20 votes
Accepted

If I miss with a touch spell, can I hold it and try again?

That doesn't exist in 5e. In general, if you need to touch the target, this is handled as part of casting the spell, with a melee spell attack to determine if you succeed. For example, shocking grasp:...
Mark Wells's user avatar
  • 22.2k
17 votes
Accepted

Can you cast True Strike and upon the next turn cast a touch spell through a familar for advantage?

You cannot True Strike: (emphasis mine) Your magic grants you a brief insight into the target’s defenses. On your next turn, you gain advantage on your first attack roll against the target, ...
Juicetin's user avatar
  • 4,125
15 votes

Can you release a readied spell with a range of touch while not touching the target?

No, you can only release the spell if/when the target is within reach When you ready a spell, you don't actually release it at that point in time, you cast it and release it later when your ready ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 78.9k
13 votes
Accepted

Can a mount with flyby be used to allow the rider to deliver a touch spell without provoking?

Can you attack in the middle of your mount's movement? No. This was clarified by Jeremy Crawford in his twitter feed a couple of years ago: Q: rider on controlled mount wants to attack mid-move. ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

What spells can familiars use?

Spells with a range of self cannot be cast via familiar The restriction you quote acts exactly as it says: you can only cast touch-ranged spells through your familiar. "Self" != "touch,&...
nitsua60's user avatar
  • 101k
12 votes

If a spellcaster moves toward an enemy and touches them to make a spell attack, then moves away, does it provoke an opportunity attack?

This has been asked & answered before, albeit not with the specific consideration of a magic-user using a spell attack. So please read the linked question, and I'll add information more applicable ...
Disillusioned's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

Can a spellcaster use a natural weapon attack to deliver a touch spell?

Not in the same action Attacking a creature is an Action. Bestow curse, the example you linked, also requires an Action to cast. Your character cannot do both at once.1 This is a matter of adhering ...
Sir Cinnamon's user avatar
  • 6,466
12 votes

Using a familiar to deliver a spell attack while both of us are under Sanctuary

Both castings of sanctuary end. Sanctuary states: If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends. Since you are ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

Could a plasmoid gain a 10-foot range for touch spells by using the Shape Self trait?

Yes, it could You've quoted all the relevant rules from Shape Self, and it doesn’t prohibit you from using the pseudopod to cast touch spells. But it’s more accurate to say you give yourself a reach ...
Guybrush McKenzie's user avatar
10 votes
Accepted

If I keep missing, do I get infinite free action to retry attacks with touch spells in the first round cast?

RAW: Yes, you can make as many attacks as you like the first round because the rule is ambiguous. RAI: No, because that would be silly. The blurb on casting touch spells says that you can touch (or ...
GreySage's user avatar
  • 21.6k
10 votes
Accepted

Magus Spellstrike and Missing Target

You would retain the charge, as your delivery of the spell missed the target. Spellstrike: At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can ...
royalmurder's user avatar
  • 2,558
10 votes

Can a spellcaster use a natural weapon attack to deliver a touch spell?

Yes, but... Spells like Bestow Curse have a casting time of 1 action. This isn't just how long it takes to cast the spell, that's the cost of the spell. Nothing else can use that 1 action. However,...
Man_Over_Game's user avatar
10 votes

Can a mount with flyby be used to allow the rider to deliver a touch spell without provoking?

Yes it can, even without the Flyby feature Can I use my action in the middle of my mounts flyby action First and foremost, there is no specific "flyby action" the peryton has to take, it just ...
enkryptor's user avatar
  • 68.1k
10 votes

Do Familiars provoke Attacks of Opportunity when delivering touch spells?

The typical Tiny or littler familiar provokes an attack of opportunity for entering its foe's space, not for delivering the touch spell The Player's Handbook on Touch Attacks, in part, says, "...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
10 votes
Accepted

How can I get reach for touch spells without spending an action per spell?

Your choices are limited Your best bet: the Spell Delivery Familiar Master Ability, as T.E.D. points out. It's available to anyone with a familiar and a spare familiar ability slot, so it's really ...
ESCE's user avatar
  • 14.1k
9 votes

If a spellcaster moves toward an enemy and touches them to make a spell attack, then moves away, does it provoke an opportunity attack?

If you leave a hostile creature's reach during your move, you provoke an opportunity attack… —PH page 191 If your target's reach is only 5 ft, then yes moving away will provoke an opportunity attack....
Christopher's user avatar
  • 12.2k
9 votes

If I keep missing, do I get infinite free action to retry attacks with touch spells in the first round cast?

While it is not the place you would look at first the Magus class with its spellstrike feature shows that it is only one free touch attack: Spellstrike (Su): At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a ...
Umbranus's user avatar
  • 5,958
9 votes
Accepted

How to figure out the range penalty of Ranged Touch Attacks

Typically, only weapons and other attack forms that possess a range increment cause their users to suffer with those weapons and attack forms penalties on their ranged attack rolls due to the distance ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
9 votes
Accepted

Does touch attack ignore any armor bonuses?

No. That text means that touch attacks ignore all bonuses to Armor Class with type “armor”. But that explanation is misleadingly incomplete. You might have noticed that nearly all bonuses in 3.5 are ...
fectin's user avatar
  • 13.7k
9 votes

Shadow's incorporeal touch attack vs DR5/bludgeoning

The Shadow's damage is unaffected. The Shadow's incorporeal touch attack has specific rules. Strength Damage (Su) The touch of a shadow deals 1d6 points of Strength damage to a living foe. A creature ...
ValhallaGH's user avatar
  • 12.2k
8 votes
Accepted

Where do you find the rules which detail what makes up bonuses to the attack for touch attacks?

Ranged attacks always use the dex modifier and melee attacks always use the strength modifier unless another ability overrides this. Examples for overrides would be weapon finesse and its ilk for ...
Umbranus's user avatar
  • 5,958
8 votes
Accepted

How does missing touch attacks affect chill touch remaining "attack charges"?

You retain the charges. There is nothing, other than the fact that Chill Touch allows multiple touch attacks, that suggest it works differently from other touch spells. Targets: creature or creatures ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.5k
8 votes

Does the Amulet of Mighty Fists apply to spell touch attacks?

No. Unarmed strikes and natural weapons are specific, particular weapon attacks, not a catch-all term for all attacks made without weapons. Magic touch attacks are neither unarmed strikes nor natural ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 352k
8 votes

Can charnel touch be used in place of a natural attack?

Despite the supernatural ability charnel touch saying that the ability's negative energy is "concentrat[ed] in her hands" (Heroes of Horror 86), this DM would allow a creature to employ charnel touch ...
Hey I Can Chan's user avatar
8 votes

Can a mount with flyby be used to allow the rider to deliver a touch spell without provoking?

First things first. If your mount doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks, neither do you The mount is using its own movement, not yours, so irrespective of whether the mount is being directly controlled, ...
Xirema's user avatar
  • 52.6k
8 votes

Can Lunging Spell Touch be used on allies?

The fluffy descriptions in Pathfinder are fluff; they serve to illustrate the mechanic, but they don't modify the mechanic. The only rules-relevant text is the mechanical text; in the case of Lunging ...
minnmass's user avatar
  • 18.5k
7 votes

Touch Spells and Slam Attack

When you are holding the charge of a touch spell and next touch something, the spell is discharged. Technically, produce flame is not a touch spell, but only grants the ability to make touch attacks ...
Tommi's user avatar
  • 10.2k
7 votes

Can a spell caster use vital strike with touch spells?

You can with a normal attack, not touch attacks Vital Strike says: Benefit: When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. ...
ShadowKras's user avatar
  • 61.5k
7 votes

Can you release a readied spell with a range of touch while not touching the target?

No, because the target isn't in range. After readying a spell, you release it when the trigger occurs. However, you must meet all requirements of casting the spell normally (a clear path to the ...
Aguinaldo Silvestre's user avatar
7 votes

Bracers of armor Vs incorporeal touch attack

Bracers of Armor work against Incorporeal attacks An incorporeal creature’s attacks pass through (ignore) natural armor, armor, and shields, although deflection bonuses and force effects (such as ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 211k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible