Giorin
  • Member for 6 years, 1 month
  • Last seen more than a week ago
  • Kiel, Germany
2 answers
9 votes
972 views
What Greyhawk deity is this?
7 votes

This would be the goddess Sotillion, Lady Harvest, Queen of Ease. While having been mentioned as early as 1983 in the World of Greyhawk Fantasy Game Setting, there has been an article about her in ...

View answer
2 answers
2 votes
247 views
Do the ball lightning and spark shower functions of a Ring of Shooting Stars allow saving throws?
Accepted answer
3 votes

You save against Ball Lightning but not against spark shower. DMG, p. 214: Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic ...

View answer
4 answers
3 votes
277 views
What causes victims to burn from the inside out?
2 votes

The spell Burning Blood (Sorcerer/Wizard 4) makes a creature burn from the inside out: You taint a living creature's blood with a hot, corrosive infusion, dealing 1d8 points of acid damage and ...

View answer
2 answers
5 votes
147 views
What damage forms deal normal damage to elemental weirds?
4 votes

This is a bit like ancient history — you have to deduce from very little. In fact there is an article devoted to elemental weirds in Dragon Magazine #347, p.66–71, that does not cover this point. ...

View answer
3 answers
4 votes
735 views
How do Polymorph and Awaken interact?
-1 votes

You get plants or magical beasts friendly to you that last forever What the spell does is already described in the question and there is no reason why this should not work on a polymorphed creature. I ...

View answer
1 answers
6 votes
326 views
Do Deathstrike Bracers work with thrown melee weapons?
Accepted answer
5 votes

Yes Basically this question comes down to: Is a thrown melee weapon still a melee weapon? The PHB (p.112) says: Melee and Ranged Weapons: Melee weapons are used for making melee attacks, though ...

View answer
2 answers
3 votes
132 views
Fiendish Glare vs an Invisible Creature currently outlined by Glitterdust?
Accepted answer
1 votes

Yes, visibly outlining a creature makes it visible Basically the question is whether "visibly outlining invisible things" makes them visible. While this is assumed in most statements about ...

View answer
3 answers
7 votes
2k views
Do the rebuilding/retraining rules from PHB II allow "bootstrap" qualification, creating legal characters that could not be made without these rules?
6 votes

No, that does not work. 1. What you want to do is rebuilding, which is designed as an exceptional in-game process. The rules on retraining allow only substitution levels to be retrained. If you want ...

View answer
2 answers
3 votes
394 views
If a character attacks someone and the target is not aware of their presence, does the target lose their Dex bonus to AC?
4 votes

Awareness as a term of the rules is checked only at the start of battle. In this case the rules of a surprise round apply. If awareness is thought of in a broader sense, the rules on hiding might ...

View answer
1 answers
3 votes
525 views
Do you gain bonus power points if your key ability is increased from a magic item?
Accepted answer
2 votes

I would judge you get the bonus points. XPH p. 18 says: Just as a high Intelligence score grants bonus spells to a wizard and a high Wisdom score grants bonus spells to a cleric, a character who ...

View answer
3 answers
6 votes
214 views
If you're flying, does dismounting still take a move action?
0 votes

Your DM might allow you to "drop to the floor". That is a free action and RAW does not prohibit it to mounted characters. (Though RAI is probably that you drop with your own feet on the ground, that ...

View answer
5 answers
9 votes
752 views
Can mind manipulation override the “no suicide” clause of Geas?
0 votes

The spell Charm Person contains the following guideline: An affected creature never obeys suicidal or obviously harmful orders, but a charmed fighter, for example, might believe you if you ...

View answer
3 answers
21 votes
9k views
Do charmed people realise they were charmed after the end of the spell?
10 votes

Charm Person does not mention any effect that deletes memories. The related spell Hypnotism spcifically notes that the fact that you were enspelled is forgotten: Hypnotism: Even after the spell ...

View answer
3 answers
8 votes
246 views
How deep information should players have in a political negotiation-focused edu-larp?
Accepted answer
4 votes

What you are trying to do is called a "Planspiel" in German. An educational role playing game that involves a conflict. The Planspiel has derived from military simulations, i.e. maneuvers at the green ...

View answer
1 answers
2 votes
885 views
Can the Half-Troll template be used for Troll sub breeds?
Accepted answer
3 votes

I tried to extrapolate the rules for the half troll template from comparing the troll as character entry to the half troll template. This is the result: The general guidelines seem to be: the half ...

View answer
3 answers
6 votes
5k views
Moving through allies in Combat
0 votes

You may not voluntarily end your move in an occupied square. So this works only if you got the Spring Attack feat When using the attack action with a melee weapon, you can move both before and ...

View answer
3 answers
2 votes
23k views
Experience point calculation for encounters
4 votes

You can calculate the x.p. gained yourself This is a formula that gives out the x.p. gained by one character for defeating a given monster. CR ist the Challenge Rating of the monster. Number of party ...

View answer
3 answers
5 votes
5k views
Can a wizard cast two spells by taking a full round action?
0 votes

The answer of Zachiel comprises all the basic information. I just want to add that your character is only one level away from casting three spells per round, though it has nothing to do with taking ...

View answer
5 answers
23 votes
2k views
Is there a subtle mathematical difference between increasing the target number and adding detrimental modifiers?
7 votes

The subtle difference in math is the range of possible results. In most cases this is not important, because you are only checking success, which is a binary code: true or false. As skill checks do ...

View answer
1 answers
4 votes
747 views
Do mindless base creatures gain sentience through Int boosting templates?
13 votes

MM 3.5 on Nonabilities: Some creatures lack certain ability scores. These creatures do not have an ablitiy score of 0 - they lack the ability altogether. If the template adds a bonus, as most ...

View answer
4 answers
4 votes
5k views
How can significant injuries like broken bones be healed?
1 votes

Some Ambush Feats cause "significant injuries" apart from ability damage - though no broken bones "Hamstring" is descripted as damaging the legs and reduces the opponents speed by half, forgoing 2d6 ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
154 views
How many bolts and arrows come in a pack of unspecified size?
Accepted answer
7 votes

The table in Dragon #279 says specifically for Thunder arrows that the weight is given for 20 arrows. Thunderstones on the other hand cost 30 g.p. each. Thus the price indicated in the list (35 g.p.) ...

View answer
3 answers
9 votes
271 views
What are the parameters for counting as a solid object or not?
2 votes

The DM is always right. In other words: I see no 100% clear RAW on this and I think this is a possible answer - though I would have ruled differently, given your second question. Similar Scenario: Yes....

View answer
4 answers
6 votes
5k views
Can a shocking grasp spell be delivered with a melee weapon?
1 votes

Responding directly to the last part of your question. I see one reason why it would not work (apart from the issue of making touch attacks with a weapon): Holding the Charge: (...) If you touch ...

View answer
2 answers
4 votes
1k views
Multiple Attacks with a Two-Handed Weapon and Off-Hand Spells
0 votes

I second HeyICanChan - it is not 100%clear, how Shocking Grasp has come to be in your example, but either way the answer is "no". If you are asking whether you can CAST the touch spell ...

View answer
2 answers
6 votes
755 views
If you cast an illusion then cast Invisibility on it, what does True Seeing show?
2 votes

True Seeing vs. "invisible" illusions If you look at an "invisible" illusion you see it for what it really is: An "invisible" illusion, i.e. the image someone capable of seeing "invisible" things has ...

View answer
1 answers
2 votes
326 views
What book describes consuming vials of vampire blood to pseudo-Rage?
Accepted answer
4 votes

This description fits to the Blood Ghoul template, Ghostwalk web enhancement p. 1-3. To create a blood ghoul, a vampire must get the target creature to ingest some of his undead blood. The ...

View answer
1 answers
8 votes
304 views
Does a spell storing weapon's effect stack with a spellsword's channel spell?
Accepted answer
4 votes

It seems you can release both spells in a single hit, the one that was stored in the weapon by a spellcaster and the one you channeled into the weapon with your spellsword class feature. The two ...

View answer
4 answers
7 votes
841 views
Detecting Wild Shape with a Mythal
Accepted answer
3 votes

This is from the epic spell seed "mythal" from "Lost Empires of Faerun", p.44: "You create a persistent magical field centered on the point you choose. You (or other casters cooperating with you) ...

View answer
2 answers
6 votes
194 views
Once a creature is hidden, how does a PC attack it?
1 votes

The person that hides is treated as invisible with respect to all persons that failed the opposed spot check - as long as he or she does nothing to reveal his or her presence and is not spotted. The ...

View answer