Hot answers tagged

27

The following is a list of the ways I could find The Bard's Magical Secrets feature allows them to gain spells from any class' spell list so this would work. At 10th level, when they gain this feature, they can already cast 5th level spells so they could select any and all Paladin spells. You can also use a Ring of Spell Storing to allow anybody to cast ...


25

Yes, because zephyr strike does not require the Attack action. The Attack action is one type of action you can use in combat. There are other ways to make weapon attack rolls. For further explanation, see these related questions: What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? What counts as an attack? The cantrip green-flame blade is ...


22

Yes, Fancy Footwork applies in these instances Your reading is correct. To trigger Fancy Footwork all you need to do is: make a melee attack against a creature The cantrips Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade use identical wording when they say: you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature So both Booming Blade and Green-Flame ...


19

Haste allows one additional Unarmed Strike The reasoning is present in your own question; haste states that you can: take the Attack (one weapon attack only) And you point out that: weapon attacks require the use of an actual weapon, while unarmed strikes are classified as melee weapon attacks. Given that an unarmed strike is a melee weapon attack, ...


19

It is entirely up to your DM From a RAW standpoint, the actual spell is cast identically no matter what class casts it. There is no difference in the spell itself when it comes to the caster's class. However, you aren't really asking about the spell and casting of it. You're asking about roleplaying your character and whether or not they would be able to ...


19

This won't work, for several reasons It's debatable whether a bag of holding's interior counts as a separate plane of existence in the way a portable hole does. If the bag doesn't open into a separate plane, then this plan obviously doesn't work. However, even if it does, the plan still doesn't work. First of all, measuring distance across planes is ...


19

Wish takes less than six seconds to cast, but time isn't an issue The casting time for Wish is 1 action. A combat round lasts approximately six seconds - so it cannot take longer than that to cast Wish - and it likely takes considerably less time. However, the details of your wish are part of the meta game - not the in game casting process The text says ...


17

No You can use your action to make a melee attack... Whirlwind Attack is an action you can take. If you're taking the Whirlwind Attack action, you're not able to also take the Cast a spell action. You're also not getting any extra attacks if you have the Extra Attack feature, because you're not taking the Attack action. Based on your questions and ...


16

The "Alterations to Magic" section on page 24 of the Curse of Strahd adventure mostly describes how teleportation and planar travel are affected by the Barovia demiplane. The "Cosmetic Spell Modifications" section, which is the part your question refers to, states (emphasis mine): At your discretion, a spell can be modified cosmetically to enhance the ...


15

Temple of the Gods modifies the d20 roll, and modifiers don't cancel critical hits The steps for making an attack are described as follows (emphasis added): Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure. Choose a target. Pick a target within ...


12

No The Invisibility ability the imp can use reads like this: Invisibility. The imp magically turns invisible until it attacks or until its concentration ends (as if concentrating on a spell). Any equipment the imp wears or carries is invisible with it. Your character isn't equipment so the imp can't make them invisible as well. However, if you hid ...


12

I hazard to guess that the Rules as Intended is that it would dissipate; but the Rules, as they are currently written, don't say that if it is outside of your possession or hand it dissipates. All we have is what is in the shadow blade spell: If you drop the weapon or throw it, it dissipates at the end of the turn. Thereafter, while the spell persists, ...


11

You can retrain the spell because the Magic Initiate Feat's spell counts as a [class] spell but you would lose the ability to cast it without a spell slot This argument is for the Rules As Written. It is quite clear that this is not intended, as has been stated by lead game designer Jeremy Crawford: Magic Initiate doesn't provide a way to replace its ...


11

Yes it can. There's nothing in the rules, or either spell, which says that the material component used for one of these spells can't also be used for the other. The gem isn't consumed by either spell, and as long as the gem meets the requirements for both spells in value and size, you should be able to use it for both. However, note this wording: Light ...


11

Yes it is. Your body is in a catatonic state, but isn't dead according to the Magic Jar spell. Note the wording: The only action you can take is to project your soul up to 100 feet out of the container, either returning to your living body (and ending the spell) or attempting to possess a humanoid's body. This implies that your body is still alive after ...


10

Mind blank foils legend lore Mind blank states that: The spell even foils wish spells and spells or effects of similar power used to affect the target's mind or to gain information about the target. Legend lore states that: The spell brings to your mind a brief summary of the significant lore about the thing you named. [...] The information you learn ...


10

Rangers will love this. Slightly unbalanced. Bard, Cleric, Druid and Wizard all already posses the Ritual Casting feature from 1st level. This house rule would have no benefit for them and therefore makes them weaker in comparison. Pure martial characters also gain no benefit from this house-rule. They have no spells (other than racial) and therefore have ...


8

No, because Chaos Bolt is not a wizard spell. While I might not agree with it, you told us to assume you cast spells duplicated by wish, so I will. Empowered Evocation says you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast. Chaos Bolt is not a wizard evocation spell because it does not appear on the wizard ...


8

You know 6 spells as a first level wizard On the Beginner Box's Hero Handbook about 1st level wizard spells (page 28), it says: Pick a number of spells from this page equal to 3 + INT. These are the spells in your spellbook. Write these spell names in the Wizard’s Spellbook area of Section K on your character sheet. But the key to understand this ...


7

To some extent If you mean being able to cast all paladin spells inherently then there isn't really a way. Bards get an ability called magical secrets which lets them acquire spells from other classes. They could obtain some paladin spells this way. If you have a paladin in your party and a ring of spell storing (or equivalent) then you could have the ...


7

Probably Not I've written this answer with spoilers as the original question included them. Possible tiny (pun intended) spoilers for Out of The Abyss. Leomund's Tiny Hut states that: Spells and other magical effects can’t extend through the dome or be cast through it It would appear that A is magic, or at least magical. I would say that... ...


7

As one can learn from this Q&A, this Paizo blog post, and some SRD entries, there are many ways of beating a darkness spell.  Dispelling with light spells Because light spells have a range of “touch”, dispelling can get tricky and dangerous. You'll need to find the object on which a darkness spell was cast and touch it. If darkness comes from an at-...


6

Yes, but.... So long as neither the caster not any of the other 9 creatures is large (or larger) Tiny Hut doesn't fail: Nine creatures of Medium size or smaller can fit inside the dome with you. The spell fails if its area includes a larger creature or more than nine creatures. However, Find Steed doesn't allow you to "copy" spells. It allows you to ...


6

Yes, this still counts as "being moved" Unlike in the linked question Can a portable hole be used to get around the 10' movement restriction on Glyph of Warding?, the bag of holding's description does not say it creates a space on a different plane of existence. Nothing in its description says that when you move the container, you don't also move the ...


5

Yes, you can true polymorph a creature into a spell casting NPC The rules text is pretty clear about this. You transform the creature into a different creature ... The transformation lasts for the duration, or until the target drops to 0 hit points or dies. If you concentrate on this spell for the full duration, the transformation lasts until it ...


5

I don't think Call Lightning works with Glyph of Warding Glyph of Warding's Spell Glyph feature states that the spell you select: The spell must target a single creature or an area. Call Lightning states: When you cast the spell, choose a point you can see under the cloud. A bolt of lightning flashes down from the cloud to that point. So while the ...


3

Here is the full text from the Hero's Handbook (Note - As pointed out in the comments, the core rules have a different standard than what is in the Beginners Box set): Pick a number of spells from this page equal to 3 + INT. These are the spells in your spellbook. Write these spell names in the Wizard’s Spellbook area of Section K on your character sheet. ...


3

It does not stack, no. Spider climb specifies that you get a 20-ft. climb speed, not that you increase any existing climb speed by 20 feet. Your other source of a climb speed could conceivably stack—saying that it increases another climb speed by however much—but if both are written like spider climb, they don’t stack. There are examples of abilities that ...


3

If casting in combat, up to six seconds Wish has a Casting Time of 1 action (PHB, p. 289) During combat, an Action is something that you take as part of your turn. Your turn is roughly six seconds long (ten turns make up a 1 minute round). (PHB, Chapter 9). If casting out of combat - RAW do not limit the time it takes. You can take as long to state ...


2

The Split Ray feat from Complete Arcane (p. 83) states: You can cause any ray spell to fire one additional ray beyond the number normally allowed. So for light of lunia, you would be able to fire three rays instead of two. Note that the additional ray, also due to the rules of Split Ray, must be fired simultaneously with one of the other two normal rays. ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible