Blits
  • Member for 2 years, 6 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
If an attack causes additional damage after a saving throw, is it counted as a separate source of damage for the purpose of failed death saves?
4 votes

The damage from a Wyvern's Stinger attack counts as one source of damage Per the Basic rules on Damage: Each weapon, spell, and harmful monster ability specifies the damage it deals. You roll the ...

View answer
Does the True Polymorph spell form a creature with equipment?
21 votes

A True Polymorphed creature forms without equipment Though not official, this tweet from Jeremy Crawford indicates that you do not receive the equipment of a creature: True polymorph: if you turn ...

View answer
How would I as a DM create a smart phone-like spell/device my players could use?
20 votes

Speaking stones Speaking stones (WGtE, p. 44) allow for repeated long-distance communication. The stones allow for the holder to send a short message to any other speaking stone. [H/T Ryan Thompson] ...

View answer
What counts as a target for a spell?
-1 votes

A spell targets a Creature, Object, or Point of Origin directly chosen by the caster of the spell. The target of a spell is chosen directly by the caster of the spell, and must meet the eligibility ...

View answer
Is a teleportation circle’s shimmering portal always open?
11 votes

A permanent Teleportation Circle is not always open The purpose of a permanent teleportation circle is to function as an anchor and exit for the circle created during the typical casting of ...

View answer
Is this homebrew "Thoughtseize" spell balanced? [Round 2]
0 votes

This spell is underpowered for a 2nd level spell The description of the spell offers primarily combat benefits. In this case, Hold Person (2nd level) is superior option in combat situations. ...

View answer
If a dragon under my control uses Change Shape to turn into an Evoker, can I choose the Evoker's race, and benefit from its racial traits?
4 votes

Yes, you can choose the race. Per the description of the Change Shape Action, you can choose any humanoid or beast, and therefore "Halfling Evoker" or "Warforged Evoker" are certainly eligible ...

View answer
What balance pitfalls result from this house rule modifying the optional Flanking rule?
Accepted answer
5 votes

This rule modification negates most flanking situations except against Single or Huge+ creatures This rule invalidates flanking for most situations against multiple combatants. Per the flanking rule ...

View answer
Best practices in portraying racism and its effects in a game
5 votes

I have not tested these within the context of RPGs, but here are a couple suggestions based on a American historical fiction writing class that was focused on class inequalities: Focus on the larger ...

View answer
What happens if you cast the Animate Objects spell on an weapon affected by the Shillelagh cantrip?
Accepted answer
24 votes

You cannot cast animate objects on a weapon affected by shillelagh. The description for animate objects specifies: Choose up to ten nonmagical objects... The description of shillelagh states: ...

View answer
Is the Shield of Expression magic item made of wood or metal?
Accepted answer
12 votes

This is the DM's decision The DnD Beyond description of Shield of Expression includes the (quoted) description of a shield in the item description. Therefore it is up to the DM's discretion. The DM ...

View answer
Transitioning from Lost Mine of Phandelver to Out of the Abyss with level 5 characters
Accepted answer
7 votes

My party experienced this introduction to OotA following the Sunless Citadel, so this is a reflection of that experience. We were overwhelmed and captured by the drow using paralysis darts, and kept ...

View answer
Improving bad spells: Mordenkainen's sword
Accepted answer
15 votes

The improved spell addresses the flaws of the original well, particularly the movement increase and the upcasting flexibility. However, trying to imitate and outdo Bigby's in sustained damage ...

View answer
What happens when you try to charm or otherwise control a creature that has been Intellect Devoured?
Accepted answer
5 votes

The spell would fail to charm the creature, which is functionally only a body for the intellect devourer per its Body Thief trait: If it wins the contest, the intellect devourer magically consumes ...

View answer
Can you drop a weapon/item when it is not your turn?
6 votes

The question "Can you drop a weapon/item when it is not your turn?" is confusing primarily caused by the word "can" (including in the heat metal spell) so we have to address the portions separately. ...

View answer