50

Yes (Likely). According to 5e designer and official rules expert Jeremy Crawford, "When temporary hit points absorb damage for you, you're still taking damage, just not to your real hit points." On 25 August 2014, Crawford was asked about a similar situation over twitter by @Mathew_Reuther: @JeremyECrawford If my Temporary Hit Points are 10 and I ...


49

From the Player's Basic Rules, page 76: If you have temporary hit points and receive more of them, you decide whether to keep the ones you have or to gain the new ones. So in this situation you can choose to have 5 temporary hit points or 10 - it's up to you. Armor of Agathys specifies that its effect of damaging creatures that attack you happens 'while ...


38

1030 Blackrazor (DMG, p. 216) will give you temp hp = to the max of any creature you kill. So in theory as high as you can find. The Tarrasque (MM, p. 286) has the most potential hit points of any creature published so far, at 33d20+3301. In any case, the Tarrasque of 5th edition has a maximum natural hit point score of 990. In addition one can apply the 2nd ...


34

To my knowledge, no attack bypasses temporary hit points when dealing damage. However, some spells have effects based on the targets' hit points, and cannot be countered by having temporary hit points. For example: Sleep (L1 spell) only takes into account the targets' hit points, and can put a target into sleep much easier if they have low hit points ...


32

Temp HP can't save the troll (or anyone else) from the consequences of having 0 hit points. The rules are clear that temporary hit points aren't "real": Temporary hit points aren't actual hit points; they are a buffer against damage, a pool of hit points that protect you from injury. [...] If you have 0 hit points, receiving temporary hit ...


30

You get temporary hit points from spells, feats, or features; you don't start with any Every Player Character has hit points which they get at level 1 and represent their general well-being. How you get these and how many you get are explained in the section of the Player's Handbook that describe your class. Temporary hit points are different from (really ...


29

Sure, it can't hurt. Assuming that the player agrees (and I see no reason for them not to), yes, you can just assume that a warlock with that invocation starts with their buffs on. I played a 3.5 game where all of us were using highly optimized, self-buffing characters who would stack buffs on ourselves before every combat. It was a waste of time for ...


27

No, they do not accumulate. When granted new temporary hit points, you can choose to take the new "stack" or the old one. Healing can't restore temporary hit points, and they can't be added together. If you have temporary hit points and receive more of them, you decide whether to keep the ones you have or to gain the new ones. For example, if a ...


26

Temporary Hit Points do not make you Conscious. Rules Compendium p. 258 on Temporary Hit Points indicate that: Not Real Hit Points: Temporary hit points aren’t healing, but rather a layer of “insulation” that attacks have to get through before they start dealing real damage to a target. Don’t add temporary hit points to a creature’s current hit points (...


25

This cannot be done If you review the section of using Hit Dice, you will not find any text that shows that roll conferring Temporary Hit Points(THP) on a creature. That would need to be included for those die rolls to do that. Some Spells and sp⁠ecial abi⁠lities confer Temporary Hit Points to a creature. - Player's Handbook (Chapter 9: Combat). The ...


24

You do not get temporary hit points, unless an effect specifically tells you that you gain them. They are not a default thing that characters have. If an effect tells you to gain temporary hit points, it will also tell you how many you get. Characters only gain regular hit points, which are explained (including how many you get) in your class section.


23

No - Temp HP will not allow you to become conscious at 0 HP There is no rule that prevents an unconscious creature from gaining temporary hit points. Thus, any method that normally allows one to gain temporary hit points should still work when a creature is unconscious. For example, someone could cast false life on the unconscious creature. However, they ...


23

Up to 240 temp HP From Xanathar's spell Mass Polymorph (page 161) Each target gains a number of temporary hit points equal to the hit points of its new form. The Giant Ape has 15d12+60 HP, which could generate up to 240 HP depending on how you roll the hit die. No aid from others, you can't Stack Temp HP Others can't help, and you can't combine sources of ...


23

Maximum temporary hit points is 1810 TheFiddlerWins' answer missed some things even at the time it was released. Again we use Blackrazor's Devour Soul feature (DMG 216) but we will also use the Potion of Giant Size magic item from Storm King's Thunder (236). Devour Soul. [...] When it devours a soul, Blackrazor grants you temporary hit points ...


23

Unfortunately, it will not The Inspiring Leader feat (PHB, 167) requires you to select creatures: ...choose up to six friendly creatures... But an unseen servant (PHB, 284) is not a creature, it is a force: This spell creates an invisible, mindless, shapeless, Medium force...


22

It seems like you have come to the conclusion yourself, just unsure which to apply. The rules seem clear, as you described from PHB pg 198 "...they (temporary hit points) can't be added together. If you have temporary hit points and receive more of them, you decide whether to keep the ones you have or gain new ones..." Armor of Agathys: You gain 5 ...


22

No; temporary HP is not actual HP. The rules distinguish temporary hit points as separate and distinct from actual hit points (emphasis mine): Some spells and special abilities confer temporary hit points to a creature. Temporary hit points aren't actual hit points; they are a buffer against damage, a pool of hit points that protect you from injury. [...] ...


21

Conjured animals would gain temporary hit points The Bear Spirit option of the Shepherd Druid's Spirit Totem feature states (XGtE, p. 23): The bear spirit grants you and your allies its might and endurance. Each creature of your choice in the aura when the spirit appears gains temporary hit points equal to 5 + your druid level. In addition, you and your ...


20

None of what your DM said is a rule from any rulebook. Damage is the same, no matter the source (barring specific special rules). There is no general rule about damage inflicted upon yourself. Temporary HP should protect you from it as per the rules governing it: When you have temporary hit points and take damage, the temporary hit points are lost first,...


19

The Battlerager's Reckless Abandon feature says: Beginning at 6th level, when you use Reckless Attack while raging, you also gain temporary hit points The Reckless Attack feature says: Starting at 2nd level, you can throw aside all concern for defense to attack with fierce desperation. When you make your first attack on your turn, you can decide ...


19

Yes, healing is unaffected by temporary hit points When you have Temporary Hit Points nothing prevents you from healing your actual hit points. The rules for temporary hit points say (emphasis mine): Healing can't restore temporary hit points, and they can't be added together. [...] If you have 0 hit points, receiving temporary hit points doesn't restore ...


19

This is answered on page 198 of the PHB or here in the basic rules: Temporary Hit Points ... Unless a feature that grants you temporary hit points has a duration, they last until they're depleted or you finish a long rest.


18

Yes, a vampire's bite can sometimes effectively deal extra damage due to temporary hit points Damage to temporary HP still counts as damage Per this Jeremy Crawford Tweet: When temporary hit points absorb damage for you, you're still taking damage, just not to your real hit points. So, when the bite ability says "hit point maximum is reduced by an ...


18

Sorry but... Temporary Hit Points Do Not Stack If you have temporary hit points and receive more of them, you decide whether to keep the ones you have or to gain the new ones. For example, if a spell grants you 12 temporary hit points when you already have 10, you can have 12 or 10, not 22. PHB198 So, the best I can offer you is this. You carry around a ...


17

You can go up to 200 with the eldritch invocation Tomb of Levistus: You gain 10 temporary hit points per warlock level (XGtE 57)


17

The biggest threat to these temporary hit points as you purport to use them is time There are several offensive effects that are limited to opponents with no more than a certain number of hit points, but they aren't the real threat here. The real problem is that, after one hour, you have both one hit point left and no temporary hp. Since you only have one ...


17

The ward takes the damage first regardless of what order they apply The following Q/A establishes that damage to your temporary hit points still counts as you taking damage and with that knowledge, there are two possible cases: Is a concentration check required when temporary hit points absorb all the damage? The ward clause applies first; in this case ...


16

They last until you complete a long rest Looking at the general rules for Temporary Hit Points (PHB, pg. 198), it says the following: Unless a feature that grants you temporary hit points has a duration, they last until they're depleted or you finish a long rest. Since the Storm Aura's Tundra option doesn't specify a duration, they will remain until the ...


15

Temporary Hit Points Do Protect from Failing Death Saves tl;dr temporary hit points protect the stabilized PC from having to start rolling death saves again if the damage is less than the temporary hit points. The temporary hit points do not return the character to consciousness, but they do protect them from further injury. A stable creature doesn't ...


15

There is a answer provided by sadaqah based on rules intent. My answer is instead focused on the rules as written. No, concentration checks trigger on taking damage, but temporary hit points are a buffer against damage. Page 198 of the PHB says about temporary hit points: Temporary hit points aren't actual hit points; they are a buffer against damage, ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible