New answers tagged

6

I have not seen that interpretation before, but I like it. All the games I have played (and my own DMing) that dealt with this just ran it like any other duration spell -- it controls the undead for 24 hours from casting, and if you overlap them, they don't "stack" -- you just get 24 hours from whenever the most recent casting was. However, reading ...


4

You can "stack" the duration of control once (up to 48 hours), but not more than that I've put "stack" in quotes here because stacking is not really how it works at all. It's more like renewing a daily subscription. Let's say you cast Animate Dead and animate a zombie at 9 AM. We'll call this day 0. The zombie is under your control for 24 ...


0

Two successive castings of Animate Dead in a 24 hours period will grant you the control for 48 hours. Let's examine the description of the spell (emphasis mine): The creature is under your control for 24 hours, after which it stops obeying any command you've given it. To maintain control of the creature for another 24 hours, you must cast this spell on the ...


4

The duration of Animate Dead giving you control is effectively 24 hours beginning from your last casting of the spell. The regular duration of Animate Dead is instantaneous. This means that (1) you create the undead instantaneously (after the casting time of 1 minute) and (2) the duration of the control effect is 24 hours. The creature is under your ...


1

Stock standard turn undead will work if the undead are close enough Paladins and clerics can use their channel divinity ability to turn undead. A turned undead will spend the next minute running away and not following orders. The trick, of course is dealing with the 30 foot limit.


0

My reading of Animate Dead's you can use a Bonus Action to mentally Command any creature you made with this spell combined with an Antimagic field would mean that the caster cannot - while in the field - control the undead, since the mental commanding is clearly a magical feature granted by the skill. IMHO this would not release them from his control ...


7

No Most spells and effects that deal with positive or negative energy will state their effect on living and undead creatures. Chill Touch for example will not heal undead despite saying it deals negative energy damage. Instead, it will cause fear in the undead. It is a case by case basis and does not have a very consistent behavior. Negative Channeled ...


11

Undead don't have a dedicated language In general, they speak languages they knew in life. Here's a couple of examples: Zombie Languages understands the languages it knew in life but can't speak Vampire Languages the languages it knew in life Skeleton Languages Understands all languages it knew in life but can't speak There are plane-specific undead like ...


5

It applies to any or all undead originally created by the caster's use of Animate Dead that remain under the control of the caster There is a plain English differentiation in the rules between a "casting (of a spell)" and the spell itself. A particular casting of a spell is not the spell itself. When they use the phrasing "you can use a bonus ...


1

You command all creatures made using any casting by you of animate dead with the one bonus action The spell description for animate dead only works to create one undead creature at a time. As such, the part of the spell text which talks about "any creature you made with this spell" must refer to multiple castings of this specific spell. The higher ...


-2

I would say that you can command any all of your controlled undead at the same time. I interpret that to mean multiple castings of "this spell". You can only issue one command per bonus action, though, so you can't say "these ones do A, these ones do B, these ones do C" all at once. But you could pick whichever ones you wanted, and have ...


4

Player Characters can have any alignment. Chapter 1 of Tasha's Cauldron of Everything provides a set of optional character creation rules that showcase the flexibility players can have when creating their characters. In that same chapter, they clarify the Rules As Intended regarding alignment: The description of a race might suggest various things about ...


3

Lifelink behaves the same regardless of what creature is bonded. So whether living, dead, undead, dhampir, or even a construct, lifelink heals the target for 5 when the oracle is damaged for 5. It simply has no rule suggesting otherwise. Moreover, it’s not at all clear what the ”inverse” would even be here. If anything, the ability would just fail—but if ...


2

The Pennangalen template. The hideous penanggalen is one of the most horrific vampiric monstrosities. By day, a penanggalen appears to be a normal humanoid, but at night or when provoked, the creature’s head rips free from the rest of her body, coils of viscera and entrails dangling from her throat as she launches into the air, seeking blood to sate her ...


12

The simple answer to “do you also need to make a saving throw for turn undead?” is “No,” just because no one ever makes a saving throw against turn undead. Turn undead simply affects any undead that fits within its HD limits (after accounting for turn resistance), no save allowed. That said, the real question here is “If you're undead and you use turn undead ...


Top 50 recent answers are included