23

It says you can add your Wisdom modifier as a bonus. It does not say you have to, or that it just happens whether you want it to or not. It is your choice. If your modifier is negative, you presumably would not choose to add it.


18

Short version: Yes, Adaptive Style lets you recover all your expended maneuvers as well as choosing new readied maneuvers. Admittedly, the text is not abundantly clear. My reasons for this reading are the following: It can be derived from the rules. Adaptive Style references the rules for readying maneuvers (they must, how else would we know what the ...


14

First of all, the Prestige Class Tier List is not nearly as widely-ascribed-to as JaronK’s base class one. For one thing, it is much harder to judge a prestige class (especially ones that can vary so much depending on how you enter), and for another there are just so many more of them. Take the Shadowsun Ninja. For a Monk, it’s a dramatic step ...


13

Martial Maneuvers Are Usable Outside Combat Tome of Battle puts no restrictions on using maneuvers outside of combat. The text does, however, put some restrictions on recovering maneuvers outside of combat. In the chapter Blade Magic in the section Recovering Expended Maneuvers under the heading End of an Encounter there's this text: In the case of a ...


13

Strictly speaking, no. Iron heart surge requires a standard action; if you cannot take a standard action, you cannot use iron heart surge. On the other hand, yes, it is worded extremely broadly. Certainly, if you could somehow activate iron heart surge while affected by sleep or paralysis, you would definitely remove those conditions. Just how broad iron ...


13

Nope. Strictly speaking, the Swordsage ability only works in light armor, and the Monk ability only works when he's in no armor at all. Gotcha!


12

Each Maneuver Must Be Evaluated Individually... There's no way to generalize the applicability of every maneuver to every ability that grants additional attacks. Some can be used and some can't. In your example, while the 1st-level Desert Wind martial maneuver burning blade (boost) (ToB 52) does last, like its duration says, until "End of turn," but the ...


12

Yes, You Can Use It It doesn't say that you need a free hand to make this attack, nor does it say that you need to be holding a particular item in hand to make it. So you can use the maneuver even if you used Two Weapon Fighting in the last round. The fact that it's a touch attack is just to tell you what AC number to roll against. It would be very hard ...


12

No, a given martial maneuver can not be readied more than once. The reason for this confusion is that maneuvers and spells are similar enough in their implementation to make it easy to miss the few ways in which they are different - the ability to prepare a spell more than once being one of them. As seen on page 178 of the Player's Handbook: [A prepared ...


12

No, these abilities are no more game breaking than other things characters will have around level 5, the minimum level for Dance of the Spider. Take for example that a wizard could cast Dispel magic at that level, which can render any magical trap harmless, or dimension hop which is a short teleport like shadow jaunt, and they can also cast spider climb. Or ...


12

No one knows. Iron Heart surge is easily the biggest question mark in an otherwise-stellar book, worded very confusingly and plagued by nonsensical customer service rulings (that imply, for example, that it could turn off the sun). The errata for Tome of Battle gets just three entries in before being overwritten by the errata to Complete Mage (seriously; it’...


11

No. iron heart surge only removes an effect with a duration of one or more rounds. Necrotic cyst's duration is instantaneous.


11

A special attack that can be substituted for a melee attack can't usually be used with a martial maneuver that mandates a melee attack Tome of Battle on (Type) on Strike says that In addition, you cannot combine special attacks such as sunder or bull rush with strikes, even if you have feats that make such special attacks more potent. However, some ...


11

Full break-down of the price: A dwarven waraxe costs 30 gp Since we are starting with a dwarven waraxe, we need to start with its price. It is 30 gp. Only masterwork weapons can be made magical Non-masterwork weapons cannot be magic. Masterwork adds a +1 enhancement bonus to attack (only), and costs 300 gp. So we add the 300 gp to the cost of a dwarven ...


10

No, flanking is not affected by your visibility. For reference, we’ll go through the entirety of the flanking rules: Flanking When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by a character or creature friendly to you on the opponent’s opposite border or opposite corner. When in doubt about whether two friendly ...


10

Ruby knight vindicator on Tome of Battle page 122 can be entered by a 4th-level paladin/1st-level crusader and will do exactly what you are looking for. It is, in fact, the only class that will. At 7th level, it gets the fantastic divine impetus ability, which allows you to use turn undead uses to gain extra swift actions. Please note the Battle Blessing ...


9

Yes, so long as it does not require its own action Using emerald razor is a standard action; you cannot apply its benefit to any other type of action, or to another standard action. So no emerald razor on a charge or whatever. But it is still a weapon attack, and everything that would benefit just any weapon attack applies to it. That includes both Power ...


9

Question 1: Is the above even a correct RaW? or have I missed something? Well, there's a funny thing about firesnake's RAW. From an extremely technical standpoint, your reading of firesnake is incorrect. This is because Tome of Battle recieved an errata back in 2008. Firesnake's text was changed, clearing up the RAI on what it's apparently meant to do: ...


9

To recover you need to do both of the following: A swift action, and One of the following: Attempt a melee attack (any melee attack, such as the standard-action attack, part of a full-attack, even an attack of opportunity though there is a risk you won’t get one) Or spend a standard action to flourish So yes, you can make a full-attack as part of your ...


9

Assassin's Stance gives you Sneak Attack, but not as a class feature. The Assassin's Stance maneuver (ToB, p. 75) says (emphasis mine): While you are in this stance, you gain the sneak attack ability, if you do not already have it, which deals an extra 2d6 points of damage. If you already have the sneak attack class feature, your existing sneak attack ...


8

Yes, you can take higher-level Stances at your first class level There are several issues here. First of all, this line is in the form of a descriptive statement, not a prescriptive one: it describes the usual case of things, rather than defining a limitation on your options. I would argue that it is there solely to help players new to the book, who are ...


8

I'm breaking this down so we're on the same page. "Is it possible in the same round for a martial adept to initiate maneuvers from two different schools? Yes, it's possible as long as the martial adept doesn't exceed his normally allotted number of actions. Most martial adepts can't take more actions in a round than other creatures. "Can a martial adept ...


8

Yes Dimensional anchor does this: Any creature or object struck by the ray is covered with a shimmering emerald field that completely blocks extradimensional travel. It goes on to describe examples of things that are extradimensional travel, including dimension door and teleport. Note that this list is not exclusive. It doesn't straight up define what ...


8

Yes, it does. These are the touch attack rules: Some attacks disregard armor, including shields and natural armor. In these cases, the attacker makes a touch attack roll (either ranged or melee). A touch attack is still a kind of attack, since there is an attack roll. So it doesn't get around wall of blades the same way that, say, a fog cloud spell would (...


8

Like Eikre's answer says, normally it doesn't matter if a creature can stack both a monk's extraordinary ability AC bonus and a swordsage's extraordinary ability AC bonus because a monk's AC bonus only applies when a creature wears no armor and a swordsage's AC bonus only applies when a creature wears light armor. So far as I'm aware, there's no way for a ...


8

Advancing a level has an order of operations This order is detailed in the Player's Handbook (58-9), but it's absent from the SRD so that Wizards of the Coast can sell you books. What you need to know from it is this: class decisions are made before feat decisions. Thus, this warblade must use his ability to learn a new maneuver in place of an old maneuver ...


8

Stone Dragon specifies that its maneuvers (stances included) require one to be standing on solid ground. If you were at the bottom of the lake, fine, but swimming, they’re a no-go. But all the other disciplines, such as the Diamond Mind discipline that offers pearl of black doubt, lack that restriction, and can be used just fine while swimming. And the ...


8

Shadow jaunt is distinctly limited versus other teleportation effects: You must have line of sight and line of effect to your destination. Most teleportation effects require neither. That means that darkness, clouds, fogs, mist, to say nothing of walls and other barriers, all block shadow jaunt. Shadow jaunt is an effective way to climb cliffs and/or ...


7

Yes. There are only a few requirements for using a maneuver: You meet its prerequisites (including Initiator Level) You know it You readied it You’ve been granted it, if a Crusader You have not expended it since the last time you recovered You can and do use the action required for it As you say, this means you can use more than one per round. In fact, ...


7

In general, yes, you add your weapon properties on all your maneuvers since part of initiating them is making melee attacks.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible