107

Yes, you are missing something; an incapacitated creature cannot maintain concentration: Being incapacitated or killed. You lose concentration on a spell if you are incapacitated or if you die. (PHB 203) Once the Raven lands on the Warlock's shoulder, Earthen Grasp ends as it becomes incapacitated. While perched on your shoulder, the raven can’t ...


56

You will not receive any benefits of a long rest This includes Hit Die refresh, Hit Point recovery, spell slots, abilities that refresh on a long rest, etc. Basically, while you won't suffer the negative effects of skipping a long rest, you also don't enjoy any of the benefits of having taken one.


54

Jeremy Crawford deemed it to not work So, a few minutes after I posted this question, I found some information from Jeremy Crawford which explained how it didn't work. One of his answers here says that it says "a Medium creature", which does not include creatures on top of other creatures: Twitter user: Just so you know, the #DND hive mind has ...


48

It comes down to DM ruling Even the designers leave the timing of reactions up to the DM (Sage Advice). So that leaves both events as instantaneous. (Reactions are said to be that on PHB 170, for disintegrate it is inferred from the spell text.) Why not both? Turning to ashes and then rising in flames is pretty much a phoenix's thing. Also, another similar ...


45

As far as I'm aware, there are no official rules regarding the diet of either of these two creatures. As such, it would depend on the DM, as usual. However: If you insist on using real world logic, keep in mind that while the head of the minotaur is indeed bovine (Thus its teeth are best suited for chewing plants, mostly grass) most of its lower body is ...


39

This is answered directly by the box text at the beginning of every single Unearthed Arcana article: This Is Playtest Content The material here is presented for playtesting and to spark your imagination. These game mechanics are in draft form, usable in your campaign but not refined by final game design and editing. They aren’t officially part of ...


38

This article does an excellent job of describing in detail the changes between the stock ranger and the UA Ranger Revised, but I'll summarise for the Stack. Generally the Ranger is made more mobile, its abilities more widely applicable, and attack more dangerous, but probably the most important change is the introduction of the Beast Conclave archetype, as a ...


35

One is an official published version and the other a rough draft Unearthed Arcana is WotC's way of playtesting material before potential publishing. You can use it, but it is always considered to be in "rough draft" form until it is published. Sometimes UA material never makes it out of UA playtesting, but when it does, it is often changed to a ...


35

The rules simply don’t cover this case; it is entirely up to the DM to decide what happens. Four possibilities spring to my mind: The net returns, without the target, making the endeavor pointless. The returning property fails entirely, the net being pinned in place by the target. The target is dragged back to the artificer. The returning is delayed until ...


34

I think it would be safe to assume that, even though the ranger knows where he/she is, they no longer know which direction their quarry went! The consequences of this depend on the DM and the adventure. Either the ranger and other characters need to find another way of figuring out where to go, or it may be acceptable to start a wide search of the area (...


33

WOTC acknowledged in the preface of Unearthed Arcana: Revised Ranger that the Ranger Archetype beast master has been unpopular to play as it is underpowered. Many players want to play rangers, but few were happy with the class, which held its place at the bottom of class power rankings by a significant margin. The class’s individual features also ...


32

Does this mean the Warlock cannot be targeted by attacks or harmful spells while merged with the Raven? You don't gain the benefits the raven gets when perched on your shoulder, but the benefits you gain when the raven is perched on your shoulder. While the raven is perched on your shoulder, you gain darkvision with a range of 30 feet and a bonus ...


31

No You can stop concentrating to make them all disappear but concentration is either on or off - it's never half on.


30

Playtest-quality Material & Internet Permanence All Unearthed Arcana is officially playtest-quality material. Wizards of the Coast does not have a hit squad1 to hunt down people using rules that they don't like. They have neither implicit nor explicit authority to remove playtest material from use at any given table. You need more DM buy-in than normal ...


30

At your DM’s option, you can select eladrin as the subrace for an elf character, instead of one of the elf subraces in the Player’s Handbook. (same UA article) Members of a subrace have the traits of the parent race in addition to the traits specified for their subrace. (PHB 17) The eladrin traits are added to the traits of the base race (elf).


30

Artisan Tools function more-or-less the same for Artificers as they do for other classes; with a few perks Any character with proficiency in Artisan's Tools is able to use those tools to craft items, magical or non-magical. The non-magical rules are introduced in the Players's Handbook, expanded upon to include magical items in the Dungeon Master's Guide, ...


30

The remote access spell should not work here, or at least is hardly the best option The remote access spell states: You can use any electronic device within range as if it were in your hands. This is not a telekinesis effect. Rather, this spell allows you to simulate a device's mechanical functions electronically. You are able to access only functions ...


29

The Phoenix is mentioned in Chapter 9: Dungeon Master's Workshop under Creating a Monster. It is an example for Modifying a Monster: Need a fiery phoenix? [...] (DMG, p.273) I don't know how much I am allowed to quote, but this should be enough to answer your question. With the release of Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes comes a stat block for the Phoenix (...


29

As you also quote: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. None of the creatures have moved if your reach changes, therefore they do not provoke Opportunity Attacks. This reading is also supported by the rest of the OA rules that state that forced movement does not provoke. The target has to ...


29

This can only be an error. The spell's description, not the class spell list, tells what level it is: Each spell description begins with a block of information, including the spell's name, level, school of magic, casting time, range, components, and duration. Spell lists are sorted by level for convenience, but there's no such thing as a spell that's ...


28

Yes, artificers can be counterspelled Although the "flavoring" is different, artificers' spells have the same kinds of components that other spellcasters do. In essence, rather than drawing on some innate magic or some eldritch power, or manipulating the Weave through studied techniques or through music, artificers instead cast spells by infusing ...


27

No, you do not need to know Fireball - the language of "you can cast" enables you to cast it through this feature regardless of whether or not you know the spell. This Eldritch Invocation uses the same language as the ones that allow you to cast spells the Warlock usually cannot learn, such as Dreadful Word or Ascendant Step. To supplement this answer, note ...


27

On the ranged side, there's really only the sling. You could theoretically go whole-hog on ranged Fighter, taking the Archery style to bolster your attack rolls, and just accepting that your damage isn't going to be fantastic. There are three decent options for melee combat: Learn martial arts If you take at least one level of Monk, you'll gain the Martial ...


26

UA is wrong: a simple example shows it so. Wizwiz, a level 5 wizard with INT 18 casts Charm Person on Barbar, a barbarian with WIS 8. PHB Rules Wizwiz's spell save DC is (8 + proficiency bonus + INT mod) = 15. Barbar's WIS save modifier is-1. If Barbar rolls a 16-20 he resists the charm. Barbar resists 25% of the time. UA Rules Wizwiz's save check modifier ...


26

The Good If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead. (PHB 125). That would imply that you could pick the proficiency as artificer, swap out the racial copy to something else, and thus get Tinker's Tools as a 'class proficiency'. The Bad The ...


26

No, dispel magic will not remove the turrets Arcane Turret says: At 3rd level you learn how to create a magical turret. With your smith's tools in hand you can take an action to magically summon a Medium turret [...] So the turrets are magical and are created by taking a specially defined action as part of a class feature. However they are not spells or ...


25

As written, the ranger gains advantage on all initiative rolls and on (most) first-round attacks. The relevant portion of the class feature Natural Explorer is simple: You have advantage on initiative rolls. On your first turn during combat, you have advantage on attack rolls against creatures that have not yet acted. You have advantage on initiative rolls....


25

No. A firearm isn't a crossbow. Feats, like all character features, only do what they say they do. So as written, Crossbow Expert only allows you to ignore the loading feature of crossbows, not any other missile weapons. Furthermore, of the firearms detailed in the DMG (pp. 267-268) and the Artificer UA playtest material, only two (the Renaissance pistol ...


25

This is playtest material, so the wording isn't always as hammered-out as we hope final material is, but... I think you're reading the text wrong. It says: Doing so grants you a +1 bonus to your AC until the start of your next turn or until you’re not holding the weapon. ... which you interpret as "the benefit lasts as long as one or the other is true". ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible