New answers tagged

-4

In addition to the reasons others have given there's the fact that you effectively did act at that point--by going down.


30

This rule helps avoid Healing ping-pong! I find it helpful to consider the inverse -- what might happen when the initiative order doesn't change. (Sadly, I mention this from personal experience playing 5e...) Consider a hypothetical combat between three parties, Fighter, Cleric, and Monster. The initiative order is Cleric, Monster, Fighter. Round 1 Cleric ...


9

Moving the PC to the end of the initiative order when they drop gives everyone else in the party a chance to act before the downed PC rolls their first dying save. This doesn't make much of a difference at dying 1, but if the PC is wounded, drops to a critical hit/failure, or has persistent damage, everyone getting a chance to act first can be critical to ...


13

Since as far as I know there's no reasoning behind that rule present in the books, I'll give you my guess: It's that way so that every other participant in the combat has a chance to act before the fallen PC has to roll his first recovery check. For example, this way other party members have a chance to help or heal the fallen PC before dying because of a ...


Top 50 recent answers are included