New answers tagged

1

Yes, you can cast at any level you want up to 8th The important thing to note is that a spell cast at a higher level is a higher-level spell. The Basic Rules page 82 says this: Casting a Spell at a Higher Level When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. ...


2

First, a note: It is entirely within the DM's purview to decide that a sorcerer is unable to do this, and/or that a wizard is able to, as wish states that (paraphrased): "If it's not in the list, the DM has the final say." However... Your DM's decision appears, at first glance, to be based on faulty reasoning. According to what you said, the crux of the ...


19

It is entirely up to your DM From a RAW standpoint, the actual spell is cast identically no matter what class casts it. There is no difference in the spell itself when it comes to the caster's class. However, you aren't really asking about the spell and casting of it. You're asking about roleplaying your character and whether or not they would be able to ...


18

Wish takes less than six seconds to cast, but time isn't an issue The casting time for Wish is 1 action. A combat round lasts approximately six seconds - so it cannot take longer than that to cast Wish - and it likely takes considerably less time. However, the details of your wish are part of the meta game - not the in game casting process The text says ...


3

If casting in combat, up to six seconds Wish has a Casting Time of 1 action (PHB, p. 289) During combat, an Action is something that you take as part of your turn. Your turn is roughly six seconds long (ten turns make up a 1 minute round). (PHB, Chapter 9). If casting out of combat - RAW do not limit the time it takes. You can take as long to state ...


8

No, because Chaos Bolt is not a wizard spell. While I might not agree with it, you told us to assume you cast spells duplicated by wish, so I will. Empowered Evocation says you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast. Chaos Bolt is not a wizard evocation spell because it does not appear on the wizard ...


1

No, because duplicating a spell with wish does not count as casting it. You ask us to assume that duplicating the spell does count as casting it, but since the evidence doesn't support that conclusion, the evidence also doesn't support anything predicated on that conclusion. As Abraham Lincoln said: Q: If you call a tail a leg, how many legs does a dog ...


Top 50 recent answers are included