keithcurtis
  • Member for 5 years, 8 months
  • Last seen this week
Player claims their wizard character knows everything (from books). Solutions?
146 votes

This can be solved mechanically Just to take a different tack: If he wants to recall how to steer a boat, ask him to make a roll against his Navigator's Tools Proficiency, and/or Vehicle Proficiency. ...

View answer
Need way to physically track initiative in face-to-face D&D game
Accepted answer
102 votes

Our group writes the names on pieces of colored paper, about half the size of 3x5 index cards. These are folded in half and the names of each combatant written twice upon the card, so that it forms a ...

View answer
Assassin using Arcane Trickster's Mage Hand: Is it Unbalanced?
Accepted answer
85 votes

Although many tables allow some degree of tweaking in order to make a build match a concept, they usually involve some degree of horse trading, i.e. giving up something to get something else. ...

View answer
Does Water Breathing + a full waterskin = infinite “air”?
Accepted answer
79 votes

Ultimately this is an edge case for a DM to adjudicate for their table. So I'm going to address the most likely interpretations and the argument for each. RAW, the spell grants "ability to breathe ...

View answer
Can you use Wish to allow yourself to cast Wish without risks?
Accepted answer
58 votes

The consequences of the wording of a wish are, as you note, entirely at the whim of a DM. No one can answer how any particular DM will rule, so keep in mind that any answer is on shaky ground, ...

View answer
How do I know if an ability is magical?
56 votes

Until recently, the answer has been very much the province of the DM's judgement. Some things are very obvious, like a fireball or a magic missile. Some things are not, like ki-powered effects or a ...

View answer
How do I DM and play a PC at the same time without metagaming?
52 votes

You are describing a DMPC, or Dungeonmaster Player Character. Many groups frown on this practice, and some folks flat out admonish other from even trying. But it can be done, and done well. Our group ...

View answer
Amnesiac accidentally casts Sending to herself
45 votes

You are deep into Homebrew and DM fiat territory. You have a player playing a character for which the rules were not designed, so we must take what we know of the spell and see what we can make work. ...

View answer
Does dealing 0 damage to a concentrating spellcaster require a saving throw?
39 votes

No concentration saving throw is required. Fifth Edition strives to use natural language whenever possible. This was a stated design philosophy from the writers of the game. From the D&D Podcast, ...

View answer
Crossbow Expert Feat... for Spells?
Accepted answer
37 votes

Yes, you can use the Crossbow Expert feat in this manner. It's a fairly common build for spellcasters. As you have realized, the point in question in the feat affects "ranged attacks". It ...

View answer
When I walk towards an enemy and get within 10 feet, can I make an opportunity attack with Polearm Mastery and a reach weapon?
37 votes

From the section on opportunity attacks: You can make an opportunity attack when a hostile creature that you can see moves out of your reach. To make the opportunity attack, you use your ...

View answer
How can my PC avoid the effects of command?
35 votes

This is Player vs Player interaction. Some tables have a rule against this. Check with your DM. Beyond that, explain to the warlock player that their behavior is reducing your fun with the game. If ...

View answer
How do I, as the DM, decide what creatures are conjured by a summoning spell?
Accepted answer
35 votes

I play a druid character who regularly uses conjuration spells. To make life easy on my DM I prepared a cheat sheet of all the summonable subjects. It's just a little sheet that has AC, relevant ...

View answer
How to optimize a character for the greatest number of skill proficiencies with the fewest number of levels?
Accepted answer
34 votes

If they don't need to be concurrent, or always available, this can be achieved with two levels of Cleric in the Knowledge Domain, which grants: Channel Divinity: Knowledge of the Ages Starting at ...

View answer
Can the Portent ability of a Diviner Wizard negate a critical hit?
Accepted answer
33 votes

Not as such, because the roll is never made. Unlike the Bardic Inspiration, which modifies an existing roll (in this case a critical hit, the Portent die completely replaces the roll before it is ...

View answer
Can a druid get out of wild shape to avoid an opportunity attack?
Accepted answer
32 votes

This sounds like a clever way to avoid an Attack of Opportunity. The Druid is not moving, merely using a magical effect to take up less space. This is less "moving" than teleport, which expressly ...

View answer
Guide for using all the tools and kits
Accepted answer
31 votes

Since this question was asked and answered, Wizards of the Coast has published Xanathar's Guide to Everything. Among the many additions and clarifications, pages 78-85 give a very detailed treatment ...

View answer
Is there a limit to the number of magic rings a character can wear on one hand?
29 votes

You may benefit from (wear) seven magic rings at one time, barring duplicates. Note: since this question is tagged RAW, I am limiting it to the official rings listed in the DMG. There is no limit to ...

View answer
Does Demogorgon have a stat block in 5e?
27 votes

Demogorgon is detailed in Out of the Abyss The stat block for Demogorgon can be found on page 236 of the hardback book "Out of the Abyss", by Wizards of the Coast. He is not an encounter for the ...

View answer
I rolled a 20 on a stealth check. What now?
27 votes

The number of checks is a DM's call. This ultimately comes down to play style and your DM's ruling. Some DM's like to break up a task into smaller chunks to heighten tension and the chance for ...

View answer
Who is that demon on the cover?
Accepted answer
26 votes

The idol represents the demon Moloch, though this is apparently a retroactive decision, and made canon in 5th edition. In the D&D Podcast, "Dragon+: Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes, 2/6/18" Designer ...

View answer
Would an artifact that enhanced proficiency be too over-powered?
26 votes

It is acceptable for a legendary item. There is precedent in the SRD: Ioun Stone of Mastery (Legendary). Your proficiency bonus increases by 1 while this pale green prism orbits your head. Now, ...

View answer
How to handle a fellow player who has painfully long conversations with NPCs?
26 votes

Assuming you have spoken with the other players without fruit, I would suggest exercising some player agency. Announce to your GM, while he is talking to this person, I would like to do X". It's ...

View answer
How much XP can the Wish spell grant?
24 votes

This really falls outside the spell as it is written. It has a certain list of pretty failsafe results, and anything beyond that falls under DM purview. The guideline given is: The DM has great ...

View answer
Would a mirror image of a vampire be reflected in an actual mirror?
Accepted answer
23 votes

I sense some confusion in some of the other answers. I think I understand what you are asking, though. A vampire can certainly cast mirror image and create illusory duplicates of itself. This is born ...

View answer
How can I prevent an imprisoned character from resting/healing?
23 votes

There are techniques designed to deprive prisoners of rest that are used to this day to break down resistance and weaken their physiology. Bright lights and noises at random intervals, bad food that ...

View answer
Can a Path of the Totem Warrior barbarian have different totems chosen for each subclass feature at the same time?
23 votes

Yes, you can have different totem animals for different level abilities. Though few people discuss multi-totemed Barbarians, this is the RAW of the class's wording. Consider the 10th level ability, ...

View answer
Does the Aid spell permanently increase HP for Necromancy wizards with the Inured to Undeath feature?
21 votes

"Inured to Undeath" is a protective feature, and although not explicitly stated, the implication should be that your Maximum HP cannot be reduced below its normal level. One could also interpret that ...

View answer
Can the Robe of the Archmagi increase the DC and spell attack bonus of Cleric Spells?
Accepted answer
21 votes

All spell casting gets the bonus, regardless of class. Since the robe does not specify that your DC and attack bonuses for spell casting are tied to a particular class, it should affect all of them. ...

View answer
Can you use a readied action to teleport out of the way of a weapon attack?
21 votes

Yes, you can avoid the attack with that wording. PHB p.193 explains that the Ready allows you to decide what perceivable circumstance will trigger your reaction. Your reaction happens right after the ...

View answer
1
2 3 4 5
7