48

No, you can't take the -5/+10 while throwing a dagger. Thrown: If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. Throwing a dagger is a ranged weapon attack, so the first two benefits of the Sharpshooter feat will apply. However, the third benefit doesn't require a ranged weapon attack: Before you make an attack ...


40

Sneak Attack does not work with melee weapons that have the thrown property, but lack the finesse property The Rogue's Sneak Attack feature states: The attack must use a finesse or a ranged weapon. A melee weapon cannot simultaneously be a ranged weapon, because as the Weapons section (PHB, p146) states: Every weapon is classified as either melee or ...


39

Not quite Weapons with the Thrown property can use their normal (i.e. melee) modifier when being thrown. Using a Finesse weapon allows using DEX, but melee weapons without the Finesse property would use STR: If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability ...


38

You can throw an axe over a wall, but it isn't an attack. The wall provides total cover and "A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack..." This means that tossing a weapon over the wall can't be resolved as the Attack action. However, if you want to attempt something that isn't covered by the rules, you are explicitly allowed to ...


36

Yup, this works. He takes the Attack action, and meets all of the prerequisites of TWF. Check. He throws a dagger, as TWF allows. Check. Now, as you describe, he's holding a light, one-handed, melee weapon and can attack with it. He can either make a melee attack or throw it, per the last line of TWF. If he could not attack because he's only holding one ...


36

The rules simply don’t cover this case; it is entirely up to the DM to decide what happens. Four possibilities spring to my mind: The net returns, without the target, making the endeavor pointless. The returning property fails entirely, the net being pinned in place by the target. The target is dragged back to the artificer. The returning is delayed until ...


33

Summary As a sort of in-between weapon, a thrown weapon has several advantages and disadvantages, but among them are the unique constraint on the number of attacks one can make and the unique feature of leaving the implementing hand unburdened. There is one character class in particular whose damage throughput is balanced around making relatively few attacks,...


29

Yes, you can throw your pact weapon every other turn You have the basic idea right. You alternate using your action to throw the weapon on one turn and re-summon it in your hand on the next turn. Obviously, only attacking every 2nd turn (and making no more than one weapon attack on any turn) is going to greatly reduce your damage output. If you have the ...


29

Yes The relevant excerpt from the Improvised Weapon rules in the Player's Handbook (p.148): If a character [...] throws a melee weapon that does not have the thrown property, it also deals 1d4 damage. An improvised thrown weapon has a normal range of 20 feet and a long range of 60 feet. So any weapon can be thrown, however they will deal ...


29

Eldritch Knight Eldritch Knight (Fighter subclass) gets at 3rd level Weapon Bond which includes: Once you have bonded a weapon to yourself, you can't be disarmed of that weapon unless you are incapacitated. If it is on the same plane of existence, you can summon that weapon as a bonus action on your turn, causing it to teleport instantly to your hand. You ...


27

Strictly RAW: Your DMs are correct. Thrown weapons do not have ammunition. Personally, I'd consider whether multiple thrown weapons can be used in situations such as this or Horde Breaker to be strictly in the DM's prerogative. It makes a fair amount of sense that a character could be good enough with throwing knives to put multiple in the air in 6 ...


25

You're going to have to ask your DM, but don't be surprised if you get pie in your face. An Improvised Weapon: includes any object you can wield in one or two hands, such as broken glass, a table leg, a frying pan, a wagon wheel, or a dead goblin. While a pie absolutely falls in that category, it is well within a DM's purview to say they have no idea how ...


24

Yes: Shadow Blade In addition to the other methods already mentioned, there is a 2nd level spell available to Wizards and Sorcerers, found in the Xanathar's Guide to Everything. (XGtE p. 164) SHADOW BLADE: Casting Time: 1 bonus action, Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute You weave together threads of shadow to create a sword of solidified ...


23

Actually, throwable weapons are dealt with using their own tag : Thrown. Thrown: Throw it at someone to hurt them. If you volley with this weapon, you can’t choose to mark off ammo on a 7–9; once you throw it, it’s gone until you can recover it. (from the Equipment chapter, under Weapon Tags) So, technically, unless the weapon has the Thrown tag, it ...


22

It means you must use Strength - unless it also has finesse A "melee weapon attack" is an "attack" you make with in "melee" with a "weapon" irrespective if it a "melee weapon" or a "ranged weapon". This uses your Strength modifier (PHB p. 194). Similarly, a "ranged weapon attack" is an &...


22

A throw only takes one attack Shove, is all you have to do mechanically. Jeremy Crawford supports this: Want to shove someone off a cliff? Use the shove option in the D&D combat rules. You're free to describe it in various ways: a shove, a throw, slamming into the person, and so on. Throwing (shoving) is a contest. The thrower rolls an athletics check ...


22

You can recover all your darts The "recover half your stuff" rule is stated for the ammunition weapon property: Ammunition. [...] At the end of the battle, you can recover half your expended ammunition by taking a minute to search the battlefield. [...] The properties of a Dart are finesse and thrown, but not ammunition. Therefore the rule that ...


21

Throwing multiple weapons in a turn is limited by the action economy. The rules say you can only interact with 1 object for free on your turn (PHB 190). Any other object interactions require a full action. This is different from grabbing arrows/bolts as bows and crossbows have the Ammunition property, which has the specific rule that grabbing ammo for these ...


21

A simple option is inherent in the Eldritch Knight, at 3rd level, via the Weapon Bond feature. The EK may summon a bonded weapon as a bonus action, and then attack with it as an action.


21

It's a subject of the DM's ruling, depending on the situation "Thrown weapons" include all things a creature can throw. You can throw a knife, a boulder, a glass bottle, a dead goblin, anything. If it hits a shield, it can stick or it can bounce away. A glass bottle will probably be shattered. If it misses the target completely then it falls ...


21

The answer to “what is the reasonable number of free-action attacks” is simply zero, because one should not get free-action attacks. Throwing Shield should never have been printed saying that you could. Pathfinder has a standard way of having things give “extra” attacks, and that is through “bonus attacks.” And there are several things about bonus attacks ...


20

I'll get the simple bit done first - you're right, nothing in the Thrown property turns a melee weapon into a ranged weapon. It's a melee weapon you can use to make ranged attacks, so the Archery Fighting Style, which says that You gain a +2 bonus to attack rolls you make with ranged weapons. can never apply to it. It can apply to darts, because they ...


20

Absolutely Unless they are a dwarf ... There are only 3 rules in D&D 5e (PHB p.5): The DM describes the environment The players describe what they want to do The DM narrates the result of the character's actions So: "There is a moat of lava" "I want to toss the gnome" - definitely not the dwarf - see above. This is where you're getting stuck All ...


19

You "wield" the weapon when you attack or throw with it, not simply when it's in your hand. It may no longer be in your hand but the attack and damage rolls signify the attempt and everything to do with it, not just physics and angle. It was with that one hand that you threw it and with that one hand that you made the attack; it did not cease to be a one-...


19

Yes, you can throw a weapon and teleport it back to yourself during an attack using Weapon Bond. The rules for bonus actions state: You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action. Therefore, ...


19

No, because thrown weapons are ranged attacks. Unfortunately, RAW opts for #1 - that is, a melee weapon attack is a melee attack made using a weapon (though some game features, like unarmed strikes, involve melee weapon attacks made with non-weapons). The relevant part of the rules on attack rolls states (p. 76 of the Basic Rules PDF): Ability Modifier. The ...


19

Yes There are options available to you as a Wizard (BladeSinger/Eldritch Knight) that will allow you to throw your weapon and 'teleport' to it's location. There are also several pieces of information that will be useful to you with regard to how to do this that I will outline below. Throwing your weapon - Under Improvised Weapons (PHB 148), there is ...


19

No, it would be an Improvised Weapon for 1d4 bludgeoning The Net is listed under the Martial Ranged Weapons chart and there are no existing Ranged weapons that can be used as Melee Weapons at this time. Because of that, this is purely a ranged weapon. If you'd like to use it as an improvised weapon, then it becomes purely an improvised weapon without its ...


18

From the rule you quote: If either weapon has the thrown property... Which weapon(s)? a light melee weapon... [and] a different light melee weapon. So the weapons of "either weapon" mention are the light melee weapons from the previous paragraph. You can't throw both darts, because they're not valid weapons for two-weapon fighting. And neither is a ...


18

Rules as Written - No As per the Cover rules, any attack at a creature that you aren't able to see, due to an obstacle completely obscuring the enemy, is treated as if they had Full Cover. A target with total cover can't be targeted directly by an attack or a spell, although some spells can reach such a target by including it in an area of effect. A target ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible