Tsugihagi
  • Member for 4 years, 9 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
  • Shinjuku, Circa 2053
I think my DM is consistently faking dice rolls for saves against a specific spell; how do I call my DM out?
19 votes

Vouch for open rolling, if you're certain he's cheating Damn it, bad luck. How much did the monster roll? Most DMs will roll behind their shield, which is fine and all, but you can bring up this ...

View answer
Does Wish just give another spell slot?
17 votes

In a way, it gives you most spells Wish can grant you the immediate use of any 8th level or lower spell. Rather than giving you a fixed slot, it gives you most spells from most spell lists, able to ...

View answer
What defines a harmful effect or ability?
Accepted answer
16 votes

There's no set definition, so it's ultimately up to the DM "Harm" isn't defined in any of the official books, so it's up to subjective interpretation. Merriam-Webster defines harm as: to damage ...

View answer
Can I Grapple and Shove?
Accepted answer
14 votes

You can, being knocked prone doesn't stop you from being grappled First of all, welcome to Stack Exchange! As per grapple rules, emphasis mine: The target of your grapple must be no more than one ...

View answer
Can I use an animated shield with the Mage Armor spell?
Accepted answer
12 votes

A shield is not armor The player handbook mentions several times, distinctly, wearing armor and carrying a shield. Some AC calculations, such as Unarmored Defense, specifically point out that you ...

View answer
Are the inn prices listed in the rules per room or per person?
Accepted answer
10 votes

There aren't rulings, but it's implied that the price is per person Lifestyle Expenses implies that inn stays at Comfortable and above are private. You live in a small cottage in a middle-class ...

View answer
Would enemies frightened by me via Fey Presence take opportunity attacks?
Accepted answer
9 votes

Opportunity attacks do not require movement to take and the Frightened state does not stop a creature from rolling attacks of opportunity, at a disadvantage. You can make an opportunity attack when a ...

View answer
How do Dimensional Shackles interact with an Arcane Archer fighter's Banishing Arrow?
Accepted answer
7 votes

The creature remains in the Feywild According to Dimensional Shackles: the shackles prevent a creature bound by them from using any method of extradimensional Movement The only "return clause" ...

View answer
Are D&D novelizations considered canonical source materials?
Accepted answer
7 votes

They most likely are, but Salvatore contradicts or omits several lore details First of all, welcome to SE! As for your question, even determining what is canon for Forgotten Realms is kinda tough. ...

View answer
Could a strong character wield an object that gives them full cover?
7 votes

Yes, though there are no specific rulings for it, but how useful will it be? SRD never rules out the possibility to take your full cover with you. That would be the end of it, as improvised shields ...

View answer
Does an Animated Shield cause penalties if I'm not proficient with shields?
7 votes

Yes. Although shields of any kind are not considered body armor for the purpose of AC calculation changes (as per your previous question), an animated shield still counts as a wielded piece of ...

View answer
Why is Jester blue and Lillith white in Critical Role?
6 votes

There is a precedent for blue, and a stretch for white, neither with lore explanations Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide (p. 118) mentions a variant of tiefling with dark blue-tinted skin: Rather ...

View answer
What is the meaning of harmless sensory effect in Prestidigitation?
Accepted answer
6 votes

The effect of Prestidigitation refers to the ability of your illusion to cause harm • You create an Instantaneous, harmless sensory effect, such as a shower of sparks, a puff of wind, faint musical ...

View answer
What is a generally polite and succinct response to player requests for mechanical changes?
6 votes

As a big proponent of house rules, ignoring bothersome parts of RAW and generally vivisecting rulebooks, I'm constantly approached by creative players who want to pitch in. I'm sorry, but this won'...

View answer
Is there a canonical date for Returning Day?
Accepted answer
4 votes

There doesn't seem to be Murder In Baldur's Gate, the primary source on the festival's existence, doesn't mention any dates, and is in general somewhat vague about what happens in the Day itself. The ...

View answer
Who takes damage when Shield Warden is used?
Accepted answer
4 votes

RAW, the ally takes the remaining damage, although this might be unintended prevents that ally from taking damage instead of preventing you from taking damage This section implies that your ally ...

View answer
Minimizing the chance of failure with teleport
4 votes

Know where you're going is the most important part of succesfully teleporting to an area. Going by the teleportation description and table, for optimal results you need familiarity and a destination ...

View answer
Can an animated tower shield be used as total cover while still allowing a character to attack in the same round?
Accepted answer
4 votes

Giving up your attack to enter total cover is an action that must be initiated by the wielder and is considered a "normal penalty of shield use" so yes, it would still stop you from attacking. An ...

View answer
What happens when Invisible Spell modifies silent image?
Accepted answer
3 votes

It doesn't get much simpler than: Yes From the description for Invisible Spell: Those with detect magic, see invisibility, or true seeing spells or effects active at the time of the casting will ...

View answer
What happens if you put a Bag of Holding inside another Bag of Holding in Barovia?
2 votes

Items break, but nobody leaves. The interaction between Bags of Holding and other space-funny effects is considered a Spell by RAW, despite the somewhat odd wording of what a Spell can be defined as (...

View answer
Iron Flask and spell-summoned creatures
Accepted answer
2 votes

It's unclear, and generally up to DM discretion The creature can stay bound indefinitely Summon Lesser Demons acts as any other spell: Once its duration ends, its effect effectively disappears. And ...

View answer
Underwater tug-of-war
2 votes

According to the SRD rules of grappling here, you should perform an opposed grapple check versus the octopus and succeed to free your friend from the pin, but this does not free him from the "...

View answer
How do you detemine if a polymorph form can use a weapon?
1 votes

Wild shape druids cannot use weapons For starters, animals won't have the required proficiency feats to use weapons or the INT score to learn these feats in the first place. Additionally, according ...

View answer
Do ingested poisons have a taste?
0 votes

There's no (RAW) reason to believe it does 5e is better than previous editions at doing only what it states and the writers have gone out of their ways to confirm that there are no "unwritten" rules. ...

View answer
What happens if a werewolf attempts to shape change in a tight space or while tied up?
Accepted answer
-2 votes

Considering the transformation in NWoD is a fast process, the surge of physical size and strength would be able to get your players out of tight ropes and maybe weak chains, possibly break a closet ...

View answer