87

3 attacks, that's the answer. It could go up to five with Action Surge, though. Let's detail it: Two-Weapon Fighting (PHB, page 195) When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other ...


73

Anyone wielding two light weapons can attack with one weapon and use a bonus action to make an offhand attack. The Rogue's having Cunning Action as an option does not prevent them from instead choosing other bonus actions. The restriction only applies to Cunning Action itself - if the Rogue chooses to use Cunning Action, only Dash, Disengage, and Hide can ...


65

No. There is no handed-ness in D&D, so characters do not have a dominant and weak hand. (Unless the player narrates them as such) In addition, even when wielding two weapons, you don't have disadvantage on the second one you attack with (referred to as the off-hand, but either hand can be your off-hand depending on which weapon you swing first), rather ...


60

5e does not have a concept of offhand weapons, there is no defined "main hand" or "offhand". Two-Weapon Fighting allows you to take a bonus attack with a different weapon in the other hand, after you make an attack. When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack ...


56

You can wield & attack with two weapons without any special class feature or feat. Like most contests, however, some restrictions may apply. From the PHB, p195 (emphasis mine): Two-Weapon Fighting When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...


54

In terms of dealing lethal damage, a dagger is strictly inferior to a short sword--to a user proficient in both. Daggers, however, have all the benefits in-game that they enjoy in real life: they are smaller and easier to conceal, lighter, throwable, cheaper, and a little easier to use. (Cf. wizards who, as a class, can use daggers but not short swords.) I ...


49

Ability Score Improvements are almost always better for DPR Calculation On 4th level you could raise your attack stat from 16 to 18, or take Dual Wielder. I will assume you have the Two-Weapon Fighting style, while fighting against AC 10, 14 and 18. Criticals are also included in the final DPR. Base DPR: Damage 2 x (1d6+3) = 13 AC10: Hit chance 80%, 10.75 ...


48

Okay, so, let's start from your wrong premises Max Damage does not matter - average does And you are using the wrong weapon for GWF based on that - Greatsword is better than Greataxe. Greatsword is already superior to Greataxe, but it becomes even better with GWF, when the probability of rolling 1s and 2s is higher. For reference, the average damage from 2d6 ...


46

The misconception here is that you don't have "a bonus action" just lying around that you "fill" with a Bonus Action. When something says that you can use a bonus action, that means you have that bonus action lying around. Any time a rule talks about having or using a bonus action, that is both making it available and permission to use it, not just ...


44

Extra Attack, player's basic rules, page 25: Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Note that it specifically says 'whenever you take the Attack action'. Not whenever you attack. From Two-Weapon Fighting, page 74: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee ...


44

Yes Two-Weapon Fighting When you take the Attack action [...] (PHB, p. 195) Haste The target [...] gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack [...] action. (PHB, p. 250) This is pretty straight-forward. Haste doesn't grant you an additional attack, but a real action, which you can use to do ...


41

Just a different instance of a weapon Weapons can be of the same type (ie two short swords), but you must have two actual weapons to use two weapon fighting. The wording is only there to prevent someone from trying to use two-weapon fighting with one weapon. The dual-wielder feat does supply circumstantial evidence for this when it says: You can use two-...


37

Two-Weapon Fighting is a specific thing The Soulknife feature states: [...] After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn [...] Meanwhile, Two-Weapon Fighting states: [...] When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding ...


36

No, You cannot combine attacks with booming blade. Both Booming Blade and Green Flame Blade say the following: As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell's range This means that these cantrips do not require you to take the Attack action, they require you to take the Cast ...


35

The rule for Two Weapon Fighting is as follows: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. The errata for the PHB states that unarmed strikes are not weapons, so you can't use ...


34

Yup, this works. He takes the Attack action, and meets all of the prerequisites of TWF. Check. He throws a dagger, as TWF allows. Check. Now, as you describe, he's holding a light, one-handed, melee weapon and can attack with it. He can either make a melee attack or throw it, per the last line of TWF. If he could not attack because he's only holding one ...


34

Tactical analysis Rules-wise, there is no inherent benefit in choosing dual daggers over dual shortswords, apart from the usually negligible differences in monetary cost and weight and the thrown property you mentioned. However, an enchanted dagger is usually better than a mundane shortsword, so it is possible for a determined dagger user to keep up if they ...


30

Yes, you may. There is no limitation built into the Two-Weapon Fighting rule to deny that. It only requires taking the Attack action, and making at least one melee attack with a one-handed weapon. Dropping the greatsword doesn't cost an action, drawing a weapon is considered interacting with an object, and drawing a second weapon is included in the object ...


28

No But the argument is not so straightforward. The problem with this question is that the RAW are murky enough to allow for some leeway in interpretation. Going by RAI, the intention was clearly to use Two-Weapon Fighting with one-handed weapons, and not game the system by attacking with a versatile weapon while holding it in two hands, arguing that it still ...


28

This seems to be a houserule created by your DM. By the rules, you don't have Disadvantage on attacks with your off-hand weapon, you just don't add your ability modifier to the damage it deals. And, unless you have a feat or ability saying otherwise, both weapons you're using must be Light weapons, limiting the size of weapons you can use with it. You might ...


27

You need to be holding both weapons when you Attack in order to use Two-Weapon Fighting - and attacking with a greatsword requires both hands. You have the Dual Wielder feat, so it doesn't matter that neither weapon is light. So far so good, however: The Two-Weapon Fighting rules state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon ...


27

Your attack roll uses a specific weapon; when dual-wielding you will use one weapon and then the other The rules on Two-Weapon Fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. ...


27

Something similar can already be achieved RAW You mention that you're playing a Hexblade Warlock, with the Pact of the Blade pact boon. Whilst Pact of the Blade only allows the single weapon, this is separate from your "Hex weapon", by which I mean the weapon that you can designate as per your Hex Warrior class feature. The Hexblade warlock's Hex ...


26

Dual Wielder only allows drawing/stowing a second weapon Your plan would fall over at the last step because you only get one free object interaction per turn. From "Other Activity on Your Turn" (PHB, p. 190): You can also interact with one object or feature from the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, ... you ...


26

No, there is no concept of offhand attack (or related penalties) in 5e Here are the general rules for two-weapon fighting: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. You don't add your ...


25

Unequivocally, YES The single biggest limitation on PCs (or any creature) is the restriction imposed by the action economy, specifically: one move one action potentially one bonus action potentially one reaction Mess with this at your peril In a combat, the side that can consistently make the better choices for the use of these limited opportunities to ...


25

There is no such penalty The Two-Weapon Fighting section states (in its entirety): When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you’re holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you’re holding in the other hand. You don’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the bonus ...


24

From page 69 of the Player's D&D Basic Rules: You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. Emphasis mine. This doesn't grant you a bonus action, but instead grants you something to do with your bonus action, which you always have, whether you can ...


24

You can't take the bonus-action attack before the Attack action, because the bonus-action attack is conditional upon you taking that action. You can't take the bonus-action attack before the Attack action (in which you attack with a one-handed light weapon), because the bonus-action attack is conditional upon you taking that action. Jeremy Crawford addresses ...


24

PHB says, regarding Maneuvers that: You can use only one maneuver per attack. In regards of two-weapong fighting, PBH says: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different light melee weapon that you're holding in the other hand. So RAW, ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible