105

This kind of situation is up to the DM. D&D 5E isn't designed to handle these sort of situations. The system doesn't have any built-in mechanics for pregnancy, or whether pregnant creatures can be individually targeted by spells. The system simply doesn't have the rules to address it. So by Rule Zero, the DM should make the call. Note that the DM ...


105

You can't fire a fireball through a toad's mouth The rules don't technically define 'swallowed', but in plain English, swallowed things are concealed by the relevant anatomy. Therefore, if a creature is swallowed by a toad, other creatures are completely concealed by that obstacle and therefore have toadal cover. A target has total cover if it is ...


80

Let's set pregnancy aside for a moment and consider some other aspects of this issue. If you have harmful microbes in your body, does this spell leave them behind? If so, then it's effectively a Cure Disease for anything caused by foreign pathogens. That's the good news, but... Every human body contains a host of symbiotic bacteria that help us with ...


64

If your whole party jumps off a cliff combat has ended There is the unlikely scenario where the enemy jump after them, but as soon as the party declare their intention to jump off a cliff and feather fall to a safe landing you can immediately drop initiative and just narrate what happens afterwards; "you all jump off the cliff and the wizard casts ...


63

From the Basic Rules, p.80: Targeting Yourself If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself. It appears that, as long as you can see yourself, you're a legal ...


60

The range of Scrying is "self", so the caster targets him/herself first The spellcasting rules says that the target must be withing range: The target of a spell must be within the spell's range However, range of Scrying is "self", so initially the caster is targeting self, not the creature he/she is scrying: Scrying 5th-leveI divination ...


59

A planet is a location, not an object The rules (DMG, p.246) have this to say about what an object is: For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects. The Earth is composed of all sorts of components. Rocks, ...


58

'Rules as written' it's pretty tenuous, 'rules as intended' it's definitely out. Allowing this could easily break your game. Before I get into the details, consider the general principle that there are no secret rules in D&D 5e. So, always be suspicious of a reading of any feature that seems to allow additional benefits for only a small subset of users, ...


58

No, you can't cast light on it. If the spell intended to say "an object that fits within a 10-foot cube", it would say that, or something like it. The phrase "no larger than 10 feet in any dimension" is very clear: the object can't be more than 10 feet in its longest possible measure. You don't get to pick an arbitrary X-, Y-, and Z-axis ...


57

Rules-as-written, you must be able to see the target of heat metal. Heat metal says: Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor, that you can see within range. If you cannot see the metal object, you cannot cast heat metal on it. A word to DMs: don't nerf your players' spell choices Say you have a ...


53

I ready my movement until Sorcerer's turn to walk off the cliff. You are correct to observe that feather fall can be tricky to coordinate during the heat of battle, and that without proper coordination, it would indeed take several castings across multiple rounds. But there is an easy way around this: Ready. The Ready action is described in the Actions in ...


52

Yes, you can touch yourself. The PHB clarifies this under page 201: Targeting Yourself If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. On the inconsistencies of the wordings for Invisibility and Greater Invisibility: I would pay it no mind, the ...


52

Yes, the caster can include themselves in most spells that target creatures. From the PHB's Spellcasting chapter, the section on Targets (page 204): Targeting Yourself If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a ...


52

The pregnant creature and its unborn progeny remain together because as DMs, we strive to keep our games Humane There are a number of questions that we would be forced to ask and resolve if we attempted to make a purely RAW interpretation of this question—questions I have no intention of resolving. These questions include Is the unborn child considered its ...


50

It is up to the DM. The ultimate answer here is "it's up to you," but let's explore it a bit since this could go a number of ways. The description for Scrying includes (emphasis mine): You can see and hear a particular creature you choose... As a DM, I would interpret this as particular = specific, so in this case your NPC/persona wouldn't be a ...


48

RaW, unclear. Unofficial Crawford rulings, the spell is suppressed. There have been conflicting answers about the topic on Twitter. On one hand, you have Mearls saying the spell would stick: Nope, restriction applies to targeting - sticks after successful cast On the other, you have Crawford saying it doesn't stick: In #DnD, the exceptional trumps the ...


47

Only if the spell says so There are spells that can direct multiple attacks against the same target, but they use different language. Instead of saying to choose a number of targets, such a spell says that it creates a number of attacks (or strikes, or missiles, etc.) and then requires you to choose a target for each attack. Some spells that use this ...


46

Looking at those two fragments: Creatures within 20 feet of a point you choose within range are affected(...) A creature’s hit points must be equal to or less than the remaining total for that creature to be affected. it seems like "being affected" means having your hp deducted from the roll and being subjected to sleep, so therefore this: ...


45

Xanathar's Guide to Everything (p. 86) addresses this issue in the section "Invalid Spell Targets": If you cast a spell on someone or something that can’t be affected by the spell, nothing happens to that target, but if you used a spell slot to cast the spell, the slot is still expended. If the spell normally has no effect on a target that ...


45

Yes, you can do this Well, first of all, the fireball spell description states: The fire spreads around corners. Rules designer Jeremy Crawford has unofficially clarified on Twitter what this means: Your cover is foiled if an effect spreads around it and reaches you. In addition, regarding spell targeting (and the targeting of Fireball in particular), ...


45

Spells only do what they say they do A spell's description lists everything that the spell does. The spellcasting section on targets reads: A typical spell requires you to pick one or more targets to be affected by the spell's magic. A spell's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point of origin for an area of effect. ...


42

Allowing a bard to inspire himself is giving him a close variation on the level 14 ability of the Lore bard (Peerless Skill). The timing is a bit weaker, but the bard would be able to use the die on attack rolls and saving throws, so it's more versatile. One could even argue that it's strictly better. Giving a level 2 bard an ability that's only available to ...


40

The rules assume that facing direction doesn't matter. Therefore they routinely use "creature you can see" to mean "creature you could see, if you were to look in that direction". For example, opportunity attacks trigger when "a creature you can see" moves out of your reach. If the spell was intended to operate only in the direction the caster is looking ...


40

This Would Not Work ...but not because of the way the Darkness spell works. This wouldn't work because of an issue with the way combat happens. Combat is taken in turns, but it doesn't actually happen in turns. Mechanically, only because of how hard it is to actually do otherwise, combat is consecutive, but in actuality, combat is simultaneous. Everyone ...


40

This does not work. The spell Find Steed allows you to cast a spell and have it also affect your steed. While mounted on your steed, you can make any spell you cast that targets only you also target your steed. In the targets section of the PHB, it states: A spell's description tells you whether the spell targets creatures, objects, or a point ...


39

The Sorcerer can discriminate between invisible targets provided that they know the invisible targets are there Once you are aware of an invisible creature, provided they are not hidden, you know where it is (because they are still making noise, kicking up dust, etc.) but you cannot, in general, see them. If a spell specifies that you have to be able to ...


39

Just as in the 3.5e version of this question, in 5e we have the situation where being in water has no special effect on electricity spells. Why not? Because being in water only affects natural electricity because that electricity follows the path of least resistance, which being in water rather than air affects. How it affects the path of least resistance is ...


38

No, "all targets within 30 feet of each other" is a more flexible criterion We can show that the two criteria are not equivalent with a simple counterexample: suppose 3 targets are each 30 feet away from each other, such that they form an equilateral triangle with side length 30. The smallest circle that can enclose these 3 targets (known as the "...


36

The swarm takes full damage (if it fails the save) The rules aren't explicit, but they heavily imply that a swarm is considered one creature It appears that there are no general rules for swarms that are provided in the rules, but some information can be gleaned from looking at individual stat blocks. Looking at Swarm of Ravens for example we can see: The ...


35

Yes, this is part of the GM's role. Adjudicating the actions of non-player characters, including (but not limited to) hostile NPCs, is one of the primary jobs of the DM. This is also mentioned in the Combat chapters of the PHB (p. 189) or the Player's Basic Rules (p. 69): The Dungeon Master controls all the monsters and nonplayer characters involved in ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible