Hot answers tagged

39 votes
Accepted

Does the light crossbow have the "light" property?

No It is not a light weapon. If it was, it would have the Light property. The name light is a) legacy (the crossbow, light has been in D&D since at least AD&D) and b) relative to the other ...
user avatar
  • 10.9k
31 votes

What deals more damage on a weapon, +1 to hit or +1 to damage?

It depends. As explained in greater detail below, +1 to hit is better than +1 to damage when the following inequality is true: $$21+H-D<AC$$ Where: \$D\$ = Average damage on a hit (before ...
user avatar
31 votes
Accepted

Can I stab through two enemies using a spear?

With a Reach weapon (glaive, lance, pike, halberd) you can do it with a Maneuver The Battlemaster Fighter can use a number of combat maneuvers, one of which has the desired effect if we are wielding a ...
user avatar
25 votes

How do I upgrade my party's weapons?

Power increases primarily come from class features, ASIs, and the proficiency bonus. Generally speaking, a boring, mundane weapon in D&D 5e is perfectly usable from 1st level, all the way to 20th ...
user avatar
25 votes
Accepted

Does seeking arrow travel its weapon's long or short range before disappearing?

"Range" is never defined without the qualifiers "normal" and "long". You have quoted the definition of the Range property: Range. [...] When attacking a target beyond ...
user avatar
23 votes
Accepted

Is a weapon proficiency also a skill proficiency, or are the two things completely distinct from each other?

Weapon proficiencies are not skills Skills are defined in chapter 7 of the Player's Handbook (and the Basic Rules). They are a specific set of proficiency which will let you add your proficiency on ...
user avatar
  • 43.5k
22 votes
Accepted

What deals more damage on a weapon, +1 to hit or +1 to damage?

All things being equal, damage bonuses are more valuable against low-AC targets where you're probably going to hit anyway, while to-hit is more valuable against high-AC targets where misses drag down ...
user avatar
21 votes
Accepted

If a paladin that used sacred weapon on a two handed weapon takes one hand off the weapon does sacred weapon dispell?

"If you are no longer holding or carrying this weapon, or if you fall unconscious, this effect ends." This is the end condition for Sacred Weapon (Oath of Devotion Channel Divinity): If you ...
user avatar
20 votes

Does the Flame Blade spell count as a melee weapon that can be used with the paladin's Divine Smite feature?

No Generally, flame blade is not considered a weapon and so doesn't work with spells and features which require one, such as green flame blade or opportunity attacks. For Divine Smite though there's ...
user avatar
  • 43.5k
19 votes

Does the light crossbow have the "light" property?

The "Crossbow, light" has the properties "Ammunition (range 80/320), loading, two-handed" From the Simple Ranged Weapons table in chapter 5 of the PHB, we see that the light ...
user avatar
17 votes
Accepted

Does a Melee attack with a Hand Crossbow allow you to make another Hand Crossbow attack with your bonus action using the Crossbow Expert Feat?

Yes, Crossbow Expert allows you to pistol whip with a hand crossbow and then do the same thing as a bonus action The first part of this interaction hinges on whether or not an improvised weapon is ...
user avatar
  • 62.5k
16 votes

Do the UA thri-kreen's 4 arms enable any higher-damage weapon combinations?

Crossbow Expert with Hand Crossbow and Shield One way to view this combo is “higher AC when using a hand crossbow”, which isn’t what the question asks. However, Crossbow Expert is widely regarded as ...
user avatar
15 votes
Accepted

What size is a Solar's Sword?

It's not specified, but there are some guidelines. The Solar's ability reveals that the sword must indeed occupy an empty space (just like a creature would): The solar releases its greatsword to ...
user avatar
  • 44.3k
15 votes
Accepted

How does Polearm Master interact with Quarterstaff and Whip?

The relevant reach for the opportunity attack on an approaching enemy is the reach of your polearm, because the rules have changed. It's very understandable that this question got brought up. The ...
user avatar
15 votes

Does the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature let me add my Cha bonus to attack/damage rolls with a two-handed pact weapon?

Yes And the meaning of type has no bearing on the answer The rules state that: ...this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type. (Emphasis mine)...
user avatar
  • 5,311
15 votes
Accepted

Can monks use a Sun Blade as monk weapon?

Yes, with the Dedicated Weapon optional class feature Monks are proficient with shortswords: Proficiencies Armor: None Weapons: Simple weapons, shortswords therefore they are proficient with the ...
user avatar
14 votes

How to get access to Spiked Chain?

Be a Cleric of Luhar, or Zon-Kuthon Cleric's have the following proficiency: Trained in the favored weapon of your deity. If your deity’s favored weapon is uncommon, you also gain access to that ...
user avatar
  • 10.2k
13 votes

Are there any weapons that have the heavy property, but not the Two-handed property?

No. A brief survey of the equipment tables found in chapter 5 of the Player’s Handbook shows no mundane weapons which have the heavy property but lack the two handed property. This observation is ...
user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

Does the Hex Warrior feature allow a Hexblade warlock to create a ranged pact weapon?

Hex Warrior does not change the types of weapons you can conjure with The Pact of the Blade feature. Nothing in Hex Warrior indicates that it changes what weapons are available for Pact of the Blade. ...
user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

Do strikes with weapons etched with runes inherit traits from those runes?

No, with the latest errata and clarifications from paizo available here. In fact, this specific interaction with Conduct Energy is called out in the section for the Lost Omens Ancestry Guide that the ...
user avatar
  • 3,452
12 votes

Does the light crossbow have the "light" property?

No, and there would be no point if it had Nothing in the properties for the light crossbow states that it has the light property. On top of that, from the rules on weapons: A light weapon is small ...
user avatar
  • 24.6k
12 votes

Do the UA thri-kreen's 4 arms enable any higher-damage weapon combinations?

Weapons and spell focus. You can wield a two-handed weapon or weapon and shield in your primary hands, and a spell focus in one or both of your secondary hands, allowing you to fight with your primary ...
user avatar
  • 12.5k
12 votes

Why are slings damage type only listed as piercing?

Slings deal bludgeoning damage (Weapons Table, PHB, pg. 149): Name Cost Damage Weight Properties Sling 1 sp 1d4 bludgeoning - Ammunition (range 30/120)
user avatar
11 votes
Accepted

Is the double-bladed scimitar considered a "sword"?

Probably, ask your DM. This seems pretty straightforward, as it has the word "scimitar" in the name, and there is certainly no rule that I am aware of that says it can't. The important thing ...
user avatar
11 votes
Accepted

Does attacking with a Dragon Wing Hand Crossbow require one hand or two?

It requires two hands The Dragon Wing Bow can be any type of bow, but its description states (FToD, p. 23; emphasis mine): If you load no ammunition in the weapon, it produces its own, automatically ...
user avatar
10 votes

Does the Hexblade warlock's Hex Warrior feature let me add my Cha bonus to attack/damage rolls with a two-handed pact weapon?

Yes, you can use two handed pact weapon with CHA modifier "Type" refers to a single entry in the Weapons table such as Sickle or Maul. Interestingly enough, the Player's Handbook never ...
user avatar
  • 1,374
10 votes

How do I upgrade my party's weapons?

Weapon upgrades are generally found† magic items Let's cover one thing first, upgrading weapons isn't necessary. The game will tick along perfectly well without any magic items. Don't get me wrong, ...
user avatar
  • 43.5k
10 votes

What size is a Solar's Sword?

Objects do not Control a space Space: A creature's space is the area in feet that it effectively controls in combat, not an expression of its physical dimensions. A typical Medium creature isn't 5 ...
user avatar
  • 4,926
10 votes
Accepted

What happens to a destroyed Pact Weapon?

Yes, it’s still your pact weapon The weapon ceases being your pact weapon if you die, if you perform the 1-hour ritual on a different weapon, or if you use a 1-hour ritual to break your bond to it. ...
user avatar
  • 189k
10 votes

Would clawed gauntlets be considered simple weapons?

Do ask your DM I’m asking for more opinions on this before asking the dm, mostly because I’m rather new to dnd and am worried I’ve missed something obvious and would sound like an idiot… That's ...
user avatar
  • 20.1k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible