experience, I love playing casters and have played each of these styles. In the end, pick a style that feels good and stick with it. Knowing what your allies are planning is sometimes just as useful. ("Uh oh, there are 4 enemies within 20 feet. Nuc Lear the Sorcerer is probably gonna just fireball ...
Multiclassing has its own set of rules that define what spell slots you have, and this overrides the spell slots mentioned in the wizard class section.
The errata you mention was added (I assume) to avoid you using those slots for spells gained from some other place such as a feat or racial feature.
No. Wish uses a 9th level slot for any casting, and one of its canonical uses is to duplicate any spell (of 8th level or lower). Consider the case of a 19th level Wizard who, for one reason or another, has expended all of their 7th and 8th level slots, and further, doesn't actually have Mordenkainen's magnificent mansion prepared -- but wants to cast it in ...
The answer lies in the text you've quoted:
If the target drops to 0 hit points before this spell ends, you can use a bonus action on a subsequent turn of yours to curse a new creature.
So when you move the Hex, the spell hasn't ended. It's still an ongoing spell, meaning that you don't need to recast it and the duration doesn't change - all you're doing ...
The domain spells do not count against your number of prepared spells per day; they are extra, and always prepared (PHB, p. 58):
Once you gain a domain spell, you always have it prepared, and it doesn't count against the number of spells you can prepare each day.
You still cast them as normal, spending a spell slot. Divine Domain only gives you more ...
The Action provided by Witch Bolt is not "Recasting" the spell
The first cast allows me to recast it until the target exits the spell range, moves into full cover, or I cast something else.
Emphasis mine, is where you're confused. No part of Witch Bolt involves a "recasting" of the spell.
Let's reread the description for Witch Bolt:
Yes, it does
There are no caveats in the rules for casting a spell that ends up not affecting a creature. The rules on spell slots just state that when a character casts a spell, he or she expends a slot of that spell's level or higher...
After all, you simply don't know whether a spell will affect a creature or not until you try (like trying to fireball a ...
Spell slots recover on a long rest
The rules have a parenthetical supporting this
The spellcasting rule for monsters states the following (Monster Manual, p. 10; emphasis mine):
[...] A monster with the Spellcasting class feature has a spellcaster level and spell slots, which it uses to cast its spells of 1st level and higher (as explained in the Player's ...
No, you can't cast it using a spell slot.
Spells you can cast because of your race aren't spells you know, and thus can't be spells you prepare. Per the PHB (p. 201, "Known and Prepared Spells"):
Before a spellcaster can use a spell, he or she must have the spell firmly fixed in mind ...
... and it goes on to describe some of the class-specific ...
There are several class options with access.
Although Paladins can cast it at 5th level maximum, the fact that they can't cast it at 6th level is irrelevant for this answer, since the 5th and 6th level versions of the spell have identical benefits. Since 7th, 8th, and 9th level castings all have the same effect, let's assume casting it at 7th level is the ...
Yes! A drow's darkness spell does not use spell slots (PHB, p. 24, emphasis mine):
When you reach 5th level, you can also cast the darkness spell once per long rest.
That's easy enough to overlook when learning the game, since it's just four words, and it isn't obvious how this is different from normal spellcasting until you're quite familiar with how ...
Using Twinned Spell only uses one spell slot. This is because you are not casting two spells, rather you are making a single spell hit more than one target.
"...target a second creature in range with the same spell..."
However, it's worth noting that you can't cast Fireball with Twinned Spell.
Quote from PHB page 102 (emphasis mine)
Twinned Spell: ...
Yes, Casters know about spell slots.
TL;DR: Casters have all the information necessary in-game to figure out that spell slots are a real thing, something which can they can investigate and count, and something that affects their day-to-day lives as spellcasters.
In Liz's case, "after years of apprenticeship and countless hours of study" she ...