There are some other benefits that aren't as obvious.
First of all, you gain access to many spells that are either not known/prepared or appear on other class spell lists.
Possibly more potent, however, is the removal of expensive material components and long casting times. Some spell like resurrection, simulacrum, or temple of the gods have much more ...
Per RAW the DM decides about wishes.
You did the right thing. The PHB treatment of wish is pretty clear about - beyond the duplication of other spells - wish being finally adjudicated by the DM. The DMG does not counter that with any further guidance on the results of wishes. This makes it simplest to treat any wish as an iteration of the wish spell.
The consequences of the wording of a wish are, as you note, entirely at the whim of a DM. No one can answer how any particular DM will rule, so keep in mind that any answer is on shaky ground, subjectively.
A DM could rule that you are granted this ability by virtue of being unable to cast Wish for anything but spell duplication, for example.
However, the ...
It's up to the GM
A wish like this falls under this section:
You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the DM as precisely as possible. The DM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance, the greater the wish, the greater the likelihood that something goes wrong.
The question is ...
The wish spell says that, if you wish for too much:
the spell might simply fail, the effect you desire might only be partly achieved, or you might suffer some unforeseen consequence...
If someone says they want their wish "with absolutely no adverse side effects whatsoever", three obvious solutions are:
to rule that the spell simply fails
to rule that ...
Make a Simulacrum, have them cast Wish instead
The material costs for a Simulacrum are only an arbitrary quantity of snow and hair/fingernail clippings, along with 1,500gp of Ruby dust. Wish itself is capable of generating an object worth at least 25,000gp, meaning it can generate 25,000gp worth of Ruby Dust (or a 25,000gp Ruby that can then be smashed into ...
Divine Intervention isn't spellcasting
An important distinction here is this...
Describe the assistance you seek [...] The GM chooses the nature of
the intervention; the effect of any cleric spell or cleric domain
spell would be appropriate.
The deity is not actually casting a spell. They are wielding their divine might to directly implement a ...
I first want to know if a caster is bound to not be able to cast wish anymore, meaning that in the best case after 33 casts without suffering the stress, the caster will definitely suffer it on the 34th cast.
If the caster fails their "stress test" then yes, they are bound do not be able to cast wish anymore. But the "33 tries, then fail on the 34th" isn't ...
No. The duration of Wish is instantaneous
In the quoted Sage Advice, "duration" refers to the the "Duration" field of the spell's description, not whether the spell has a lasting effect. Wish has a duration of Instantaneous; therefore, the spell is instantaneous, even though it has a lasting effect.
I realize the example you give involves an ongoing effect ...
You will still get stress
Jeremy Crawford has clarified exactly this in this tweet:
Wish spell: (1) Duplicated a spell of 8th level or lower? No stress. (2) Did anything else with wish? Stress. #DnD
A normal reading of the rules you already quote also specify "any effect other than duplicating a spell" so I think it is very clear that this is the case
The spell's school is whatever the duplicated spell's school normally is
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell...
Duplicate here mean to "make or be an exact copy of". Note that the wording says the entire spell is duplicated, not just its effects. An exact copy of a spell means that it is identical in every aspect, which includes ...
You're casting a spell using a 9th-level spell slot, the effect of which is to create the effect of another spell of your choosing (so long as that spell is chosen from the 8th-level-or-lower set of spells). It's only one spell you're casting — wish — with an effect that is selected at the time of casting. Thus, you're expending a 9th-level slot for this ...
Wish can duplicate any other spell, even one not on your list
You've quoted the important part yourself:
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower.
There are no qualifications or restrictions to this statement beyond what is said here. As long as it is 8th level or lower you can call any spell.
If there were ...
Pick your poison.
He could use wish either to duplicate the teleport spell, incurring all its mechanics (including the failure chance).
Or he could use wish to create the more powerful effect of “like teleport but without any mishap chance”, which instead incurs the stresses of pushing a wish spell that hard.
The spell that is cast is a conjuration spell
Wish states (emphasis mine):
... You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.
The general rule is that spells do what they say they do. The text of wish states that it duplicates a lower level spell and that the effects of the spell just ...
By RAW, yes, as the rules for Wish don't say anything about magic not being able to end the reduction
You've already quoted in your question the relevant portion of Greater Restoration, which says that it can end any reduction in Ability Scores. In 5e, Specific beats General, and there are no hidden rules. Because Wish doesn't say anything about the ...
The slot used to cast wish is always 9th
Just to be clear, when casting wish you only ever actually use a 9th level slot.
The effective level of the duplicated spell is up to the wisher (max of 8th level)
When you cast wish you get to decide what level the resulting spell is cast at per Jeremy Crawford:
A spell you duplicate with wish can be cast at a ...
I emailed Eliezer Yudkowsky, the author of HPMOR -- this was his response:
I didn't have three exact items in mind. The well-knownness of the
Candle of Invocation hack using only one item dates to after Harry's
So I think that's going to be as good as we can get. Now let us give thanks to Eliezer for taking the time to respond to such a ...
Your casting time is 1 action
Wish only takes a casting of time 1 action to fulfill your Wish. In this case of emulating a spell with longer casting times, it bypasses that longer casting time because (PHB, 288). Emphasis is mine.:
You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.
It depends on how you use the Wish
Wish has, principally, two different classes of use:
Duplicate the effects of a spell
Cause something else to happen; take backlash damage from the Stress of the spell
This means that, in practice, you have two options for bringing a Glyph of Warding into existence:
Duplicate a Glyph of Warding spell exactly as written, ...
A spell's rule text describes what happens when you cast the spell. What happens when you cast it IS "the spell's effect". A spell "taking effect" and a spell "being cast" are one and the same thing.
The phase "The spell simply takes effect" is contrasting with whatever normal procedure for casting the spells is (in terms of components, etc), it is not ...
He does have Wish, but maybe one of the following either has happened or will happen:1. He's cast it once, but now he's unable to ever cast it again. From the spell's description:
Finally, there is a 33 percent chance that you are unable to cast wish
2. The spells fails, anytime he casts it.
The GM has great latitude in ruling what ...
The Ring of Spell Storing says:
Any creature can cast a spell of 1 through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast.
However, wish does not cast spells. It duplicates their effects.
Wish states that you can use it to:
...duplicate the effect of any other spell of 8th level or lower. You
don't need to meet the ...
17th level as a sorcerer or wizard; 18th level as a bard; 17th level as an Arcana cleric
Wish is a 9th-level spell. It's only on the wizard and sorcerer spell lists.
Full caster classes (including sorcerers and wizards) gain 9th-level spell slots at level 17 in the class. Multiclassed spellcasters know/prepare spells as if single-classed, so you need at ...
Wish lets you ignore the requirements of:
providing the correct time casting
providing an appropriate spell slot
having that spell to be on your prepared or known spells list
having that spell be of an appropriate level or school
Requirements, unfortunately, is never really given a game term definition.
So as with all words that don't ...
This can't be done with a single Wish without falling under DM purview.
Alternatively, you can create one of the following effects of your choice...
Granting creatures resistance or immunity are two, separate effects and would require two castings of Wish unless the DM rules otherwise since Wish also states:
You might be able to achieve ...
You could try, but you're not guaranteed to get it
The wish spell lets you make any request to your DM, however they need not fulfil it exactly, or in a way that is satisfactory to you:
You might be able to achieve something beyond the scope of the above examples. State your wish to the GM as precisely as possible. The GM has great latitude in ruling ...
Existing duplicates being destroyed is part of the effect of simulacrum. Using wish to duplicate simulacrum would also duplicate that effect of simulacrum.
Avoiding that effect of the duplicated spell would instead be using wish to do something beyond duplicating an existing spell.
Specifically, it would be casting wish to get the effect “casting ...
Spells cast using wish still require concentration, if they say they do.
The basic use of this spell is to duplicate any other spell of 8th level or lower. You don't need to meet any requirements in that spell, including costly components. The spell simply takes effect.
The Player's Handbook, p 203 says:
A spell's components are the ...