vonBoomslang
  • Member for 3 years, 6 months
  • Last seen this week
Would clawed gauntlets be considered simple weapons?
4 votes

A NPC's precedent suggests simple. The Anchorite of Talos npc (from Dragon of Icespire Peak) has a "Clawed Gauntlet" attack which deals 1d4+3 (presumably the Achorite's Strength of 16) ...

View answer
How to heal a shield guardian?
-1 votes

Let it take a nap. You are correct that any healing that does not specifically exclude constructs the way cure wounds does. Turn on your aura of vitality, mash some goodberries into its face, or just ...

View answer
Does Lightning Arrow work with an Arcane Archer's 'Piercing Arrow'?
6 votes

Piercing Arrow is not a ranged weapon attack The word "attack", more specifically, "ranged weapon attack", has a specific definition in 5e. Piercing Arrow (and Seeking Arrow) deal ...

View answer
How do you handle Perception checks in different levels of obscurement?
2 votes

Passive checks exist for situations like this. It might feel weird to not ask each player in turn to roll Perception, but this is the sort of situation that passive checks were designed for - in your ...

View answer
Can you substitute the pact of the Tome's Book of Shadows with a Spellshard?
0 votes

The Book of Shadows is not a spellbook; no. Although it functions similarly once you take the Book of Ancient Secrets invocation, nothing about the rules of the Pact of the Tome feature explicitly ...

View answer
Can an Artificer with an All-Purpose Tool gain Eldritch Blast cantrip and take the feat Eldritch Adept to get Agonizing Blast Invocation
1 votes

Even if Eldritch Adept allowed it, you wouldn't fill the prerequisites. The Agonizing Blast invocation requires you to know the eldritch blast cantrip - the All-Purpose-Tool gives you the ability to ...

View answer
Does a creature with blindsight have disadvantage when attacking an invisible target?
1 votes

Yes, the attack is made with disadvantage. The Invisible condition has two effects - the creature cannot be seen without the aid of special senses, and attacks against it are made with disadvantage ...

View answer
Does the Mage Slayer feat interrupt the triggering spell?
3 votes

No, it does not (unless it requires concentration). Spells do what they do -- or in this case, feats do what they do. The Mage Slayer feat lets you make a melee attack against a triggering creature. ...

View answer
At what level can a party fight a mimic?
2 votes

Lvl 1, according to Dragon of Icespire Peak One of the proposed quests that a lvl 1 party should start with culminates in a fight against a mimic. Of course, one of the other quests is a fight with a ...

View answer
What does the Swarmkeeper mean by "horizontal"?
18 votes

It means you cannot move the target upwards. "Horizontal" doesn't have any special definition, so we're expected to go with the literal - in absolute terms, in reference to the world around ...

View answer
Can a character with the Magic Initiate feat use the appropriate arcane/druidic/holy focus?
1 votes

No, you must provide material components Personally, I do not believe there is reason to gain the ability to use a focus - specific beats general, with general in this case being the need to provide ...

View answer
How does absorb elements work with pre-existing resistances
1 votes

The spell functions as normal, but offers no defensive benefit. You either have or do not have resistance. Having it from two different sources has no effect, unless some effect specifically ignores ...

View answer
Does Elemental Adept ignore Absorb Elements
2 votes

Elemental Adept ignores resistance, but Absorb Elements still works. Absorb Elements reduces damage by granting you resistance to the triggering damage, which is ignored if the caster has Elemental ...

View answer
Is my Warlock useless to the group now that we have a wizard with Eldritch Blast and two Bards who focus on utility?
4 votes

Your Eldritch Blast deals twice the damage of the Wizard's. The wizard has no access to Agonizing Blast, which adds your Charisma modifier to every ray. The damage of 1d10+5 is roughly double that of ...

View answer
How do I use Charisma, Persuasion, or other checks through a translator?
Accepted answer
47 votes

There is no precedent, but that seems pretty clearly a situation that calls for disadvantage. Alternately, if you want to involve both players, you can instead have each one roll a separate check - ...

View answer
Is it possible for a player to gain the innate ability to regenerate body parts without spells?
7 votes

Eat a troll. ... while there are no rules to support it, eating a willing troll with Varpak's blessing is the way Frost Giant Everlasting Ones (Volo's, p 147-8) gain their Regeneration ability.

View answer
How would optional re-rolling of all hit dice on leveling up affect average hp?
5 votes

In theory, not much. In practice, even less For an easy way to estimate the value of a dice you can reroll, you replace each re-rollable value with the average of the dice. For example, the result of ...

View answer
Can you move through the area of a Flaming Sphere spell?
5 votes

Yes The spell does not specify whether or not it occupies its space - compare Artillerist's Eldritch cannon: A Small eldritch cannon occupies its space, ...or Guardian of Faith The guardian ...

View answer
How can a rogue use Dash as a regular action, if actions and bonus actions aren't interchangeable?
0 votes

The wording of Cunning Action is You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action. The interpretation you are ...

View answer
Can Alert prevent Surprise if you don't know the enemy exists?
2 votes

Yes, roll initiative first. Otherwise, consider this situation: Assassin attacks players. Initative is rolled, assassin wins. Assassin's turn, attacks players. Player turn, surprise, cannot take ...

View answer
What is the interaction between Thunderwave and being required to target your own space?
0 votes

My own interpretation of the rules is as such: Since you must target a point within your space, there is no way to cast Thunderwave in a way that does not include at least part of your space ...

View answer
Can any magic item rod be used as an arcane focus?
3 votes

Yes. The Rod of the Pact keeper is a rod, which is listed as a kind of arcane focus. If it could not be used as one, then by that same logic, a magical sword would not be able to be used as a sword. ...

View answer
How can I heal undead creatures?
3 votes

The Healer feat Unlike many sources of magical healing, the Healer feat (phb, p. 167) only refers to a creature, without specifying that it cannot be undead or a construct. Using it, or having ...

View answer
When using the Wall of Fire spell, what shape is a ringed wall on a grid?
3 votes

I'd offer an alternative interpretation, based on circle area of effects - rather than treating the ring of fire as, well, a ring of fire, treat it as a filled circle which is the "interior" (and this ...

View answer
Can the Enlarge/Reduce and Catapult spells be combined to hurl boulders?
1 votes

Can the Enlarge/Reduce and Catapult spells be combined in this way? See, the thing is, in this case it's "ask your DM". So, whatever you decide, goes. I'm gonna say 'no' for three very different ...

View answer
Blind Familiar trying to deliver a touch spell
1 votes

The text of Find Familiar uses the wording "as if [the familiar] had cast the spell". If the familiar cast a spell which required an attack roll, its blinded condition would impose disadvantage on the ...

View answer
Is the "half your speed" used in standing from prone your normal speed, or current speed?
-1 votes

I wish to offer an alternate interpretation which sidesteps the issue: The player begins their turn prone, with 30 feet of movement. They spend half their movement to stand up, putting them at 15 ...

View answer
Mind Flayer Innate Spellcasting saving throws
1 votes

The "spellcasting ability" refers to which of the creature's statistics is used to determine its spellcasting - consider the fact that whether a Fireball is cast by a Wizard (Intelligence) or Sorcerer ...

View answer
How many Sorcery Points should it cost to add 1d4 to a spell's save DC?
1 votes

Compare Heightened Spell When you cast a spell that forces a creature to make a saving throw to resist its Effects, you can spend 3 sorcery points to give one target of the spell disadvantage on ...

View answer
What are the ramifications of making the Battle Master fighter's Commander's Strike maneuver no longer require the Attack action?
0 votes

One strange edge case would be giving the Battle Master the ability to force an enemy to provoke an Opportunity Attack - one example is some readings of the Dissonant Whispers spell. The use cases for ...

View answer