Lord_Gareth
  • Member for 9 years
  • Last seen more than 3 years ago
  • Et in Arcadia Ego
Does ride by attack multiply damage like charge?
Accepted answer
4 votes

It is a charge The text of the feat says "when you are mounted and use the charge action," which means that the feat can only be used when charging, in sharp contrast to its non-mounted equivalents (...

View answer
Range Touch Attacks, and Path of War Maneuvers?
10 votes

It Cannot Be Combined With Maneuvers Pathfinder rules place unlisted actions for supernatural abilities (that is, all that don't have a listed action and are also not passive) as a standard action. ...

View answer
Is the Black Blood Hunter's Animal Aspect's natural armor bonus permanent or temporary?
Accepted answer
4 votes

It's a Dependent Sentence The phrasing of the sentence and its placement relative to the description of the ability indicates that it lasts for one minute per level, in addition to the previously-...

View answer
What is this creature that increases in strength as its allies die?
9 votes

Arcadian Avengers, in Monster Manual V The very first entry in the book, Arcadian Avengers have an ability that increases their attack and damage each time they witness an ally fall in battle. They ...

View answer
How does the Damage Conversion knack work?
Accepted answer
4 votes

Damage is resolved all at once That is, damage is dealt, compared against soak, and then resolved, in that order. Damage Conversion converts all of the damage from an attack from lethal to bashing. ...

View answer
Is Drunken Master really as bad as everyone says?
Accepted answer
27 votes

It's the Mental Damage Drink Like a Demon has two problems. The first is that it's an uneven trade; you're losing 4 points of ability score and only getting 2 back. This does a few things to your ...

View answer
Do Ifrit start with the outsider skill point bonus?
6 votes

No Those numbers refer to what Outsiders gain from Outsider Hit Dice, which are not the same as class levels. An Erinyes, for example, has Outsider Hit Dice. The ifrit, found here, advances solely by ...

View answer
Does a Warforged barbarian never get fatigued?
13 votes

It does not get fatigued Well, technically what happens is the rage tries to apply the condition and then the barbarian ignores it, but "immunity" is pretty explicit - the warforged cannot suffer the ...

View answer
Can the Oracle Mystery Brain Drain be used to gather surface thoughts?
Accepted answer
6 votes

It's for interaction with existing rules. So, our ability here reads thusly: Brain Drain (Su): You can take a standard action to violently probe the mind of a single intelligent enemy within 100 ...

View answer
How can you tell when a creature can speak a language or just understand it?
6 votes

It'll say The format that gets used is this: If it just lists languages, the creature can speak, understand, and read the languages. If it says 'understands', the creature can understand and read ...

View answer
What does "advanced simple template" mean in the context of a creature?
20 votes

It's a specific template This is the Advanced simple template. Simple Templates are like normal templates, but they barely change anything; they're intended to quickly and easily improve, or nerf, a ...

View answer
Sensible values for a human child's AC / HP / Ini
Accepted answer
29 votes

Use the Young Template Young, a simple template, is pretty much exactly what you're wanting. Take an NPC class - I suggest Expert or maybe just a single humanoid hit die - and then apply the template ...

View answer
How do you interpret the attacks in the Bestiary?
Accepted answer
7 votes

As follows Your example reads: melee attack 2 claws +9(1d6+4 plus 1d6 cold) This indicates first that the attack is a melee attack, made with all the rules thereof and within the yeti's reach. ...

View answer
Can I take a 5-foot Step and perform any standard action after?
Accepted answer
15 votes

Yes That is precisely how the 5-foot step rules work. Watch Out Though Step Up and its sequel feats are designed to counter this tactic; you may end up facing this down.

View answer
Using the bestiary
Accepted answer
8 votes

Hit Points The hit point total given is the average hit points for the monster's hit die. These are the assumed 'norm' for a generic monster of its type. Some of the Bestiary's ancestor books - the ...

View answer
Where it says longsword +3 and short sword +2, what does the +3 and +2 mean?
28 votes

That's his attack bonuses The entry you're seeing is a stat block for the character. The headings there under his attacks indicate his various attack options, their accuracy (that's the +2/+3) and ...

View answer
Are the orcs of the D&D core canon not above eating sentient humanoids?
8 votes

Canon is Silent There has never been, to my knowledge, any mention one way or another if Orcs eat sapient flesh. This may have been a deliberate choice early in D&D's life; a lot of ideas like ...

View answer
Using mechanics optimization to design a game at a desired power level
Accepted answer
10 votes

Start With a Goal in Mind Optimization in Pathfinder can be class-based, but more often it's goal-based; you want to create a powerful archer, or control the battlefield, or have the smoothest talker ...

View answer
What are the best enhancements for a rapier?
4 votes

Well... The thing about this is that most weapon enchantments are chosen in an effort to improve a weapon's utility, not its damage. If you just wanna add damage on, then your +1's are gonna be the ...

View answer
Can you deliver a Magus' spellstrike through a combat maneuver?
4 votes

I don't think so Though you can substitute a maneuver for a melee attack, it's not a melee attack and may notably lack many features thereof (such as, say, weapon damage). But... You might have ...

View answer
Does Perfect Preparation allow a caster to prepare any spell on her list?
3 votes

They're Limited, though exactly how is fuzzy Perfect Preparation (Ex): You have discovered the secret to preparing spells without having to refer to outside sources. You no longer need to prepare ...

View answer
How does a full attack for a Corpse Stirge work?
Accepted answer
2 votes

Yes A creature can always use its natural attacks on a full attack. It attacks with its primary natural attack, then attacks with any and all secondary natural attacks at a significant penalty. The ...

View answer
Is the Good Lich template is a character template or a lich template?
Accepted answer
3 votes

It's a variant on Lich Good Lich is a variant template; you alter Lich with the information found in Good Lich (and presumably remove the requirement to commit an act of 'unspeakable evil') and apply ...

View answer
Do Sorcerers need to know a lot of attack spells?
9 votes

No There's no requirement to know a lot of attack spells at all. But see below: Blasting is actually suboptimal Sorcerers get tons of mileage out of buffs (haste), debuffs (slow), summons, battlefield ...

View answer
Bringing the Realism
15 votes

For the knife thing, there's always Coup de Grace A Coup de Grace can happen in a situation where one character has another - PC or NPC - helpless. They normally take a full-round action to happen, ...

View answer
The "Quantum Barbarian" -- Beginning the Rage Ends the Rage, and Ending the Rage Begins the Rage
Accepted answer
25 votes

It exists The Quantum Barbarian hinges on the Berserker option (which causes him to start raging below a certain amount of hit points, and stop above that amount) and the Bear Warrior prestige class. ...

View answer
Ranger's Focus and Master Hunter
Accepted answer
5 votes

It doesn't. The ability asks for a Favored Enemy. It doesn't give any allowances for replacement abilities, similar abilities, other archetypes, nothing. Your DM may houserule it to work that way - ...

View answer
Can Manticore Parry redirect an attack towards the original attacker?
Accepted answer
4 votes

It implies nothing. The grammar of the sentence indicates that 'another target' is taking about a target besides you, the original victim of the attack. Manticore Parry indeed lets you cause your ...

View answer
Are there limitations on devilbound creatures?
Accepted answer
6 votes

That's Pretty Much How It Works "Devilbound creature" is an acquired template that can be added to any creature with 5 or more Hit Dice and Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores of 3 or higher (...

View answer
Bardic performance in battle requires a check if the bard is damaged?
Accepted answer
12 votes

No A bardic performance cannot be disrupted Damage does not prevent the bard from taking the free action needed to maintain the bardic performance. Furthermore, the quoted text above tells us that ...

View answer
1
2 3 4 5