Skip to main content
64 votes
Accepted

As the DM am I allowed to nerf character stats?

You don't have a balance problem, you have a treasure thief problem. A common type of problem player is the treasure thief: typically a rogue who sneaks ahead and claims the best loot for themselves ...
Quadratic Wizard's user avatar
33 votes

As the DM am I allowed to nerf character stats?

Yes, you can, you are the DM, but no, you shouldn't. Changing the rules during the game is really frustrating for a player. Adjust your encounters instead. A summoner uses monsters to fight for him....
Alkano's user avatar
  • 1,581
18 votes

As the DM am I allowed to nerf character stats?

As DM, you not only can do something about this, it’s actually your responsibility to do so. The DM is given a most powerful tool, known as Rule 0, to do this: you can change anything and everything ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
16 votes

Does a synthesist eidolon actually take damage?

The synthesist’s fused eidolon isn’t a separate creature, not really, not in game terms. It doesn’t have its own space, AC, saves, and so on. It doesn’t get targeted separately from the synthesist. ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
14 votes
Accepted

When a Summoner uses Act Together for 3 actions, do they need to do an activity worth 3 actions or can they take 3 actions individually?

Act Together combines only two activities, one for the Summoner and one for the Eidolon. One of the activities needs to cost one action, and will become effectively free when using Act Together. The ...
Blckknght's user avatar
  • 8,312
13 votes
Accepted

Eidolon Damage scaling

Eidolons benefit from your Handwraps of Mighty blows Unlike Animal Companions, Eidolons are not improved via feats. They get better protection and damage from your gear (Secrets of Magic p53, Gear and ...
SpearCarrier.no2's user avatar
11 votes
Accepted

Is there any advantage to splitting an Eidolon's armour bonus?

It is considered to be a fluff choice. Natural armor and regular armor are considered equivalent equivalent in terms of balance. Even if there are a few differences between them (like brilliant ...
Anne Aunyme's user avatar
  • 21.2k
9 votes
Accepted

Do multiclass Summoners still get to rearrange evolution points?

No From the Summoner page: [evolution points] are set until he gains another level of summoner.
GreedyRadish's user avatar
  • 2,898
9 votes
Accepted

When awarding xp, is the summoner's eidolon counted as a separate party member with respect to xp division?

No, Eidolons don't count separately for experience and don't have experience in their own right The Eidolon is a class feature of the summoner and the abilities of the Eidolon are derived from the ...
Carcer's user avatar
  • 66.2k
9 votes
Accepted

Can a Counter-Summoner dispel an already Summoned creature?

No, it doesn't work as dispel magic When the ability says "like dispel magic", it is referring to the check to see if the ability works or not from Dispel Magic: To counter the spell, the ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.6k
9 votes
Accepted

Does the Large evolution retroactively increase the cost of Ability Increase evolutions?

A summoner spends all evolution points at each new class level The summoner on Eidolon, in part, says In addition, each eidolon receives a pool of evolution points, based on the summoner’s class ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
9 votes

Reactions and free actions (Summoner and Eidolon)

You get one Reaction As a Summoner/Eidolon pair, you get one Reaction (at the start of your shared turn) that can be used by either creature. See the sections I've bolded for clarity: You and your ...
Ifusaso 'he-him''s user avatar
9 votes
Accepted

Is this homebrew "Summoner" class balanced, compared to the existing classes?

This is not balanced, this is broken This has another problem than mere power balance: it is a one trick pony that will not play well. In my play experience as well as in that of others, managing too ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
8 votes

Eidolon Swallow Whole Evolution

No, Snatch does not negate the need for the Grab evolution. There are three components at play here. The functional capability of automatically initiating a grapple on hit The "grab" ...
Oblivious Sage's user avatar
  • 55.3k
8 votes
Accepted

Stacking size damages

From the FAQ (i.e. official errata): As per the rules on size changes, size changes do not stack, so if you have multiple size changing effects (for instance an effect that increases your size by one ...
Topquark's user avatar
  • 4,480
8 votes
Accepted

Would a Synthesist summoner have access to their Eidolon's feats?

The synthesist archetype special ability fused eidolon changes much about the chained summoner's eidolon. Among those changes is that the fused eidolon "has no skills or feats of its own." Thus there ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

Does a synthesist risk exploding upon entering the Positive Energy Plane?

Yes, the temporary hit points count against the limit before you need to save against exploding. Temporary hit points from different sources stack. The major positive-dominant planar trait has no ...
Bielna's user avatar
  • 1,415
8 votes

I found a homebrew summoner/eidolon class online; is it balanced?

Almost The class is fairly well written and shows signs of editing. Most of the problems left with it are stylistic textual errors any experienced player or GM will have no trouble correcting and the ...
Please stop being evil's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

How does applying drained to an Eidolon affect the Summoners hitpoints?

#3 is correct The line immediately after the portions you include in your Question sums it up fairly well: Like with your actions, if you and your eidolon are both subject to the same effect that ...
Ifusaso 'he-him''s user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

Total damage from a critical hit with a fatal + striking eidolon unarmed attack

The damage is correct (if your modifiers are) Pathfinder 2e uses simple doubling rules for critical damage, only slightly complicated by the Deadly and Fatal traits (and similar effects). For 1d6 ...
Ifusaso 'he-him''s user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

Any way for a 3rd-level summoner to cast Lesser Restore Eidolon?

A scroll or wand would get you want to want, limited-use magic (See your local magic shop today!). Other than that, no. IIRC there is a Wizard feat/archetype that gets access to a single 2nd level ...
GreySage's user avatar
  • 21.7k
7 votes
Accepted

Does a synthesist eidolon actually take damage?

Yes Note the particular wording of what you've quoted from the synthesist archetype, "The synthesist gains the eidolon’s hit points as temporary hit points." Those temporary hit points are ...
brandon's user avatar
  • 15.1k
6 votes

Any way for a 3rd-level summoner to cast Lesser Restore Eidolon?

Ability damage can be healed naturally. All your eidolon needs to do is rest. They will recover 1 point of each Ability Damage taken per day of rest. Unless otherwise noted, damage to your ability ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.6k
6 votes
Accepted

Do Eidolons gain levels and feats?

Yes, they gain Feats. As the summoner gains levels, their eidolon also gain feats. This can be seen on the eidolon's table for chained summoners (from Advanced Players Guide): And also for unchained ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.6k
6 votes
Accepted

Can enlarge person affect an eidolon that 's large due to evolution surge?

From enlarge person, Multiple magical effects that increase size do not stack. But the evolution Large is listed as (Ex), making it non-magical. And greater evolution surge isn’t increasing the ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
6 votes

When awarding xp, is the summoner's eidolon counted as a separate party member with respect to xp division?

Just like a Druid's animal companion, Summoned Monsters or Natures Allies, or Familiars, Eidolons are part of a class feature, and are therefore considered part of the owning character from the point ...
YogoZuno's user avatar
  • 15.4k
6 votes
Accepted

Can I make more Pistol shots per round if I have additional arms in Pathfinder?

Normally, a creature is limited to the number of attacks it can make as per its base attack bonus plus whatever abilities give it extra attacks, and, if it has the right weapon available, the creature ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
6 votes
Accepted

How do Unchained Eidolon's type Resistances interact with the Resistance evolution?

In the 2011 Paizo messageboard thread "Do energy resistances stack?" creative director James Jacobs and another user have the following exchange: A tiefling begins with an [e]lectricity ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
6 votes

Act Together: how many times?

Act Together is Once per Round Frequency once per round You and your eidolon act as one. Either you or your eidolon takes an action or activity using the same number of actions as Act Together, and ...
brandon's user avatar
  • 15.1k
5 votes
Accepted

mounted summoner

I found it! That was hard. And yep I was wrong 3pp. But at least Ive got it and I'm not going senile. Had to google "pathfinder cavalier order eidolons" in that exact order to find it: Order of ...
Roland's user avatar
  • 197

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible