Yes, you are missing something; an incapacitated creature cannot maintain concentration:
Being incapacitated or killed. You lose concentration on a spell if you are incapacitated or if you die. (PHB 203)
Once the Raven lands on the Warlock's shoulder, Earthen Grasp ends as it becomes incapacitated.
While perched on your shoulder, the raven can’t ...
Jeremy Crawford deemed it to not work
So, a few minutes after I posted this question, I found some information from Jeremy Crawford which explained how it didn't work. One of his answers here says that it says "a Medium creature", which does not include creatures on top of other creatures:
Twitter user: Just so you know, the #DND hive mind has already ...
As far as I'm aware, there are no official rules regarding the diet of either of these two creatures. As such, it would depend on the DM, as usual. However:
If you insist on using real world logic, keep in mind that while the head of the minotaur is indeed bovine (Thus its teeth are best suited for chewing plants, mostly grass) most of its lower body is ...
It comes down to DM ruling
Even the designers leave the timing of reactions up to the DM (Sage Advice). So that leaves both events as instantaneous. (Reactions are said to be that on PHB 170, for disintegrate it is inferred from the spell text.)
Why not both?
Turning to ashes and then rising in flames is pretty much a phoenix's thing. Also, another ...
This article does an excellent job of describing in detail the changes between the stock ranger and the UA Ranger Revised, but I'll summarise for the Stack. Generally the Ranger is made more mobile, its abilities more widely applicable, and attack more dangerous, but probably the most important change is the introduction of the Beast Conclave archetype, as a ...
This is answered directly by the box text at the beginning of every single Unearthed Arcana article:
This Is Playtest Content
The material here is presented for playtesting and to spark your imagination. These game mechanics are in draft form, usable in your campaign but not refined by
final game design and editing. They aren’t officially part of ...
One is an official published version and the other a rough draft
Unearthed Arcana is WotC's way of playtesting material before potential publishing. You can use it, but it is always considered to be in "rough draft" form until it is published. Sometimes UA material never makes it out of UA playtesting, but when it does, it is often changed to a lesser or ...
The rules simply don’t cover this case; it is entirely up to the DM to decide what happens.
Four possibilities spring to my mind:
The net returns, without the target, making the endeavor pointless.
The returning property fails entirely, the net being pinned in place by the target.
The target is dragged back to the artificer.
The returning is delayed until ...
I think it would be safe to assume that, even though the ranger knows where he/she is, they no longer know which direction their quarry went!
The consequences of this depend on the DM and the adventure.
Either the ranger and other characters need to find another way of figuring out where to go, or it may be acceptable to start a wide search of the area (...
Artisan Tools function more-or-less the same for Artificers as they do for other classes; with a few perks
Any character with proficiency in Artisan's Tools is able to use those tools to craft items, magical or non-magical.
The non-magical rules are introduced in the Players's Handbook, expanded upon to include magical items in the Dungeon Master's Guide, ...
Does this mean the Warlock cannot be targeted by attacks or harmful spells while merged with the Raven?
You don't gain the benefits the raven gets when perched on your shoulder, but the benefits you gain when the raven is perched on your shoulder.
While the raven is perched on your shoulder,
you gain darkvision with a range of 30 feet and a
The remote access spell should not work here, or at least is hardly the best option
The remote access spell states:
You can use any electronic device within range as if it were in your hands. This is not a telekinesis effect. Rather, this spell allows you to simulate a device's mechanical functions electronically. You are able to access only functions ...
The Phoenix is mentioned in Chapter 9: Dungeon Master's Workshop under Creating a Monster. It is an example for Modifying a Monster:
Need a fiery phoenix? [...]
I don't know how much I am allowed to quote, but this should be enough to answer your question.
With the release of Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes comes a stat block for the Phoenix (...
At your DM’s option, you can select eladrin as the subrace for an
elf character, instead of one of the elf subraces in the Player’s
Handbook. (same UA article)
Members of a subrace have the traits of the parent race in addition to
the traits specified for their subrace. (PHB 17)
The eladrin traits are added to the traits of the base race (elf).
Yes, artificers can be counterspelled
Although the "flavoring" is different, artificers' spells have the same kinds of components that other spellcasters do. In essence, rather than drawing on some innate magic or some eldritch power, or manipulating the Weave through studied techniques or through music, artificers instead cast spells by infusing magic into ...
No, you do not need to know Fireball - the language of "you can cast" enables you to cast it through this feature regardless of whether or not you know the spell. This Eldritch Invocation uses the same language as the ones that allow you to cast spells the Warlock usually cannot learn, such as Dreadful Word or Ascendant Step.
To supplement this answer, note ...
UA is wrong: a simple example shows it so.
Wizwiz, a level 5 wizard with INT 18 casts Charm Person on Barbar, a barbarian with WIS 8.
Wizwiz's spell save DC is (8 + proficiency bonus + INT mod) = 15. Barbar's WIS save modifier is-1. If Barbar rolls a 16-20 he resists the charm. Barbar resists 25% of the time.
Wizwiz's save check ...
As you also quote:
You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you
can see moves out of your reach.
None of the creatures have moved if your reach changes, therefore they do not provoke Opportunity Attacks.
This reading is also supported by the rest of the OA rules that state that forced movement does not provoke. The target has to ...
If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (PHB 125).
That would imply that you could pick the proficiency as artificer, swap out the racial copy to something else, and thus get Tinker's Tools as a 'class proficiency'.
As written, the ranger gains advantage on all initiative rolls and on (most) first-round attacks.
The relevant portion of the class feature Natural Explorer is simple:
You have advantage on initiative rolls.
On your first turn during combat, you have advantage on attack rolls against creatures that have not yet acted.
You have advantage on ...
A firearm isn't a crossbow. Feats, like all character features, only do what they say they do. So as written, Crossbow Expert only allows you to ignore the loading feature of crossbows, not any other missile weapons.
Furthermore, of the firearms detailed in the DMG (pp. 267-268) and the Artificer UA playtest material, only two (the Renaissance pistol ...
This is playtest material, so the wording isn't always as hammered-out as we hope final material is, but... I think you're reading the text wrong. It says:
Doing so grants you a +1 bonus to your AC until the start of your next turn or until you’re not holding the weapon.
... which you interpret as "the benefit lasts as long as one or the other is true". ...
It doesn't say it counts as armor or natural armor or anything, so it doesn't. It's just 1 AC on top of everything else, to emphasize the sturdiness of Warforged. It should stack with everything and prohibit nothing.
To support this, note that the Warforged trait provides a bonus to AC, rather than setting it to a number, as armor is wont to do. The ...
Jeremy Crawford actually addressed this in a podcast on 2017-11-27. I'll link it here (start at 35:44), but here are the main points:
It wasn't in Xanathar's, but they announced in advance that it wouldn't be in it
They are still working on revised Ranger. It's not like it's fate was sunk by low satisfaction or something.
Putting out a "redo" on a core ...
Automatically failing a death save doesn't depend on you being conscious or not, it depends on you having 0 HP.
Damage at 0 Hit Points. If you take any damage while you have 0 hit points, you suffer a death saving throw failure.
And the Rage Beyond Death ability states:
you suffer the normal effects of taking damage while at 0 hit ...
I'm going to completely ignore the dnd-5e tag, because this is a fluff question, not a crunch one. The diet of the minotaur won't affect a bit of his game statistics.
While the question is about the Dragonlance brand of minotaur, let's indulge. The original analysis of the Greek minotaur monster is below.
The Krynn minotaurs are a different kind of ...