Lord_Gareth
  • Member for 9 years
  • Last seen more than 3 years ago
  • Et in Arcadia Ego
Do Sorcerers need to know a lot of attack spells?
9 votes

No There's no requirement to know a lot of attack spells at all. But see below: Blasting is actually suboptimal Sorcerers get tons of mileage out of buffs (haste), debuffs (slow), summons, battlefield ...

View answer
Is Drunken Master really as bad as everyone says?
Accepted answer
27 votes

It's the Mental Damage Drink Like a Demon has two problems. The first is that it's an uneven trade; you're losing 4 points of ability score and only getting 2 back. This does a few things to your ...

View answer
Are Weapon Finesse and two-handed wielding mutually exclusive?
Accepted answer
9 votes

They are not mutually exclusive And in fact there's even one weapon that's two-handed but finessable (the Spiked Chain). You can Power Attack with a finesse'd weapon as well, unless it's classified as ...

View answer
How can I keep the Tarrasque "dead"?
Accepted answer
15 votes

Keeping it down is easy Dealing continual damage will keep the Big T down for the count as long as you want to keep it down. Drowning him or placing him in an environment that causes continual damage ...

View answer
Dark Lord knowledge in Ravenloft
29 votes

It Depends on the Darklord Not all Darklords are also the temporal rulers of their Domains (though some are), and not all of them reveal or flaunt their true natures. Indeed, some Darklords are ...

View answer
Limits to changing via disguise self spell?
1 votes

Yes You cannot change your creature type (although you can appear as another subtype). Otherwise, the extent of the apparent change is up to you. You could add or obscure a minor feature or look like ...

View answer
When a wizard's familiar attacks, who's the attacker for the purposes of Invisibility?
18 votes

The Familiar is the Attacker From the PFSRD: Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in ...

View answer
How does crossing the borders of Ravenloft's domains work?
10 votes

It depends on the kind of Domain you're dealing with There are two significant classes of Domain in Ravenloft - Core domains, and Islands of Terror. Let's address Core domains first. Core Domains Core ...

View answer
Does ride by attack multiply damage like charge?
Accepted answer
4 votes

It is a charge The text of the feat says "when you are mounted and use the charge action," which means that the feat can only be used when charging, in sharp contrast to its non-mounted equivalents (...

View answer
Range Touch Attacks, and Path of War Maneuvers?
10 votes

It Cannot Be Combined With Maneuvers Pathfinder rules place unlisted actions for supernatural abilities (that is, all that don't have a listed action and are also not passive) as a standard action. ...

View answer
What do I do about no treasure encounters?
Accepted answer
33 votes

They don't have to be no treasure There's ways to do things like this without inexplicably giving the monsters wealth. Here's a few: Location, Location, Location In the module Ruins of Myth Drannor ...

View answer
What are the "Dark Powers"?
42 votes

This requires answering a few other, related questions So I wanted to first spend some time declaring my sources: namely, the 2e books Ravenloft Campaign Setting, Darklords, and Islands of Terror, a ...

View answer
Does Pathfinder significantly fix known problems with the Monk class?
Accepted answer
26 votes

The Real Problems Did Not Get Fixed But let's talk about these individually. Multiple Attribute Dependancy Also known as MAD, this has plagued the poor Monk for ages. Monks need Strength for accuracy ...

View answer
How can I play a lawful rogue?
Accepted answer
53 votes

Check this part: Thieves and gamblers, fast talkers and diplomats, bandits and bounty hunters, and explorers and investigators all might be considered rogues, as well as countless other professions ...

View answer
How can I use Psionic Wild Talents with a Dark Sun campaign in Pathfinder?
Accepted answer
10 votes

There is no Pathfinder-specific Dark Sun material Dark Sun is the property of Wizards of the Coast and Paizo's not allowed to touch it; that part's pretty simple. Additionally, Paizo has not ...

View answer
What does "advanced simple template" mean in the context of a creature?
20 votes

It's a specific template This is the Advanced simple template. Simple Templates are like normal templates, but they barely change anything; they're intended to quickly and easily improve, or nerf, a ...

View answer
Is the Black Blood Hunter's Animal Aspect's natural armor bonus permanent or temporary?
Accepted answer
4 votes

It's a Dependent Sentence The phrasing of the sentence and its placement relative to the description of the ability indicates that it lasts for one minute per level, in addition to the previously-...

View answer
What is this creature that increases in strength as its allies die?
9 votes

Arcadian Avengers, in Monster Manual V The very first entry in the book, Arcadian Avengers have an ability that increases their attack and damage each time they witness an ally fall in battle. They ...

View answer
How does the Damage Conversion knack work?
Accepted answer
4 votes

Damage is resolved all at once That is, damage is dealt, compared against soak, and then resolved, in that order. Damage Conversion converts all of the damage from an attack from lethal to bashing. ...

View answer
Can a good cleric use necromancy
Accepted answer
23 votes

Necromancy is not inherently evil Necromancy spells are only characterized by their use of negative energy; negative energy is entropic in nature but is not a moral force. The inflict line of spells, ...

View answer
Do Ifrit start with the outsider skill point bonus?
6 votes

No Those numbers refer to what Outsiders gain from Outsider Hit Dice, which are not the same as class levels. An Erinyes, for example, has Outsider Hit Dice. The ifrit, found here, advances solely by ...

View answer
Does a Warforged barbarian never get fatigued?
13 votes

It does not get fatigued Well, technically what happens is the rage tries to apply the condition and then the barbarian ignores it, but "immunity" is pretty explicit - the warforged cannot suffer the ...

View answer
Can the Oracle Mystery Brain Drain be used to gather surface thoughts?
Accepted answer
6 votes

It's for interaction with existing rules. So, our ability here reads thusly: Brain Drain (Su): You can take a standard action to violently probe the mind of a single intelligent enemy within 100 ...

View answer
How can you tell when a creature can speak a language or just understand it?
6 votes

It'll say The format that gets used is this: If it just lists languages, the creature can speak, understand, and read the languages. If it says 'understands', the creature can understand and read ...

View answer
Sensible values for a human child's AC / HP / Ini
Accepted answer
29 votes

Use the Young Template Young, a simple template, is pretty much exactly what you're wanting. Take an NPC class - I suggest Expert or maybe just a single humanoid hit die - and then apply the template ...

View answer
How do you interpret the attacks in the Bestiary?
Accepted answer
7 votes

As follows Your example reads: melee attack 2 claws +9(1d6+4 plus 1d6 cold) This indicates first that the attack is a melee attack, made with all the rules thereof and within the yeti's reach. ...

View answer
Can I take a 5-foot Step and perform any standard action after?
Accepted answer
15 votes

Yes That is precisely how the 5-foot step rules work. Watch Out Though Step Up and its sequel feats are designed to counter this tactic; you may end up facing this down.

View answer
Using the bestiary
Accepted answer
8 votes

Hit Points The hit point total given is the average hit points for the monster's hit die. These are the assumed 'norm' for a generic monster of its type. Some of the Bestiary's ancestor books - the ...

View answer
Where it says longsword +3 and short sword +2, what does the +3 and +2 mean?
28 votes

That's his attack bonuses The entry you're seeing is a stat block for the character. The headings there under his attacks indicate his various attack options, their accuracy (that's the +2/+3) and ...

View answer
Are the orcs of the D&D core canon not above eating sentient humanoids?
8 votes

Canon is Silent There has never been, to my knowledge, any mention one way or another if Orcs eat sapient flesh. This may have been a deliberate choice early in D&D's life; a lot of ideas like ...

View answer
1
2 3 4 5