Hot answers tagged

81

You can only transmute one coin at a time Other answers have given you good estimates of the number of coins that will fit in a cubic foot, but that doesn't matter for your purposes, because you're missing an important limitation of the Minor Alchemy feature: you can only transmute one object at a time: Starting at 2nd level when you select this school, ...


50

While this might not be the case in the Starter Set you are looking at, in the official rules (the full Player's Handbook), 1st-level wizards (PHB 114) are granted a spellbook containing 6 spells. They can then prepare a number of spells equal to their wizard level + Int modifier for casting (in this case, 4) using their two 1st-level spell slots. ...


49

When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real. You can do this on your turn as a bonus action while the spell is ongoing. The object remains real for 1 minute...The object can't deal damage or otherwise directly harm anyone. From the definition ...


47

The Feature does not only apply to Evocation Spells The feature you are talking about says the following: Starting at 6th level, your damaging cantrips affect even creatures that avoid the brunt of the effect. When a creature succeeds on a saving throw against your cantrip, the creature takes half the cantrip’s damage (if any) but suffers no additional ...


44

Use Spell Cards. The primary bookkeeping issues with Wizards are knowing what your spells do, knowing which spells you have prepared, and knowing which spells you know. Physical cards with the spells written on them solve all three of these issues. You can buy them, or you can just make your own. This way, you always have the spell text itself handy, and ...


38

You might say something like: "Oh, well, a wizard can use a wand to cast spells, and a druid's yew wand is a wand, so the wizard can use that." But a wizard's arcane focus isn't just any old wand. A wizard's arcane focus is an item which was specifically created to be an arcane focus. If the druid's yew wand wasn't specifically created to be an arcane ...


38

Glyph of Warding This assumes the Wizard is the big bad, or at least is on home turf. Cast glyph of warding at 7th level, storing Tenser's transformation, with some trigger that the wizard alone can do, on your castle floor. Wear plate armor and sit on your throne like the king you are. When the invaders come in, stomp on the glyph and say "you're toast, ...


36

There's no need to, you just have a low-interest player You are severely overestimating how much bookkeeping is involved in being a wizard. I've had first-time D&D players play a wizard with no real issue after I helped them set up their initial spelllist, it's really not that much different from playing a different caster, as first-time players can ...


35

Don't be a Wizard. Be a Divine Soul Sorcerer. If you're explicitly not going for any of the utility spells, then you correctly see that there aren't that many good offensive or defensive spells that don't require you to have a good casting stat. My suggestion would be that, rather than going Wizard, you go Sorcerer, with the Divine Soul sorcerous origin (...


33

They're still a Bladesinger If you take a real persnickety reading of the rules, the SCAG says specifically that: Only elves and half-elves can choose the bladesinger arcane tradition. In the world of Faerûn, elves closely guard the secrets of bladesinging. In order to choose the bladesinger arcane tradition, one must be an elf or half-elf. But you only ...


31

By spending another 6th+ level spell slot* This is wonky, and it clearly shows that our overlords at WoTC didn't think this one through completely, but here it is: Be a 14th level Wizard of the Illusion School Cast Major Image at 7th level in order to bypass concentration (and to save your single 6th level slot for next step) creating the illusion of ...


31

No, Leomund's Tiny Hut is made of magical force which blocks passage in the Ethereal Plane In the description of the Border Ethereal on DMG p. 48: A traveler on the Ethereal Plane is invisible and utterly silent to someone on the overlapped plane, and solid objects on the overlapped plane don’t hamper the movement of a creature in the Border Ethereal. ...


31

Your specific descriptions of the Wizard's use of Illusory Reality is not supported by RAW By 14th level, you have learned the secret of weaving shadow magic into your illusions to give them a semireality. When you cast an illusion spell of 1st level or higher, you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that ...


29

Spells are learned upon level up From the wizard class features: Learning Spells of 1st Level and Higher Each time you gain a wizard level, you can add two wizard spells of your choice to your spellbook for free. So if you want these free spells, they must be chosen when leveling up. You can't wait for the next level up to add four spells instead. ...


28

Nothing, but its stomach acid can digest even the most powerful magic items. Being swallowed by the tarrasque has no special effect on a wizard's ability to use magic, whether in D&D 5th edition (Monster Manual p.286) or earlier editions. However, the tarrasque's stomach is canonically capable of digesting magic items, even certain powerful artifacts. ...


27

They can share the book, but not the spells If a wizard has another wizard's spellbook, they can't actually prepare the spell until they scribe it into their own spellbook. I don't see any real mechanical reason why you couldn't use a single spellbook for that purpose, but every apprentice would have to scribe their own copy of a spell in a way that they ...


27

No, there is no way to know that Portent was "used" Portent is an unusual feature in that it leverages the distinction between the player and their character. Obviously, it is the player's choice when to replace a roll with a foretelling roll, but within the fiction, this does not correspond to any action or even any thought or intent on the character's ...


27

A spell's verbal, somatic, and material components are necessary but not sufficient The rules have this to say on spell components (emphasis added): A spell's components are the physical requirements you must meet in order to cast it. Each spell's description indicates whether it requires verbal (V), somatic (S), or material (M) components. If you can't ...


25

Yes, Simulacrum can be twinned It creates one duplicate each of two creatures. Just to take the first line of the Simulacrum spell: You shape an illusory duplicate of one beast or humanoid that is within range for the entire casting time of the spell. The target is one beast or humanoid within range touch. There's nothing logically stopping this from ...


25

This is an Abstraction your DM is expected to handle "Fine Inks" is not a proper noun in 5th Edition D&D. You don't see a statblock for an item "Fine Inks" because it's just a colloquial term: "Inks that are of relatively high quality [hence why they cost 50gp, which eclipses the annual salary of a regular peasant by an order of magnitude]". So if you ...


24

Yes, in fact you can. According to official 5e rules designer Jeremy Crawford, in this tweet: @IgnatiusJRiell The portent die is intended to replace a d20 roll only, not any modifiers applied to it. Portent only replaces the die roll, not the entire check; bonuses can then be added, including Bardic Inspiration.


24

The spell counts as the level at which you cast it The rules on spellcasting (PHB, 201) cover that: When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level for that casting, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. (PHB. p 201) If you upcast a 2nd divination spell to 3rd, you'll count it as a 3rd level spell and can regain a ...


23

The rules warn against doing this Chapter 9 of the DMG, p.263 contains the text: Beware of adding anything to your game that allows a character to concentrate on more than one effect at a time, use more than one reaction or bonus action per round, or attune to more than three magic items at a time. Rules and game elements that override the rules for ...


23

No. Each spell has a casting time, during which you can perform no other Action. Casting another spell, even the same one, would be another Action. Please see Player's Handbook chapter 9 for how actions work, and chapter 10 for how spellcasting works. There are exceptions to the general rules, such as a sorcerer metamagic option called Twinned Spell, and ...


23

Yes, you are granted a spellbook by your spellcasting. Spellcasting (PHB 114): As a student of arcane magic, you have a spellbook containing spells that show the first glimmerings of your true power. So you have a spellbook, disregarding how you got it. Class Features (PHB 164): When you gain a new level in a class, you get its features for that ...


22

Yes, casting ritual transmutation spells will allow you to change the stone's effect The quote you've provided does not mention spending spell slots, it simply says that you must cast the spell. Using ritual casting to cast a spell is still casting a spell, so this would allow you to change the transmuter's stone's effect immediately after casting the ...


21

Short Rests are faster There really is only one benefit of the Arcane Recovery feature over taking a Long Rest (4 Hour trance for Elves) and that is time. A short rest as defined by the PHB is: A short rest is a period of downtime, at least 1 hour long, during which a character does nothing more strenuous than eating, drinking, reading and tending to ...


21

You can take Magic Initiate in your current class This has been clarified in the Sage Advice Compendium: If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard ...


21

Most likely cumulative time - but DM may decide otherwise The rules on copying spells is listed in the PHB(emphasis mine): Copying that spell into your spellbook involves reproducing the basic form of the spell, then deciphering the unique system of notation used by the wizard who wrote it. You must practice the spell until you understand the sounds or ...


20

Copper is 8.96 g per cm^3. That means a copper ingot with one cubic feet volume is 559 lbs. A heap of copper coins is no solid ingot. As a first approximation, imagine there are stacks of cylinders. A cylinder 1" high and 1" in diameter has a volume of 0.78 cubic inches. (A coin is flatter, but think of it as stacks of a dozen or so.) That means the heap is ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible