62

Everywhere that you can get a Fighting Style includes this important sentence: You can’t take a Fighting Style option more than once, even if you later get to choose again. So it doesn't matter whether it stacks with itself, because you can never take it twice.


54

They're supposed to be the same spell; the only reason the names are different is because of copyright/legal issues. So you shouldn't be having both of them in your game. Trying to argue they are two different spells is trying to rules-lawyer something that was only done to appease real lawyers and suggesting this in seriousness is likely going to earn you ...


52

They take damage from both fireballs The key for me is the word "effects" from your quote: The effects of the same spell cast multiple times... I would argue that the damage dealt from the fireball is not an "effect" in the context of what your quote is talking about. This spell simply deals damage and has no additional "effects&...


52

This is going to be difficult to balance Having advantage on a roll is roughly equal to having +5 to your roll, and having disadvantage is roughly equal to having -5 on your roll, as suggested by applying advantage and disadvantage to passive checks. Your suggested change would require somebody to have 5 different sources of advantage to get the same bonus ...


50

The rule on Combining Magical Effects (PHB 205) states: The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine So no, the effect of the enlarge spell can't be stacked on the same creature.


49

Yes, it "stacks". There is a ruling on combining game features, but that is only talking about ongoing continuous effects. i.e. the effect that is causing ongoing damage rather than the damage itself. Consider the example given there: For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if ...


45

Sort of, but no. Unarmored Defense does not provide a bonus to AC. It provides an alternate means of calculating it. So, your druid has two AC calculations available to him: AC provided by beast form. 10 + Dexterity Modifier + Wisdom Modifier You don't get to add the two together, because they both set AC to an absolute value. A brown bear has an AC of 11....


41

Does Armor Stack? In general, there are two notations for AC: The most common variety sets your AC to a fixed value, and looks something like this: AC = 11 + Dex Modifier (Padded armor) Your AC equals 10 + your Dexterity modifier + your Wisdom modifier (Monk Unarmored Defense class feature) Alternately, some items increase your existing AC, and look more ...


39

No Both of them requires reaction to use. You only have one reaction per turn, so you can only use either, but not both.


34

Giving a +1 modifier is, under the vast majority of circumstances, weaker than giving Advantage Below is a table with two sets of Columns: The possible results for a regular D20 roll, no other modifiers The possible results for a D20 roll made with advantage, no other modifiers \begin{array}{r|lcr|lcr} & & \text{Normal} & & & \text{...


32

The creature takes damage from both spells. Moonbeam is cast on an area, not a creature. It then causes damage to creatures within that area. The effect of said damage is instantaneous, and so the rules for overlapping spells doesn't apply.


31

Nope, they don't stack. Page 197 of the PHB: Multiple instances of resistance or vulnerability that affect the same damage type count as only one instance. For example, if a creature has resistance to fire damage as well as resistance to all nonmagical damage, the damage of nonmagical fire is reduced by half against the creature, not reduced by three-...


28

The table lists the bonus you have at that level. They are not in addition to the previous levels. So for a Level 6 Monk, he would have a proficiency bonus of +3, a Martial Arts die of 1d6, and a unarmored movement bonus of +15 (45 ft total). Note: For a multiclass character, proficiency bonus is based on total character levels not individual class levels.


27

No, they don't. From the Monk's Martial Arts feature: You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. From the Tavern Brawler feat (PHB, p. 170): Your unarmed strike uses a d4 for damage. Both abilities replace the unarmed strike damage die; they don't add to it. So if you have both abilities, you would still only ...


27

Your attack roll uses a specific weapon; when dual-wielding you will use one weapon and then the other The rules on Two-Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. ...


27

Multiple Spell Sniper Feats is an artifact of dndbeyond In the PHB (170), the Spell Sniper feat is a single feat. At the end of the description it states: Choose the cantrip from the bard, cleric, druid, sorceror, warlock, or wizard spell list. Your spellcasting ability for this depends on the spell list you choose from: Charisma for bard, sorceror or ...


27

The SRD isn't official rules material, so this is a non-issue for official rules The SRD isn't an official rules resource, so material from the SRD is effectively irrelevant to rules questions (except where material from an official rules resource is identical to it). In other words, if we're limiting ourselves to "official 5e rules", this question ...


26

No, the bonuses will not stack. Though it is not present in original printings, errata to the Dungeon Master's Guide (and later reprintings of the book) add a section on page 252, Combining Game Effects: Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the ...


26

Hunter's Mark and Sneak Attack stack When Combining Game Effects, effects stack unless they have the same name, or otherwise specifically say they do not stack: Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations ...


25

Yes, but they don't stack. PHB 206: The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect—such as the highest bonus—from those castings applies while their durations overlap. For your specific case, having two ...


25

No, they do not stack Per the basic rules on multiclassing, specifically under spellcasting: Each spell you know and prepare is associated with one of your classes, and you use the spellcasting ability of that class when you cast the spell. Similarly, a spellcasting focus, such as a holy symbol, can be used only for the spells from the class associated ...


24

Bardic Inspiration and Guidance both say "the creature can roll [the die] and add the number rolled to one ability check". Adding is adding - nothing prevents you from adding other bonuses. Bardic Inspiration only specifies the limitation of having one Bardic Inspiration die at a time. From Jeremy Crawford, the man himself: Do bonuses from Bardic ...


24

For your specific example, you simply gain the Light cantrip, there's no interaction as a result of the overlap. You wouldn't gain an additional cantrip of your choice, or any other effect. For other feature interactions, it depends on whether the feature in question actually says anything about its interaction with other features. For example, Gloom Stalker ...


23

The rules you've quoted on combining magical effects are unambiguous - these two effects stack, since they're not from the same source. As for how they stack, the answer is your fourth choice. While in previous editions the rule was that multipliers stacked additively, not multiplicatively, 5e has no such rule. Likewise, 5e has no concept of "base value". ...


23

No, proficiency bonuses never stack Your proficiency bonus can’t be added to a single die roll or other number more than once. - D&D Basic Rules V0.1 Chapter 1, P. 7 You can only ever receive a proficiency bonus once regardless of how many sources grant you proficiency in it. When picking skill and tool proficiencies granted by a background or class, ...


23

No, the effect won't stack with multiple castings. If you cast booming blade twice, it will still only deal its extra damage once. The damage from the normal hit does still happen, as it is an instantaneous effect. See Player's Handbook p. 205, “Combining Magical Effects” (or the corresponding section of the basic rules): The effects of different spells add ...


23

Features of the same name do not stack This is a rule found in Dungeon Master's Guide and Xanathar's Guide to Everything. Xanathar's version is more elaborate: Combining Different Effects Different game effects can affect a target at the same time. For example, two different benefits can give you a bonus to your Armor Class. But when two or more ...


23

This is combining the same spell multiple times. The rule you're referencing is found in chapter 10 of the PHB, Spellcasting, in the subsection Combining Magical Effects. [emphasis mine] The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. Instead, ...


23

This particular search on DND Beyond reveals 1 racial trait, 2 spells, and 21 magic items having both "resistance" and "immunity" in their descriptions. The only items appearing having the sought after property are the ones already observed: the dragon masks. Is this a thorough enough search? I would think so. An ability, spell ...


22

It stacks Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. If you take the attack action, you attack twice. At the start of your first turn of each combat, you walking speed increases by 10 feet, which lasts until the end of that turn. If you take the Attack action on that turn, you can make ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible