New answers tagged

17

If you notice, warlocks aren't included in the list of multiclass spellcasting slot calculations. This is because warlocks' Pact Magic feature isn't the same as the Spellcasting class feature and has a different way of handling spell slots. Page 164 of the Players Handbook actually explains this. "If you have both the Spellcasting class feature and the ...


6

Keeping spoilers to a minimum: there are some enemies in Curse of Strahd with resistance or immunity to necrotic damage. However it’s not most of the enemies and you should do fine in this respect. They’re primarily the types of creatures (like vampires!) where everyone is expected to go a little outside their standard “I hit it with my basic attack again” ...


26

Something similar can already be achieved RAW You mention that you're playing a Hexblade Warlock, with the Pact of the Blade pact boon. Whilst Pact of the Blade only allows the single weapon, this is separate from your "Hex weapon", by which I mean the weapon that you can designate as per your Hex Warrior class feature. The Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior ...


9

No big issues The main consequence that you might not be considering is that a Warlock doesn't necessarily have to use a pact weapon themselves; Their pact weapons can be used by others and they can exist away from the Warlock for up to a minute. A not-so-uncommon thing to do would be to hand over a pact weapon to a Fighter, Paladin or something of the sort ...


2

Use the highest relevant miss chance from concealment The Player's Handbook on Concealment Miss Chance says, "Multiple concealment conditions (such as a defender in a fog and under the effect of a blur spell) do not stack" (152). Like most things that overlap instead of stack, only the highest amount—if any—applies, and if none of the amounts are highest ...


3

David laid a lot of great foundation here, but I think I found a few ways that we can improve on this a bit. 1) Use a "Hold X" spell. This spell is going to be your best friend. This is because they are paralyzed which means that a) you attack with advantage and b) any attack that hits will CRIT automatically if the attacker is within 5 feet. While gaining ...


1

There are multiple ways to adjudicate this question. Technically any effects that produce a miss chance affect only by the highest miss chance in play at the moment of the attack so for a textbook answer there you go. This is to streamline die rolls during combat so that a single attack doesn't bog down the flow of the action but this restricts game play ...


2

You don’t need to roll anything at all to summon it; that’s just something you can do, whenever you want, as much as you want. The stats given in the description are for the sake of figuring out the bonuses on any rolls that the arm makes. So you know its BAB and its Strength and can figure out attack rolls, grapple checks, and so on.


5

If a spell has material components, you can cast it without letting go of the crossbow at all. The rules on "Material Components" state (emphasis mine): [...] A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components. ...


3

This answer assumes these special homebrew temp hp stack with all other temp hp, contrary to the normal rules, but are always used up last. If that's not the case, the option can't really be balanced very effectively. Upper Bound You can put an upper bound on the number of temporary hit points to replace hp above whatever minimum number you picked with by ...


6

There are spells and abilities available to warlocks to get temporary HP One way to have this character make use of temporary HP is to take advantage of the ways in which a warlock can gain temporary HP by themselves (since their magic comes from their patron, flavour-wise, this also suits the narrative explanation about the patron keeping them alive). The ...


5

You must be 6th level to learn (one of) those invocations The text you are looking at is the spell level equivalent for invocations. The information you are looking for is a page earlier (page 7). The four grades of invocations, in order of their relative power, are least, lesser, greater, and dark. A warlock begins with knowledge of one invocation, ...


-3

The Invocation "fiendish vigour" states You can cast False Life on yourself at will as a 1st-level spell, without expending a spell slot or material components. So it wouldn't even take a turn (action/bonus action) you can literally cast it as many times as you want in one turn with no care for the action economy, you could practicaly say you just take 8 ...


20

Your friend is right, mostly I'm assuming a Zariel Tiefling. Casting shillelagh on your quarterstaff changes its damage die to 1d8 and allows you to use CHA for attack and damage. Casting searing smite at 2nd level means that the next melee weapon hit adds 2d6 fire damage (not 1d6 as in the question) to the initial hit, and the target takes 1d6 damage ...


1

Warlock benefits from anima mage Correct, anima mage only improves the warlock’s “spellcasting,” and “You do not, however, gain any other benefit a character of that class would have gained,” (Tome of Magic pg. 50). Complete Arcane defines the warlock’s “spellcasting,” for the purpose of prestige class progressions like anima mage’s, as follows: Warlocks ...


10

No, you can't (at least not on the same turn or round) Grasp of Hadar explicitly states (emphasis mine): Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your eldritch blast, you can move that creature in a straight line 10 feet closer to you. If you absolutely want to pull a creature up twice in a round, you can multiclass into Sorcerer and ...


8

The text of Grasp of Hadar (XGtE, p57) states Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with your Eldritch Blast So it can't be used multiple times in a turn - hitting with extra beams won't allow more uses.


2

No, it's an instantaneous pull When you pull the wolf, you move it towards your position as if you where kicking him in the butt (or the opposite side of the wolf), not as a grapple. However, if you and/or your GM liked physics force problems at school, you could try to pull the wolf in a diagonal towards the cliff, calculate the pulling motion, discuss ...


7

The wolf will fall from point Y - the Eldritch Blast and the pull effect occur before your movement continues. Movement and attacks both happen during a character's turn, but an attack occurs at one specific point in the character's movement. According to the combat rules: You can break up your Movement on Your Turn, using some of your speed before and ...


16

Grasp of Hadar does not grapple Features do what they say they do. Grasp of Hadar says that you can move that creature in a straight line 10 feet closer to you (XGtE 57) You move it 10 feet once and that is it. There is no indication that the victim's position would be affected by the movement of the warlock. You, however, can grapple If you bring the ...


3

As the other answers have said, the answer to the first part of the question is yes. You lift him 10 feet, he falls 10 feet, and takes the usual damage. For the second part, I would consider vertical movement to follow the same measurement rules as horizontal. If you are playing on a grid (PHB 192), two 5' squares diagonally is still measured as 10'. So ...


5

The only condition that changes is the starting point of the spell The description doesn't say anything about sharing senses with the bonded creature, nor that you can use it senses in any way, so if you need line of sight for a spell to work then you have to see where you are aiming from your position. For example, you could aim your magic missile at ...


23

Drop 'em like they're hot This was a phenomenal maneuver! As you've said, the warlock invocation grasp of hadar states: you can move that creature in a straight line 10 feet closer to you. Since you are flying and above them, that does mean you pull them off the ground. There is no difference in the language or any requirement that they stay on the ...


2

RAW: Yes, the berserker take falling damage (they are now 10ft away from the ground, if they haven't, for any reasons, a flying speed, they are falling). If we want to be accurate to physic (which is not RAW), then the barbarian is 10ft away from the ground only if you are exactly over him, else you have to use the pytagore theorem (or al kashi theorem if ...


5

The spell research guidelines aren’t really a capability of anyone, spellcaster or otherwise. The entire concept of researching a new spell is entirely up to the DM—the guidelines just provide ideas for a DM who wishes to make a character work for it in-character. But the actual ability to get a new spell comes from the Rule 0—that is the DM changing the ...


Top 50 recent answers are included