Hot answers tagged

56

'Rules as written' it's pretty tenuous, 'rules as intended' it's definitely out. Allowing this could easily break your game. Before I get into the details, consider the general principle that there are no secret rules in D&D 5e. So, always be suspicious of a reading of any feature that seems to allow additional benefits for only a small subset of users, ...


31

No, creatures aren’t food, objects are food You can not use Purify Food and Drink to remove poison and disease from a humanoid as a humanoid is a creature, not an object. By this logic, you also can't use Create Food and Water to create a halfling as a halfling is a creature, not an object. Food and drinks are objects, not creatures. We know this because ...


25

Casting a Reaction spell does not interrupt a spell with a long cast time, regardless of spell components. (As long as it isn't a Concentration Spell) The rules for spells with a long casting time are... Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer ...


23

Your ruling is correct. Your ruling is correct. Invisibility states the circumstances that end the condition. Receiving Damage does not end the condition. Invisibility (PHB 243): A creature you touch becomes invisible until the spell ends. Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target’s person. The spell ends ...


18

It is the spellcaster's spell save DC The DC to resist one of your spells equals 8 + your spellcasting ability modifier + your proficiency bonus + any special modifiers. (PHB - Saving Throws) So the person that casts the spell sets the DC (as indicated by the term "you"/"your" which the PHB uses throughout this section to refer exclusively to the caster)....


17

Use Detect Thoughts guided by an interrogation, followed by Modify Memory You've stated that that neither Detect Thoughts nor Modify Memory does what you need, but what if you used both of them together? First kidnap the target in their sleep. Then wake them up and have one person cast Detect Thoughts and focus on reading the target's thoughts while another ...


17

The way I see this, it's not about rules but about semantics. The question being: What constitutes food? What is food? For starters, and taking the definition of food from the PHB, food constitutes something a character needs to consume to survive. A character needs one pound of food per day and can make food last longer by subsisting on half Rations. ...


19

Your interpretation is correct See the rules on concentration: Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your Concentration. Emphasis mine; you roll when you take damage yourself. Doesn't matter who the recipient of the spell is, only damaging the caster can break it.


15

Yes The Distant Spell metamagic option states: When you cast a spell that has a range of 5 feet or greater, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double the range of the spell. And sword burst (SCAG, p. 143) states: You create a momentary circle of spectral blades that sweep around you. Each creature within range, other than you, must succeed on a ...


13

In this particular case, the sword is actually the victim of said curse. Based on the wording, the sword itself is the victim. Using remove curse to free the blade from the spirit would be akin to using it to remove a Berserker Axe from your own character. You need to sever the link between the source of the curse, the spirit, and the target, the Sword. ...


12

Yes, it should affect all flames within range As you point out, the spells says "flames", not "a flame", or even "flames you choose". So, by a strict reading, all flames within the area of the spell (30 ft), would all adopt whatever effect you would choose to give them. That being said, I would and have as a DM allowed players to more finely tune this ...


11

This works, but it is far from powerful You mentioned yourself that in just one round, you depleted all your Sorcery Points for the day, and you need a short rest to regain your Action Surge. Triggering Booming Blade is close to impossible, especially after the tweet from Jeremy Crawford, excluding Dissonant Whispers and the like. Comparison A 5th level ...


8

"Purify food and drink" isn't for husbandry If you're about to eat an animal, you are only concerned with disease that could poison you. However a rancher is concerned with diseases that will prevent the animal from thriving. For instance if a 100 pound calf has anemia, it's harmless to eat, but won't live to become a 500 pound cow worth butchering. ...


8

Probably not. The original 2014 printing was redone in 2015, mostly to address rounding the corners on sharp cornered v1 cards and also to add an indication of whether a spell was concentration or not (that had apparently been omitted from the info on the cards in v1). Even by then, errata were being compiled and corrected for the core books, but I find no ...


8

The typical Tiny or littler familiar provokes an attack of opportunity for entering its foe's space, not for delivering the touch spell The Player's Handbook on Touch Attacks, in part, says, "Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity" (141). If the familiar delivers the ...


8

A single casting ends the curse and breaks attunement The different terminologies used seem to be the issue here. The sword's description says: You can break the curse in the usual ways. Remove Curse talks about "ending the curse" and "breaking attunement". "Breaking the curse" as in the sword's description is the everyday english meaning of "breaking ...


8

No attacks are made with advantage. Hypnotic Pattern states: On a failed save, the creature becomes charmed for the duration. While charmed by this spell, the creature is incapacitated and has a speed of 0. The charmed condition stated: A charmed creature can't attack the charmer or target the charmer with harmful abilities or magical effects. ...


7

If the objective is simply to find a RAW-compliant way to abduct a target, read their thoughts, and have them wake up the next morning unaware, then it sounds like a combination of both of those spells would be appropriate: the target might have detect thoughts cast on them during the night to probe for details, and then modify memory could be used to render ...


7

It stops inside the field. This can be answered by the antimagic field spell itself. Creatures and Objects. A creature or object summoned or created by magic temporarily winks out of existence in the sphere. Such a creature instantly reappears once the space the creature occupied is no longer within the sphere. Once a summoned creature gets winked out, ...


8

It's up to the DM Even when casting detect thoughts on a conscious creature, the thoughts that are detected at both the initial level and at the deeper level are entirely up to the DM. The spell gives guidance on the types of thoughts, but the DM will determine what specific thoughts are ...on its mind... for the initial cast. Whether or not that's the ...


6

A creature can take something from a mage hand fairly easily The rules for mage hand state (emphasis mine): You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet ...


7

You fall The spider climb spell states: Until the spell ends, one willing creature you touch gains the ability to move up, down, and across vertical surfaces and upside down along ceilings, while leaving its hands free. The target also gains a climbing speed equal to its walking speed. Spells only do what they say and nothing in this spell description ...


6

This works, basically in its entirety, in any game that uses the occult ritual rules (which I would, as a general matter, recommend against, for this and sundry other, similar reasons). Using magic jar to take over a disposable body certainly works. Which of your own abilities you retain while using magic jar is irrelevant, as rituals are specifically ...


7

Antimagic field suppresses the effects of the spell. One of the things antimagic field does is suppress spell and magical effects: Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it. The applicable definition of suppress from OED for reference: Prevent or inhibit (a ...


6

Divinations Assuming the guards are labeling the vials of blood an individual could be tracked by a diviner to conduct an investigation for legit or less than legitimate reasons. This can lead to malicious things like Scry and Die tactics being used against you. Were a crime to occur in the city, the guards could conduct an investigation to determine the ...


5

Who knows? Arcane spells and divine spells are not strictly defined anywhere in the rules. I mean, we know some things that definitely are arcane—in the core rules, those would be the spells cast by the assassin, bard, sorcerer, or wizard classes—and things that are definitely divine—for core, the spells cast by the blackguard, cleric, druid, paladin, or ...


5

You don't need to deliberately fail. All you need to do is fail to meet the sky-high skill roll requirements. Keeping yourself in a state where you can't possibly make DC 42 checks in Knowledge (Nature), Knowledge (Geography), and Survival isn't hard, especially given the stringent limitations on skill assistance. Mind, it's not entirely free. You're ...


5

Banishment would remove the phase spider from your fight for (at least) 1 minute The 5th edition description makes no mention as to which plane is "home", but previous editions heavily imply that it's native to the ethereal plane. So it's a DM call (though, I'd argue RAW is the material plane if I was at an AL game). But it doesn't matter, because ...


6

It's up to the DM You've quoted the relevant bits here in that the scroll doesn't require any material components. That's a hard stop right there. When the component is integral to the spell, the DM will need to figure out a way to make it work. Given that the availability of scrolls is generally up to the DM (not including AL games,since I'm less ...


5

Yes, you can use your reaction to cast another spell so long as it does not require concentration When you cast a spell with a longer casting time than one action, you have to concentrate on the spellcasting process, and use your action every round to continue casting the spell: When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible