54

This effect does not affect your hit points at all. It makes you look different, gives you conditions, and that's it. When you take damage, you are still taking damage, and when you reach 0 hit points, you are unconscious and making death saving throws. You also stop looking like a potted plant. Anything in gaming being inspired by Munchkin is a chicken ...


42

While not a RAW answer, I would consider how the pearl of power works and has been errata'd over time in this scenario. The original text of the item read: You can use an action to speak this pearl's command word and regain one expended spell slot of up to 3rd level. Over time, Crawford suggested that warlocks should be allowed to regain slots with a pearl ...


34

Wild Magic, as written, increases DM overhead I've played a few sessions where a player was playing a wild magic sorcerer. After reminding the DM about the wild magic ability, the DM said that he was aware of it. Do you want to guess how many times we rolled for wild magic? It was zero. Basically, there are so many moving parts to being a DM that it's ...


33

No, it does not affect ability scores - 5e removed the influence of a characters age to their ability points There are no rules for adjusting ability scores based on the age of the adventurer. Your young Tiefling would have the same scores and proficiencies as he always had. In 5e age is just a fluff stat with no mechanical influence. While there are some ...


32

Casting Spells as part of a Wild Surge does not use a spell slot I have to admit this answer is light on "proof" but I don't believe the Wild Surge is intended to require the sorcerer to burn a spell slot, and in any game I run I would not have it do so. Reason #1: it's a "surge" The Wild Surge class feature states: your spellcasting can unleash surges ...


28

The sorcerer's death saving throw can use Tides of Chaos. That's because it's not the character who is acting, it's the player. It's not explicitly spelled out, but there's a chain of reasoning that gets us there: In class descriptions, "you" sometimes refers to players, sometimes to characters. This is patently clear from reading almost any paragraph in ...


27

The newly released errata for the PHB answers this question definitively: If a Wild Magic effect is a spell, it’s too wild to be affected by Metamagic. If it normally requires concentration, it doesn’t require concentration in this case; the spell lasts for its full duration. So you can't use any form of metamagic on spells cast by your Wild ...


27

For a new and inexperienced DM, the best advice I have is the same advice I provide to someone learning how to write creatively: Learn the rules before you break them. You mentioned just getting into 5e, and I highly recommend it- in my experience, it is one of the most user-friendly D&D rulesets you can get. While some of the rules and builds could ...


26

There is nothing to prevent you from being made to roll twice on the table. They are two separate class features, if you've used Tides of Chaos, the DM is well within his rights to make you roll the d20 to check to see if you need to roll (for casting a spell), and making you roll on the table to get Tides of Chaos back. That's not to say he should, ...


26

Yes, that's correct. Fireball's AoE is a sphere. From the Area of Effect rules on Spheres: A sphere’s point of origin is included in the sphere’s area of effect. So yep, you're going to hit yourself, and yep, it's going to hurt. As a level 1 Sorcerer, you'll probably have between 7 and 9 max hit points. The saving throw DC will ...


25

I would refer to other rules in the PHB regarding reverting to your original form. Both Wild Shape and Polymorph return you to your HP total from your original form before the transformation when your transformed form HP reach 0. Other transformative spells have similar wording. I would rule this is the case here, as well. Given that the effect occurs on ...


25

Most likely only other creatures This is similar to Aura effects in that: You glow with bright light in a 30-foot radius for the next minute While this doesn't use the word 'aura', the mechanical effect is similar in that you are the effect emanates from you in a specific radius. If we utilize this mechanical similarity, we can look at other Aura effects ...


22

Yes, using Tides of Chaos is legitimate in this situation, at least until we get official errata that states otherwise (I could not find any). While you generally can't do "anything" whilst at zero hit points, you're still clinging on to (what may be your last moments of) life; you can still use your wild magic to tip the scales in your favor. Tides of ...


22

RAW nothing would happen. The feature only does what it says it does. From the section you quoted (emphasis mine): The creature [you're touching] regains one expended spell slot, the level of which equals the number rolled or lower (the creature’s choice). Since the Warlock cannot regain a spell slot of level 3 or lower, nothing happens.


21

The errata for the PHB answers this question definitively: If a Wild Magic effect is a spell, it’s too wild to be affected by Metamagic. If it normally requires concentration, it doesn’t require concentration in this case; the spell lasts for its full duration. So no concentration is required, and the spell will last for its full duration.


19

Yes The key part of the Wild Magic Surge language is cast a sorcerer spell. If you had used Magic Initiate to gain spells from another class, those would not be considered sorcerer spells (supported by the language in magic initiate below from PHB, 168) Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose But a Sorcerer spell is a ...


19

At the end of the casting of a spell The important thing is the quote you mention in your question: immediately after you cast a sorcerer spell of 1st level or higher (PHB, pg. 103) It says "after you cast", so any time before that you are casting the spell, and only once the spell's casting has been completed have you cast the spell.


18

Using Tides of Chaos is not any sort of action. It is a class feature that modifies a saving throw (or other roll). The feature says nothing about it consuming any action or taking any time, therefore it is instantaneous (or simultaneous with the roll being modified). Saving throws don't require an action, therefore neither does a Tides of Chaos-modified ...


17

Assuming you meet all the prerequisites, you can counterspell your own spell. These are: you have counterspell prepared or known as applicable you have your reaction available you have a spell slot of the appropriate level available you are within 60 feet of yourself (probably a given but could be complicated by using a familiar etc.) you are a creature (...


17

For the sake of sanity, add a minimum threshold Things get way too awkward even before zero - at 1 inch (~2.5 cm) and 150 pounds (~68 Kg), the character is now made of something with a stupidly high density. Note that the mass doesn't change with wild magic, so it doesn't vanish - it still has mass. As something can't occupy a zero volume and still have mass,...


17

No, it does not allow Advantage on all attack rolls This is spelled out quite explicitly in the rules you quoted: Starting at 1st level, you can manipulate the forces of chance and chaos to gain advantage on one attack roll, ability check, or saving throw. So you did right the first time.


16

Nahal's Reckless Dweomer has been directly incorporated into the Sorcerer's class features. Starting in 3.5E, the spell was converted into the "Reckless Dweomer" class feature for the Wild Mage prestige class: Complete Arcane, Page 68 Reckless Dweomer (Su): At 9th level and higher, a wild mage knows how to spontaneously convert her own spell ...


16

I went through the Wild Magic Table and came up with five possible results. Positive, gives a clear benefit (48%) Neutral, mostly flavor effect (12%) Negative, causes a clear complication (22%) Monster, causes a creature to appear that could be helpful or harmful depending on the roleplaying. (6%) Potential, could be harmful, could be helpful it depends. ...


16

Yes, this means those spells no longer have a casting of time of one Action, as it's been changed to Bonus Action. You don't have a choice of which to use, since they can no longer be cast using your Action.


16

The spell's area of effect is centered on your location Both of the mentioned spells have a spherical area of effect, centered on a specific point. For example, fireball says (emphasis mine): A bright streak flashes from your pointing finger to a point you choose within range and then blossoms with a low roar into an explosion of flame. Each creature in ...


16

Only other creatures are affected by this, because the rule does not state that you are affected; only other creatures within 5 feet of you. You glow with bright light in a 30-foot radius for the next minute. Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of you is blinded until the end of its next turn. Unlike the result of 95-96, it explicitly states ...


15

This could only work for some effects. Dispel Magic will only mitigate some Wild Magic Surge effects; specifically those that have a persistent effect on you personally. For example, dispel magic won't help against a fireball you cast on yourself. Fireball would need to be counterspelled, but contingency only works spells with a casting time of one action, ...


14

TL;DR: you can subtly dispel magic. Whether or not that solves your bubble problem is a contested question. Yes. Subtle Spell will allow you to cast even while "enbubbled." Subtle Spell allows you to cast a spell--at the cost of a sorcery point--without providing the somatic (gesture) and verbal component(s) of the spell. Since you don't need to ...


14

It does seem kind of intentionally-vague. I suppose that's so the DM and players can determine how much wackiness they want to inject into the campaign. Perhaps there will be more guidance for this in the DMG, when it comes out. Like most things that are left up to DM discretion, this is something that the DM and players should discuss ahead of time, ...


14

Based on the wording there, I would be inclined to say that it cannot wild surge when cast from storage unless the wild mage is also the one casting it from storage. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell This doesn't mention ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible