Kamil Drakari
  • Member for 4 years, 6 months
  • Last seen this week
How much damage is dealt/taken when that damage also reduces a creature to 0 hit points?
33 votes

Going to 0 hit points does not change the damage dealt This isn't necessarily the most explicitly defined interaction (as far as I've found) but some parts of the rules don't make sense otherwise. ...

View answer
Amnesiac accidentally casts Sending to herself
Accepted answer
33 votes

Regarding familiarity Familiarity is not a very precisely defined rules term, so interpretation of it really falls back to precedent, interpretation, and DM rulings. In terms of precedent, the most ...

View answer
Is there a distinction between magical damage and nonmagical damage?
30 votes

A distinction exists In the rules on damage resistance, the following example is given: Multiple instances of resistance or vulnerability that affect the same damage type count as only one instance. ...

View answer
Does the Conquest Paladin's Fear spell hurt allies until level 10?
27 votes

Fear is a cone, not a sphere The Range part of the spell description that you've copied says 30 ft. radius, but the text as well as the information on D&D Beyond list its area as a 30 ft. cone ...

View answer
Dissonant Whispers vs. Otyugh Grapple
25 votes

Spells do what they say Dissonant Whispers says ... must immediately use its reaction, if available, to move as far as its speed allows away from you. Thus the affected creature, unless its reaction ...

View answer
Do I lose the benefit of the Spores druid's Symbiotic Entity feature if I gain Temporary Hit Points from a different source?
Accepted answer
23 votes

You can keep Symbiotic Entity or get new temp HP, but not both The rules for temporary hit points explain what happens when you gain new temp hp when you already have some: If you have temporary hit ...

View answer
Are there any ways to raise a character's saving throw DC past just ability score and proficiency bonus?
16 votes

Tasha's Cauldron of Everything introduced several new class-specific magic items that do this Tasha's Cauldron of Everything has several magic items which give bonuses to spell save DC. Most notably ...

View answer
Can I build a character based on modern technology?
15 votes

If your DM lets you, you can do anything This applies to almost everything in DnD 5e. If your DM says no, then you can't. If your DM says yes, then you can. The only thing you need to do is convince ...

View answer
Do traps deal weapon damage?
Accepted answer
15 votes

The quote you give for the effect of blade ward lacks the most important word in answering this question: Until the end of your next turn, you have resistance against bludgeoning, piercing, and ...

View answer
How to properly introduce tension to a fanatically self-righteous character?
15 votes

Work with the player The player has made this character. Maybe the character doesn't work as-is, maybe it's already causing tension within the playgroup or you don't think he would be compatible with ...

View answer
Very generally, what is the difference between an Eldritch Knight and a Sorcerer with a dip into Fighter?
14 votes

I'll start by offering a few things that might help you make your own judgement, and clear up some misconceptions you seem to have. Check the Basic Rules Although you don't have access to the PHB ...

View answer
Is there a spell, ability or magic item that will let a PC identify who wrote a letter?
Accepted answer
13 votes

Disclaimer Some of the possible solutions I'm about to propose only work for certain methods the Imposter could be using for the deception; for example, they might have replaced the scroll your ...

View answer
What happens if a Paladin has a crisis of faith?
Accepted answer
11 votes

Changing to a new Oath may be appropriate Other answers cover that there aren't any rules or flavor for Paladins which are fundamentally incompatible with your player's character realizing that he no ...

View answer
Are there any penalties for fighting in the same 5ft space?
Accepted answer
11 votes

Both characters are squeezing The rules describe how a character can fit into a space smaller than the 5 ft. square they normally occupy, officially listed as Squeezing into a Smaller Space: A ...

View answer
How to handle a GM cheating in the players’ favor?
10 votes

This is probably going to be significantly similar to other answers, but I have a few specific points that I didn't see and would like to address. (Note: I will say "You" in this answer to ...

View answer
Can an Artificer, proficient in Mason's Tools, use Fabricate to reconstruct the statue of a petrified person which has been broken or shattered?
9 votes

There is no consistent interpretation of the rules which allows this. There are multiple points in this process that could have different interpretations that allow or disallow specific details. ...

View answer
Can you substitute the pact of the Tome's Book of Shadows with a Spellshard?
Accepted answer
9 votes

Replacing an existing Book of Shadows with a found Spellshard: No If an existing warlock who has the Pact of the Tome feature finds a Spellshard, they definitely cannot start using it as their Book of ...

View answer
Are there RAW mechanics that a Necromancy Wizard can use to animate dead with consent?
9 votes

Use Summon Undead instead of Animate Dead It's definitely possible that this won't quite fit the concept you were hoping for, but it could definitely work as a flavor of "necromancy with consent&...

View answer
Are the Book of Ancient Secrets level One ritual spells automatically capped at Two?
9 votes

Your confusion mostly seems to stem from inaccurately parsing part of the English language. I don't necessarily blame you for that since English is often significantly ambiguous, and this is one of ...

View answer
Arcane Trickster Mind Thrust spell clarification
Accepted answer
8 votes

Your source is outdated Although your Wikidot link says its description of Mind Thrust comes from the Psionic Options Revisited UA, it actually comes from an earlier UA with a less descriptive title. ...

View answer
Can a Maurezhi raise an undead hit by a cleric's Destroy Undead?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Destroyed undead can be revived In the absence of some additional effect, such as a wording like "the creature is instantly destroyed and cannot be revived", a destroyed undead is the same ...

View answer
Can I use the Mirage Arcane spell to walk on top of a stretch of ocean?
8 votes

Although I agree with the answer from cpcodes, I think it could be made clearer so I'll make an attempt. The crux of the question is quite simple: does a "tactile" illusion include the ability to ...

View answer
Can the Grappling Strike maneuver option be used with the Thorn Whip cantrip to grapple a creature from up to 30 feet away?
Accepted answer
7 votes

No 30 ft. grapple As you identified, Grappling Strike requires a "melee attack" not a "melee weapon attack", and thus Thorn Whip can satisfy that requirement. However, it goes on ...

View answer
Is this "Oath of Health" Paladin subclass balanced?
Accepted answer
7 votes

Oath Spells While you've chosen spells that suit the theme, almost all of them are already on the Paladin spell list; rather than making the Paladin more effective at healing you simply avoided making ...

View answer
Can a Slowed creature cast a spell that costs a bonus action on its next turn?
7 votes

Only if you don't complete the first spell (or slow wears off) NautArch correctly identified that the portion of slow which causes a 1 action spell to be delayed until the following turn, does not ...

View answer
Would a Tempest Cleric's Booming Blade, transmuted to lightning damage, knock a target away twice?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Yes, double push Transmuted Spell does not change the damage type of a roll, and it doesn't have a specific duration; it changes one damage type for a spell to a different damage type. The most ...

View answer
Is the Bardic College of Spirits "Tale of the Renowned Duelist" melee spell attack limited by your reach?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Anywhere in 30 ft. I don't have access to Van Richten's Guide to Ravenloft, but based on the description of the features you have provided the "melee spell attack" from the 2 result can be ...

View answer
Can Seeming add wings for a horse?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Probably not with Seeming A pegasus obviously doesn't have "The same basic arrangement of limbs" as a horse, so if it were going to work it would be leaning heavily on the equipment portion, ...

View answer
Does a +1 shield allow me to add 3 to my Dex saves when using the second benefit of Shield Master?
6 votes

The +1 is part of the shield's AC bonus for this purpose Unlike in previous editions of D&D, 5e has very simplified shield rules: Wielding a shield increases your Armor Class by 2. Naturally, ...

View answer
Can you maintain a grapple you are no longer capable of initiating?
Accepted answer
6 votes

You must release the target to attack, probably ending the grapple D&D 5e has a broad intent that any word which is not explicitly given special rules meaning, instead has its plain English ...

View answer