Skip to main content

New answers tagged

2 votes

When hiding behind something, can you even make a ranged attack with advantage?

Yes, it's possible, but it's not automatic The rule says (p. 195): When a creature can’t see you, you have advantage on attack rolls against it. So this really comes down to if the creature actually ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
6 votes

When hiding behind something, can you even make a ranged attack with advantage?

The rules are fairly clearly written around this. Only if you decide to start combining ideas does the concept fall down. The PHB defines the hide action and tells us we get to attack using the &...
Tiger Guy's user avatar
  • 6,449
4 votes

When hiding behind something, can you even make a ranged attack with advantage?

"you can't hide from a creature that sees you" That is an old outdated version of the PHB. Please look up the Errata for the Player's Handbook, which changes that line to be: "You can'...
TREB's user avatar
  • 3,688
9 votes
Accepted

When hiding behind something, can you even make a ranged attack with advantage?

Look at it narratively, first It makes perfect sense that you can hide behind a tree. And you can definitely step out and shoot, and then step back behind the tree. Remember "How to Play" ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 36.3k
6 votes

How (if at all) are the PHB rules on Hiding affected by the Skulker feat and the Mask of the Wild trait?

The features provide you a guarantee that you can hide The rules say that you cannot hide when another creature can see you clearly, and that the DM gets to decide when you can (your clause 1. and 2.)....
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
10 votes
Accepted

How (if at all) are the PHB rules on Hiding affected by the Skulker feat and the Mask of the Wild trait?

DM can always decide when hiding is possible, but... The PHB rules are clear--the DM decides when hiding is possible. That is, it is a valid ruling to allow a character to hide when lightly obscured ...
Benjamin T Hall's user avatar
16 votes
Accepted

How do you handle plain sight while sneaking?

You've made an absurd assumption Which you are perhaps intending to do, to make a point. You statement, "The rules treat everyone as having 360 degree vision in combat" is just not true or ...
Jack's user avatar
  • 36.3k
3 votes

How do you handle plain sight while sneaking?

"see you clearly" =/= "in plain sight" This is where the rules break down as arguably being lightly obscured would be where you cannot be seen clearly yet the feat Skulker and the ...
TREB's user avatar
  • 3,688
7 votes

How do you handle plain sight while sneaking?

The rules dictated in the hiding sidebar do not neccessarily apply to a stealth check made to sneak past guards. "Hiding," inasmuch as it has any rules definition, is solely remaining ...
Exal's user avatar
  • 1,060
3 votes

How do you handle plain sight while sneaking?

During combat creatures are usually alert The rules for hiding on PHB p. 177 explain that once you successfully roll stealth, you are hiding "until you are discovered or stop hiding". Of ...
TreeSpawned's user avatar
  • 4,130

Top 50 recent answers are included