Timeline for Can a tiefling cast spells from Devil's Tongue using Sorcerer/Bard spell slots?
Current License: CC BY-SA 4.0
9 events
when toggle format | what | by | license | comment | |
---|---|---|---|---|---|
Jun 16, 2020 at 10:23 | history | edited | CommunityBot |
Commonmark migration
|
|
May 2, 2018 at 2:11 | comment | added | V2Blast | "...In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate." | |
May 2, 2018 at 2:11 | comment | added | V2Blast | From the Sage Advice Compendium response regarding Magic Initiate: "For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subsequently prepare." | |
May 2, 2018 at 1:52 | history | edited | V2Blast | CC BY-SA 4.0 |
added 399 characters in body
|
May 2, 2018 at 1:49 | comment | added | illustro | I've edited the question to clarify this, but the question isn't about whether or not they are "Known Spells" (relevant to the Sorcerer, Bard and Warlock class features), but instead if the Sorcerer can cast them using spell slots regardless. Is there a general rule that says characters can only use their spell slots to cast spells that are on their class spell list? Or that Sorcerers can only use their spell slots on "Known Spells"? If so please quote it, as that would back up your assertion. | |
May 2, 2018 at 1:38 | history | edited | V2Blast | CC BY-SA 4.0 |
expanded answer to clarify
|
May 2, 2018 at 1:30 | comment | added | illustro | To put it another way, I'm not asking "Can I cast a spell that isn't on my classes spell list". The general rule is that characters only have access to spells on their spell lists. The trait adds a specific rule that says you can cast this spell with this trait (which means you have access to it despite it not necessarily being on your classes spell list). This question is the next logical step, given that you have access to this spell from <insert feature here> can you also cast it using your classes spell slots? | |
May 2, 2018 at 1:24 | comment | added | illustro | Has this been clarified in a Sage Advice Compendium entry, or in an Errata? Or is just based off of a tweet from Jeremy Crawford. It's also not really addressing the question. It's instead addressing the "do these spells count as <insert class here spells>"? | |
May 2, 2018 at 1:19 | history | answered | V2Blast | CC BY-SA 4.0 |