Skip to main content
124 votes
Accepted

What is the purpose of the Evocation wizard's Sculpt Spells feature?

Sculpt Spells exists so you do not hurt your friends When you cast a spell with an area of effect, everyone in the area is affected, including your friends / allies. Sculpt Spells lets you create &...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.5k
123 votes
Accepted

My Wizard is conjuring a piece of the sun. How will this affect my setting?

This could go a number of ways, depending on how you rule it. I'll address the problems first. What is an Object? First and foremost, you have to consider what the definition of an Object is. The ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.9k
94 votes
Accepted

How many copper coins fit inside a cubic foot?

You can only transmute one coin at a time Other answers have given you good estimates of the number of coins that will fit in a cubic foot, but that doesn't matter for your purposes, because you're ...
Ryan C. Thompson's user avatar
62 votes
Accepted

Can a paralyzed creature targeted by an Evocation Wizard's Sculpt Spells feature actually succeed a Dex save?

While these are two contrary rules exceptions, and therefore ambiguous, from a story perspective, Sculpt Spell is intended to represent the evoker guiding their damaging spell to avoid the target, so ...
Darth Pseudonym's user avatar
62 votes
Accepted

Can a Wizard cast a Ritual Spell as many times as they want during the day?

The limit is 142 times Each ritual adds 10 minutes and most spells take 6 seconds1, there are 60 minutes in an hour, 24 hours in a day so 144 lots of 10 minutes, lose just under 15 minutes for the ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 213k
62 votes
Accepted

Is there an in-universe reason why each wizard uses different notation in their spellbook?

It’s how real-world alchemists did things Which is likely something that Gygax—and Vance, assuming Vance’s novels also including writing spells down—would have known. There are famous alchemists. ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
59 votes
Accepted

Will allowing a wizard to cast spell without preparation be unbalanced?

Yes, this is overpowered Your instinct to suggest the Sorcerer Class was a good one. This ability is going to give the Wizard so much versatility there will be almost no situation he cannot solve ...
linksassin's user avatar
  • 31k
54 votes

What is the purpose of the Evocation wizard's Potent Cantrip feature?

The Feature does not only apply to Evocation Spells The feature you are talking about says the following: Starting at 6th level, your damaging cantrips affect even creatures that avoid the brunt of ...
guildsbounty's user avatar
  • 65.9k
52 votes
Accepted

Can a wizard use spells from his spellbook without preparing them?

Only if it is a ritual, and is cast as one A wizard must prepare a list of spells they have available to cast. Available spells do not depend on being in or out of combat, but are simply the spells ...
Gandalfmeansme's user avatar
52 votes
Accepted

How to destroy a spellbook when the wizard dies?

Thanks to the resources of his organization, this wizard has a contingent fireball cast upon the spellbook. (This makes use of the 6th level contingency spell). The contingency spell is keyed to go ...
Farkle's user avatar
  • 552
50 votes

Potent Cantrip with Toll the Dead vs Evasion

The Rogue and Monk would take half damage Your argument seems sound. Since the Evasion feature specifies Dexterity saving throws, but Toll the Dead requires a Wisdom saving throw, Evasion simply doesn'...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.3k
50 votes

Why does the Starter Set wizard have six spells in their spellbook?

While this might not be the case in the Starter Set you are looking at, in the official rules (the full Player's Handbook), 1st-level wizards (PHB 114) are granted a spellbook containing 6 spells. ...
cpcodes's user avatar
  • 4,769
49 votes

How can I curtail abuse of the Illusion wizard's Illusory Reality feature?

When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your turn as a bonus ...
Louis Wasserman's user avatar
48 votes
Accepted

Does a resurrected wizard remember their prepared spells?

There are no hidden rules The rules for dying don’t say you lose your prepared spells. The rules for Resurrection don’t say it either. So you don’t lose them; those spells stay prepared.
Dale M's user avatar
  • 213k
47 votes

Is there a functional reason for wizards to live in towers so often?

There is no functional reason, it's a trope You have tagged your question specifically for dnd-5e and dungeons-and-dragons. 5e does not have any functional rules mechanics (that I am aware of) that ...
Nobody the Hobgoblin's user avatar
46 votes

Do wizards' spells gained per level just appear in their spellbook?

Yes, as soon as the wizard levels up, those two spells are found in one of his spellbooks and he can prepare them the next time he prepares his spells. They do not require time or money to scribe, ...
KRyan's user avatar
  • 354k
45 votes
Accepted

Does a Wizard copying a spell count as one of their two new spells for a level?

Copied spells and the two free spells are separate Note the full wording1 of the Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher section (emphasis mine): Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two ...
Sdjz's user avatar
  • 36.5k
44 votes
Accepted

If a Wizard fails to copy a spell from a Spellbook, when can they try again?

A wizard can never fail, he copies exactly what he means to. The rules for copying spells from sources other than spell scrolls say: When you find a wizard spell of 1st level or higher, you can add ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
43 votes
Accepted

Can a kenku wizard use Expert Forgery when copying a spell scroll into their spellbook?

Your ruling is unlikely to break anything. However, the rules on their own (and the underlying fictional significance of the rules) appear to answer this with a No. The surface rules difficulty is ...
SevenSidedDie's user avatar
43 votes

How can I help/encourage a wizard player with their bookkeeping?

Use Spell Cards. The primary bookkeeping issues with Wizards are knowing what your spells do, knowing which spells you have prepared, and knowing which spells you know. Physical cards with the ...
Icyfire's user avatar
  • 63.7k
43 votes
Accepted

Should a high elf wizard use weapons instead of cantrips?

You don’t give us a criterion for “should” If your criterion is damage potential - maybe. The long bow has a higher average damage on a hit than a Fire Bolt (6.5 vs 5.5). However, if her Intelligence ...
Dale M's user avatar
  • 213k
42 votes
Accepted

Can a Legendary monster ignore a Divination wizard's Portent feature and choose to pass the save anyway?

Excellent question. Yes the legendary creature can still force a success. How this works is portent needs to make the Legendary creature use the roll from itself before the roll is actually made, ...
Elgagard's user avatar
  • 815
42 votes
Accepted

Does a Wizard's spellbook need to be a book?

No, it doesn't need to be a book. From the "Your Spellbook" sidebar in the wizard's Spellcasting feature (PHB p. 114): Your spellbook is a unique compilation of spells, with its own ...
RonV's user avatar
  • 2,404
42 votes
Accepted

When using the evocation wizard's Sculpt Spells, can you protect fewer creatures than the maximum you are allowed?

The ability is poorly written, and the intent is clear. I admit, in a strict RAW sense, you can either choose 1+level or 0. Sculpt spell says: you can choose a number of them equal to 1 + the spell’s ...
Thomas Markov's user avatar
41 votes

Can a Legendary monster ignore a Divination wizard's Portent feature and choose to pass the save anyway?

Yes. The Legendary Resistance ability is phrased as "If the [creature] fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead." This doesn't specify anything about whether the saving throw was from ...
r256's user avatar
  • 1,707
41 votes
Accepted

Would forcing armour on a wizard using an illusion spell and Illusory Reality 'harm' them?

RAW this should be fine Given that, as you say, the illusion of armour, then the armour being made real, do not 'harm' the enemy, then there's no reason why this would contradict the emboldened part ...
NathanS's user avatar
  • 79.3k
40 votes
Accepted

Does a wizard need to find and copy spells into spellbook to remain relevant?

The following analysis focuses on spell scrolls in particular, but the same logic applies to spellbooks. In terms of their effect on the number of spells in your spellbook, the two are interchangeable....
Adam's user avatar
  • 26.6k
39 votes

Is there any way for my wizard to learn just sword proficiency?

Other than the obvious Feat and multi-classing there is a section on training in the DMG and thus totally optional, but it is on p231. The character gains inspiration daily at dawn for 1d4+6 days. ...
Slagmoth's user avatar
  • 22.3k
39 votes
Accepted

Are there really no healing spells available to a wizard?

No, you're not missing anything. Wizards have never had healing abilities in this edition.* Lacking any more concrete designer reason for this, here's a quote from the DMG (page 283), under the "...
daze413's user avatar
  • 28.7k
39 votes

Can Yew Wands be used as a focus for both druids and wizards?

You might say something like: "Oh, well, a wizard can use a wand to cast spells, and a druid's yew wand is a wand, so the wizard can use that." But a wizard's arcane focus isn't just any old ...
Dan B's user avatar
  • 90.4k

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible