Rykara
  • Member for 3 years, 2 months
  • Last seen this week
  • Oregon, USA
5 answers
24 votes
7k views
How do I handle players attempting to intimidate enemies with non-enchantment spells?
Accepted answer
58 votes

Treat it as a contest The players are effectively trying to use a level 0 cantrip to produce the same result as a higher level crowd control spell like Fear or Mass Suggestion. Obviously, this is ...

View answer
3 answers
15 votes
2k views
How can I get rid of drama fatigue as a GM?
Accepted answer
44 votes

I recommend a piña colada and warm sunny beach You, my friend, have some angsty players. You're clearly not enjoying running games for them and are burned out. Nothing good can come from trying to ...

View answer
1 answers
11 votes
3k views
Can a druid who is wild shaped into an ape cast spells that only have somatic components (e.g. Thunderclap)?
Accepted answer
35 votes

Not until level 18 Wildshape's 3rd bullet point is quite clear: You can't cast spells [....] A druid that shifts into Wildshape can't cast any spells, regardless of their VSM components. This ...

View answer
8 answers
18 votes
3k views
How do I telegraph to players that the fortress is alert because they let the guards escape?
34 votes

One of my favorite tools as a DM is to let players discover text that hints at larger lore or world events. It allows players to figure things out without having to be told directly. In your ...

View answer
3 answers
30 votes
3k views
Can you stand up from being prone using Skirmisher outside of your turn?
Accepted answer
33 votes

Arguably, the rogue may stand up The character is not literally "granted a resource" that is called movement but that is in fact the way the rules of movement talk about how it is used: ...

View answer
3 answers
12 votes
5k views
How should Thaumaturgy's "three times as loud as normal" be interpreted?
Accepted answer
32 votes

Ask your DM This is one of those "get creative" spells like Prestidigitation that is (I think) deliberately left fairly vague because it is meant to be an adaptable utility cantrip geared ...

View answer
2 answers
22 votes
3k views
Do any printing presses exist in the Forgotten Realms?
31 votes

Yes In Waterdeep Dragon Heist (p. 181) we see the following text: Lastly, no city in the world is as literate as Waterdeep. [...] The city has over thirty publishers of broadsheets in addition to ...

View answer
3 answers
18 votes
4k views
Must a warlock replace spells with new spells of exactly their Pact Magic spell slot level?
Accepted answer
31 votes

The Warlock's spell slot level indicates the maximum spell level they may select. I agree the wording is a little confusing but consider the general rule for spell slots: When a character casts a ...

View answer
4 answers
39 votes
3k views
Can I create an upright 7-foot × 5-foot wall with the Minor Illusion spell?
Accepted answer
31 votes

Yes, though a DM might not want to deal with abnormal spell positioning In the Sage Advice compendium, a similar question was asked about the spell Cloud of Daggers: Using 5-foot squares, does cloud ...

View answer
3 answers
4 votes
2k views
Does the Pyromancer sorcerer's Fiery Soul feature totally bypass immunity to fire damage?
Accepted answer
29 votes

No, it doesn't completely bypass immunity When a feature is designed to ignore both immunity and resistance to a damage type, rather than "reduce/step down" one level of protection, it is ...

View answer
1 answers
18 votes
2k views
How does a monk's Martial Arts feature modify damage done by magical monk weapons?
Accepted answer
29 votes

The Martial Arts feature replaces the sword's piercing damage, not the bonus cold damage Martial Arts states: You can roll a d4 in place of the normal damage of your unarmed strike or monk weapon. ...

View answer
1 answers
23 votes
3k views
At which levels, if any, can a Warlock use a Spell Scroll of 6th Level or Higher?
Accepted answer
28 votes

No check would be required for a level 13 Warlock. I think the critical wording for spell scroll is this: If the spell is on your class’s spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, ...

View answer
1 answers
14 votes
3k views
Is it unbalanced to allow a monk with the Tavern Brawler feat to use improvised weapons as monk weapons?
Accepted answer
25 votes

No, probably not unbalanced The rule on Improvised Weapons states in part: Often, an improvised weapon is similar to an actual weapon and can be treated as such. For example, a table leg is akin to a ...

View answer
2 answers
10 votes
3k views
Is this part of the description of the Archfey warlock's Misty Escape feature redundant?
Accepted answer
25 votes

It is not redundant There are many ways you could take damage on your turn, thus allowing you to use Misty Escape as a reaction on your turn in addition to (before) your Action and possible Bonus ...

View answer
2 answers
18 votes
2k views
Can a bard grant bardic inspiration to an unconscious creature?
Accepted answer
24 votes

There's room for a DM to rule both yes and no The rule for unconscious says: can't move or speak, and is unaware of its surroundings It is interesting to note that it does NOT say: can't move, ...

View answer
6 answers
11 votes
3k views
Do Cobbler's Tools work on Horseshoes?
23 votes

The rules for Smith's Tools aren't very helpful but I would think that they would be the more directly beneficial toolset. The Wikipedia article on farriers includes this sentence: A farrier ...

View answer
3 answers
17 votes
3k views
What happens when the Immolation spell is cast on a creature immune to fire damage?
Accepted answer
23 votes

The immolated creature makes a save as normal and, on a fail, suffers the illumination effect but not the fire damage. The interesting thing in this situation is that the creature is making a dex save ...

View answer
3 answers
12 votes
3k views
If I'm playing a multiclassed Fighter 5/Hunter Ranger 5 with the Crossbow Expert feat, how many attacks can I make in a single turn?
Accepted answer
23 votes

You'd have a maximum of 6 attacks The Extra Attack feature of various classes do not stack, per the multiclassing rules, so your turn would look like this: Attack action: 2 attacks Action Surge (...

View answer
1 answers
14 votes
1k views
Can you concentrate on a special ability while also concentrating on a spell?
Accepted answer
22 votes

Unfortunately, No The introduction to Xanathar's Guide to Everything (page 5) reiterates a rule about concentration: As soon as you start casting a spell or using a special ability that requires ...

View answer
10 answers
63 votes
36k views
Can the dungeon master have a player character?
22 votes

Can you? Yes. Should you? Probably not. There is nothing stopping a DM from having a PC but doing so entails some risks/compromises that you should weigh carefully: Focusing on your responsibilities ...

View answer
2 answers
8 votes
1k views
Can you effectively apply the Sorcerer's Extended Spell Metamagic option to the Thaumaturgy spell?
Accepted answer
19 votes

Technically no, but if this becomes an issue at your table, something, somewhere, has gone horribly wrong. Following the logic of the linked answer to the adjusted range of Counterspell, a literal ...

View answer
2 answers
9 votes
9k views
Can a Divine Soul Sorcerer learn a cleric cantrip at their first sorcerer level?
Accepted answer
19 votes

Arguably, yes Divine Magic Your link to the divine allows you to learn spells normally associated with the Cleric class. When your Spellcasting feature lets you learn a sorcerer cantrip or a sorcerer ...

View answer
1 answers
8 votes
357 views
What happens when a Levitating creature teleports higher into the air?
Accepted answer
18 votes

The caster levitates at the new altitude The Levitate spell does not limit the altitude a creature can levitate at. There is only one limit specified: One creature or object of your choice that you ...

View answer
2 answers
17 votes
6k views
Do natural melee weapons (from racial traits) trigger Improved Divine Smite?
Accepted answer
17 votes

Yes, if the racial rule calls them weapons (This answer has been updated to reflect the apparent shift in the wording of the rules since Explorer's Guide to Wildemount. The original answer is below ...

View answer
3 answers
6 votes
1k views
Does a monk get martial arts die damage on improvised thrown monk weapons?
17 votes

Replacing improvised weapon's 1d4 with Martial Arts While the damage die for monk weapons (and unarmed strikes) starts out as a d4, which also happens to be the die used for improvised weapons, this ...

View answer
4 answers
16 votes
2k views
Does a PC aarakocra add their Strength bonus to the damage roll for their unarmed strikes?
17 votes

They do 1d4 + Strength mod damage The rule for weapon damage states: When attacking with a weapon, you add your ability modifier—the same modifier used for the attack roll—to the damage. It is ...

View answer
4 answers
10 votes
1k views
Can a level 20 Samurai fighter with the True Strike cantrip make 9 attacks in a turn, all with advantage?
17 votes

No, you either get an additional attack or advantage on the first roll If you use Fighting Spirit before taking your first Attack action, your first attack would have advantage applied from two ...

View answer
2 answers
16 votes
2k views
Does the Distant Spell metamagic apply to the Sword Burst cantrip?
Accepted answer
17 votes

Yes The Distant Spell metamagic option states: When you cast a spell that has a range of 5 feet or greater, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double the range of the spell. And sword burst (SCAG, p. ...

View answer
3 answers
21 votes
6k views
If a Lizardfolk druid is in Wild Shape, and uses his Hungry Jaws trait, does he use the damage from the beast's bite or the lizardfolk's bite?
Accepted answer
17 votes

You get to choose The rule on Wild Shape states You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so. What ...

View answer
3 answers
8 votes
2k views
If you attempt to grapple an opponent that you are hidden from, do they roll at disadvantage?
17 votes

Unless a DM determines otherwise, you do not get advantage and the opponent does not get disadvantage The rule for Unseen Attackers states: When a creature can’t see you, you have advantage on Attack ...

View answer
1
2 3 4 5
8